We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Not the best place I have ever stayed at but it served the purpose of a bed for the night now suffering from a bad back. You will get charged if you don't wash up you own cup. Not sure the rooms get cleaned daily as the room next door was empty but on the veranda there were empty bottles full of cigarette butts. Get what you pay for staying here. It's on the main road in but surprisingly not noisy at all.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Went to Bowral for a wedding and all places were booked out. Found this place and I was not disappointed.
The only hotel in Mittagong which is not close to the Highway/ far set back.
I loved staying at the sheds and read the book.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6. Quite a cozy room with Queen Bed and modern Bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RagdeNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Poplars Inn Mittagong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I am currently staying at this hotel. Last night I noted there was a extension cord leading from under the bottom of the bed covers of my double bed. It was connected to a wall socket that was switched off, and I naturally thought it was for an electric blanket. Upon switching it on I was surprised to find the entire bed whir into life rising 4 feet off the ground and 2 feet forward. Upon inspecting underneath the bed was found to be sitting on some sort of primitive hydraulic lift apparatus. Upon further inspection there was no reverse switch to be found and so I slept the night in an adjacent single bed. I tried to work on my PC throughout the night utilising the ‘free wifi’ only to find the connectivity dropped out every 5 minutes which was highly frustrating. Upon returning to the hotel this evening I found a note on the still erect bed telling me it was broken and please spend the night in the single bed (again, despite paying for a queen room). There is now also no internet connectivity at all so I ran the reception and spoke to the vague woman who appears to try and run things. I asked her if she had any reports that the internet was down, to which she replied no. I then told her that the internet was indeed down as my 2 devices couldn't now find a signal. She said it was probably something wrong with my devices to which I replied I dont think so. She then asked me to step outside (its below 10 degrees here this evening) and connect from there! I replied to her that I was able to connect to the signal the night before albeit it was next to useless. She said there was not much she could do as other people already had a password (?). I then repeated the fact that whether they had a password or not there was no signal and I asked if she could reset the router. She said she wasnt sure as other people might be connected ! I said they cant as there is no signal. She then said she would see what she could do. I asked if that meant if she was going to reset it. She said she might be able to. I asked what does that mean. She said she had only done it a few times before. I said all you do is unplug it and plug it back in. I asked if she would do that. She said she would see what she could do! I waited 15mins and am now in town at another place using their wifi! cant wait to see what the rest of my stay has in store!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradr1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed here on the 29th April 2017. We called in earlier in the day not because we wanted to get into our room but to check on our booking because we could not ring. No one answered the phone. The lady was very rude to us and not much better when we came back. The room is very noisy as the road out front is very busy. Place is very tired.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Victhetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Unfortunately I concur with a number of previous reviews, indicating a defensive and inflexible approach to customer service. We elected to stay here for a business trip based on our impressions from a previous visit. Without going into specifics, we were disappointed and will not be returning. A review below sums it up nicely...do homework well. Additionally, management responses to some less than favourable reviews are generally defensive and unprofessional. Should have rung alarm bells, lesson learned.
Rooms are nice and well equipped. Do your dishes though...a sign on the cupboard indicates a $20 surcharge for any left unwashed!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RJC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We have stayed twice on trips back forth from Sydney. But will not return. We have never left such negative remarks, nor are we prone to easy complaint. However, we have experienced slack service, dishonesty, despite allowing for communication.
We arrived, checked in via phone as office was unmanned. On entering room, bed (having been raised electrically) was still up in the air, telephoned& waited 12 minutes for staff person to arrive with remote control to put it down. Bathroom not clean, No seal on toilet indicating it had been cleaned. Were told charged wrong rate & refund being organised. Never happened, despite a courtesy call on our behalf. Grounds pictured are not in the same degree of care or management.

Room Tip: Have your total price firmly fixed before you go.. check out the area and compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Access from the South feels illegal as you cross the highway and things do not get a lot better. The hotel is verry basic, on the outskirts of Mittagong and warning do not use an Amex or you will be hit with a sizable surcharge.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank auriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.6 km away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
5.6 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
10.6 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
963 reviews
6 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
0.3 km away
Mittagong Motel
Mittagong Motel
#1 of 5 in Mittagong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Inn Mittagong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Inn Mittagong

Address: 97-99 Old Hume Highway, Mittagong, New South Wales NSW 2575, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: $96 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poplars Inn Mittagong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars Inn, the gateway to the picturesque and historic Southern Highlands, is only an hour south-west of Sydney. Enjoy your stay with our friendly service and well presented rooms, open spaces with wide and high ranges, beautifully landscaped gardens with a range of room types suitable for couples and families. During your stay, visit the Iconic destinations of villages such as Mittagong, Bowral, Berrima, Robertson, Kangaroo Valley, Bundanoon, Moss Vale and Sutton Forest. Enjoy the Fitzroy Falls, Southern Highland wineries and Wombeyan caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poplars Inn Mittagong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing