We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah(Murwillumbah)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murwillumbah YHA - Riverside Backpackers(Murwillumbah)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gallery Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tweed River Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
102
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearth lodgeeach morningmy partnerspa bathmt warningone of a kindcoffee machineoverlooking the lakenear futurehighly recommend this retreatcomplete blissunique styleoutside worldbreakfast itemshot fresh breadmerlo coffeeromantic break
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 109 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Each cabin is individually crafted and the attention to detail is incredible. We spent a weekend in Air and honestly did not want to leave. Every detail is catered for - from the beautiful fresh bread delivered every morning to the delicious dinner served to your door. The peace and serenity envelope you from the second you enter - it truly is like being a world away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. The hosts are honest, genuine and very likeable people who are only too happy to help with any request. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All 3 lodges are very different - choose the one that suits your mood. No matter which one you choose, you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2015

A Retreat in the true sense of the word, Beautiful, Quiet, Luxurious, Private. Wollumbin Palms is AWESOME.
Living in society today can cause a system over load !! Being married for 25 years and turning 50 we were looking to reconnect with each other and retreat from a busy modern life. Wollumbin Palms delivered in spades, beautiful surrounds, natural rainforest, wildlife and all this with Casey and Phil at call for our daily needs.
The meals were as good as I have expieranced in the best restaurants, waking up to the smell of fresh HOT bread in the mornings and rainforest birds was the best start to a day.
The ultimate at Wollumbin Palms is to treat yourself to a massage, Caseys massages are unlike any other, relaxation for body, mind and soul. Kahuna massage is not to be missed.
I can honestly say if your in need of, relaxation, reviving your relationship, romance Wolumbin Palms will tick all those boxes and more.
Thankyou Casey and Phil

Room Tip: Water lodge is the biggest, Air is very Spiritual, and Earth provides exceptional views.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2015

WOW! AMAZING retreat indeed!
My boyfriend and I have stayed at this luxury resort twice before over the past year, once in the Earth lodge and once in the Water lodge. Last month we finally got to stay in the gorgeous Air lodge: The Yurt in the Forrest..

Air was everything we had hoped it would be and more, and definitely our favourite lodge of the three. All three lodges are very unique, and offer beauty / style / luxury / relaxation in their own way, all completely different yet linked by their rainforest location and view of Mount Warning.

What we loved about the Air lodge:
- the outdoor shower!!! It was secluded and beautiful, a real treat to have the water falling over my body surrounded by nature and feel completely secluded at the same time
- the spa on the balcony looking out at the beautiful green and luscious rain forrest, listening to the sounds of nature and embracing the serenity and relaxation
- the design of the floor, I love the design! The way it gathers in the middle with a compass in the centre, so unique and unusual the way it tapers off to the edges of the lodge

Every time we have stayed here we are blown away by the warm and friendly welcome from the owners, Casey and Phil, and the lengths they go to to ensure we have the most romantic and beautiful getaway possible. They provide fresh, home made bread every morning to go with the breakfast hamper package supplied (which goes deliciously with their home made marmalade), and there are so many relaxation /pamper packages and massages to choose from. Heaven. Complete bliss.

We booked a massage each off Casey and received one of the most relaxing and rejuvenating experiences of a lifetime. You can tell she puts all of her heart and soul into each move of the entire massage, and my boyfriend said he was transported to a whole different place of relaxation.

Our first stay we tried different restaurants in the area for our dinners, and the second stay we organised our own food in the lodge, however this last stay in Air lodge we organised to have dinners cooked for us by Phil and Casey. The meals were delivered by Casey and Phil, and you could tell they put a lot of time and effort into the meals and the presentation of the food, and once we tasted the food knew we were right! My boyfriend said his steak was the best cooked steak he has ever eaten (and that's a huge compliment as he orders steak at nearly every restaurant we go to). We will only be booking meals with Phil and Casey on future stays, I couldn't imagine eating anywhere else after eating meals we received from them, my mouth is watering just typing about them.

The property is kept in such a perfect balance between natural rain forest and luxