We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Nearby Hotels
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah(Murwillumbah)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gallery Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tweed River Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Palms Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Murwillumbah Hotel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
102
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearth lodgeeach morningspa bathmt warningone of a kindcoffee machineoverlooking the lakenear futurelittle toucheshighly recommend this retreatcomplete blissunique styleoutside worldbreakfast itemsmod conshot fresh breadmerlo coffee
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 109 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2015

A Retreat in the true sense of the word, Beautiful, Quiet, Luxurious, Private. Wollumbin Palms is AWESOME.
Living in society today can cause a system over load !! Being married for 25 years and turning 50 we were looking to reconnect with each other and retreat from a busy modern life. Wollumbin Palms delivered in spades, beautiful surrounds, natural rainforest, wildlife and all this with Casey and Phil at call for our daily needs.
The meals were as good as I have expieranced in the best restaurants, waking up to the smell of fresh HOT bread in the mornings and rainforest birds was the best start to a day.
The ultimate at Wollumbin Palms is to treat yourself to a massage, Caseys massages are unlike any other, relaxation for body, mind and soul. Kahuna massage is not to be missed.
I can honestly say if your in need of, relaxation, reviving your relationship, romance Wolumbin Palms will tick all those boxes and more.
Thankyou Casey and Phil

Room Tip: Water lodge is the biggest, Air is very Spiritual, and Earth provides exceptional views.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2015

WOW! AMAZING retreat indeed!
My boyfriend and I have stayed at this luxury resort twice before over the past year, once in the Earth lodge and once in the Water lodge. Last month we finally got to stay in the gorgeous Air lodge: The Yurt in the Forrest..

Air was everything we had hoped it would be and more, and definitely our favourite lodge of the three. All three lodges are very unique, and offer beauty / style / luxury / relaxation in their own way, all completely different yet linked by their rainforest location and view of Mount Warning.

What we loved about the Air lodge:
- the outdoor shower!!! It was secluded and beautiful, a real treat to have the water falling over my body surrounded by nature and feel completely secluded at the same time
- the spa on the balcony looking out at the beautiful green and luscious rain forrest, listening to the sounds of nature and embracing the serenity and relaxation
- the design of the floor, I love the design! The way it gathers in the middle with a compass in the centre, so unique and unusual the way it tapers off to the edges of the lodge

Every time we have stayed here we are blown away by the warm and friendly welcome from the owners, Casey and Phil, and the lengths they go to to ensure we have the most romantic and beautiful getaway possible. They provide fresh, home made bread every morning to go with the breakfast hamper package supplied (which goes deliciously with their home made marmalade), and there are so many relaxation /pamper packages and massages to choose from. Heaven. Complete bliss.

We booked a massage each off Casey and received one of the most relaxing and rejuvenating experiences of a lifetime. You can tell she puts all of her heart and soul into each move of the entire massage, and my boyfriend said he was transported to a whole different place of relaxation.

Our first stay we tried different restaurants in the area for our dinners, and the second stay we organised our own food in the lodge, however this last stay in Air lodge we organised to have dinners cooked for us by Phil and Casey. The meals were delivered by Casey and Phil, and you could tell they put a lot of time and effort into the meals and the presentation of the food, and once we tasted the food knew we were right! My boyfriend said his steak was the best cooked steak he has ever eaten (and that's a huge compliment as he orders steak at nearly every restaurant we go to). We will only be booking meals with Phil and Casey on future stays, I couldn't imagine eating anywhere else after eating meals we received from them, my mouth is watering just typing about them.

The property is kept in such a perfect balance between natural rain forest and luxury retreat, you can really tell that they look after the property and love what they do.

There is no where else I would rather stay, and can't wait to book our next stay the Air lodge for another romantic getaway to this truly incredible retreat. Thank you Casey and Phil for all the effort you put into creating such a magical and romantic getaway for my boyfriend and I. We CANT WAIT to get back into another relaxing stay in Air.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuiFoulkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you Tui, it was lovely reading your kind words about our service and our property. It's always nice to welcome you both back here, and it really lovely knowing such gorgeous people are staying in our lodges. We look forward to seeing you both again next year, and wish you all the very best for the Christmas break. All the very best from Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2015

My husband proposed to me on a romantic weekend surprise 5 years ago when we stayed at the Earth lodge. We loved it there so much we got married at Amazing Wollumbin Palms the following year and stayed in the Water lodge. The following year for our anniversary we stayed at the Air lodge. We absolutely love it there. We have never seen anything like it. Each lodge is completely unique with its own cuteness, comfort and attention to detail, that caters for all you can want. Casey and Phil are the most wonderful hosts catering to our every need. We never need to go anywhere when we stay there. The delicious food, massage, shamanic healings, yoga, meditation, life readings all come to us. We have tried it all, Quality stuff. We ventured out once to climb mount warning and came back to a warm spa and a massage which was amazing. We have stayed there 4 times so far and although the other lodges were booked we didn't see or hear a soul. It is very private. We highly recommend this area and this wonderful retreat to those wanting to come away feeling totally re energised. Thanks so much guys, we will see you next year.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you Eve, we loved reading your gorgeous review. It's always wonderful welcoming you and David back here, knowing you are sitting in your lodge enjoying every moment. We are very proud to be the owners of this stunning piece of paradise, and its always such a pleasure for us to receive returning guests who are just thrilled to drive up our lovely one kilometre driveway bordered by forest and come into reception saying 'Wow, this place is so beautiful, nothing has changed' which you always do. Thank you for your review, it was very kind of you to write about us again. See you next year, and have yourselves a very Merry Christmas!!!! Kindest regards, Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

This is our second visit to Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat situated just under Mount Warning in Northern NSW.
An early Christmas treat to spoil ourselves.
The retreat boats three unique self contained lodges and after our first visit a few years ago we vowed to return and stay in all of them. This time we chose the "Air Lodge" which is perhaps the most rainforesty of the three lodges, surrounded by palms and trees. Despite the feeling of being immersed in the forest the lodge is remarkably light and airy. The lodge is built in an octagonal shape and there is an interesting custom designed bed which tapers in at your feet which matched the design of the lodge. Generous verandas allow views over the forest as well as housing the spa which we delighted in soaking both our bodies and the views. One of our favourite parts of this lodge is the double shower, a special treat for romantic getaways and not something I've found in other resorts.
The wonderful thing about Amazing Wollumbin Palms is the uniqueness of the lodges. These days there are so many generic, almost standardised, little holiday cabins you lose the feeling of being somewhere very special. The last time we stayed here was in their "Earth Lodge" which is like a cross between a hobbit home and the Flintstones house. Another very special quality about this retreat is the absolute privacy each lodge has. There is no one driving past your lodge to get to theirs, each lodge gives you the feeling of exclusivity that is hard to find elsewhere.
While the architectural details of the lodges were what initially drew us to this retreat it is the consummate hospitality of our hosts Casey and Phil that see us returning. Without at any time being intrusive our needs were fully catered for. This year we chose a package that included a couples massage. Instead of one person getting the luxury treatment we were both pampered simultaneously and this option and the overall attention to detail and sumptuous settings is what has moved me to write this review.
I have no interest in commenting on experiences that are standard or ordinary. Nothing about Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat is that. We are very much looking forward to returning next year to stay in the "Water Lodge" and hope to time our stay for Spring when the fireflies are about.
It is an experience I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone who is looking for a special, romantic and deeply relaxing holiday

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you for your lovely words, we are very touched by your review, and love that you have been moved to write not one but two lovely reviews about us and our gorgeous property. We are indeed offering a very unique experience - not every gets it. Not everyone loves the forest, and all its creatures. But we are very pleased you did, and all our other guests who love being in the forest do. It's a very special eco environment, and we are indeed honoured to be able to share it with all the beings and critters who are in there. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next ready to share this lovely space with us. Merry Merry Christmas. Warmest regards, Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2015

We had to make a concerted effort to remain here after our initial first impression.
We did not see the $ value asked to stay here.
I acknowledge that we did not get some of the styling of the cabin and accept that.
However, arriving at the AIR lodge we expected to be up in the trees as pictured on the web site, with lots of natural light. The reality being so far removed from being up high. The cabin is damp, dark dusty and dirty. The cabin smells of mold and mildew and the signs of damp evident everywhere. Actually the smell from the lovely timber kitchen made of camphor laurel permeates the whole cabin - camphor. But you are in rain forest.
The lack of straight lines is interesting, the beautiful timber features are lovely but do not help with lighting as they are dark. The lack of a level floor is less interesting. Clearly there have been significant subsidence of the stumps leading to sloping floor levels and movement throughout the building, significant sloping.
The spa was a huge disappointment, actually that is wrong, it was a very small disappointment. I could almost sit it without bending my legs - almost. I am not even 180 cm. As for sharing it, not with vertebrates, I think an army of leeches guarded the perimeter as every time we wanted to use the bath we had to remove many. It does not create a romantic environment when we had to remove blood sucking leeches when naked and about to get into the bath.
More insect screen please. By 4 pm we had to lock ourselves in the cabin so not to be devoured by the flock of insects that attacked any exposed skin. OK it is a rain forest so insects are a given. But the balcony, with a lovely small spa-bath and hammock isn't screened. The doors out to the balcony are not screened either, so they need to be closed to keep the biting insects away from skin.
The surrounding gardens need love and attention as looking out from the balcony there was a lot of rotting and dead vegetation. Nature is lovely but it needs a little help when you are paying to spend time with it like this.
The bread was nice and having it delivered in the morning hot and fresh completed a very good supply of breakfast foods supplied by the hosts.
The hosts were friendly and notified us of the ability to check in early.
On our return home we reviewed the web site to see if our expectations were reflected in the promotional material or in our imaginations.
We were surprised but not shocked to see the complex is on the market. It has the feel of a place where there is a reluctance to do more maintenance than what is absolutely required.
So, if the place has not sold, please be cautious with the Air Lodge.
I have no idea what the other areas are like.
I wish any new management good luck and hope they can improve the site.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janeene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2015

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate constructive criticism. We are surprised to hear that your initial impression was not great, as the vast majority of guests comment that it is much better in person that in the photos on the website, which were taken recently depicting the lodge setting. We would like to take this opportunity to address a couple of points that we think are relevant.

The lodge was designed with contoured floors under the main roof area to match the self-supporting roof above. So subsidence is not an issue. the floor is supposed to look this way.

Regarding the damp, dirty and dusty comment, we beg to differ as we personally inspect the lodges prior to guest arrival after our contract cleaners have finished cleaning to ensure that the lodges are cleaned to the highest standard. They are aired each day to ensure they are not damp.

The spa on the balcony we admit is not the largest, however, hundreds of previous couples who have stayed in this lodge over the years have found it cosy and intimate which is the kind of experience this lodge offers. It is a two person spa bath.

With reference to the insect/leech situation, we are somewhat taken aback as previous guests to your stay and straight after have mentioned that they were surprised by the lack of insects. We do supply complimentary insect spray, and all windows in the lodge are screened. Unfortunately due to door design, this is not screened. We have not experienced perimeters of leeches in the 12 years we have lived here. We may get one or two per year after rain, never a 'perimeter' of leeches, we feel this is a huge exaggeration.

As the Air lodge is nestled in the forest and it is egg laying season for our local scrub turkeys, unfortunately a couple of males have raked all the forest litter and mulch at the back of the lodge to build a very large nest. We have had to wait two weeks until after hatching to redistribute the matter back onto the garden. There is not much we can do about this and are sorry you were offended. Other guests have been delighted to have this huge nest near their back door. It has now been raked back into place with fresh plants put in. We do not understand the comment about the rotting vegetation. This is just the rainforest's natural process which is most likely the mistaken smell of mildew you mentioned.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hot fresh bread each morning and the plentiful breakfast supplies. It's a shame you never mentioned your displeasure regarding Air lodge at the first instance so that we may have had the opportunity to show you the other lodges which may have been more to your liking. We wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, and hope that if you are ever in the area and wish to view the other lodges you will contact us to give you this opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews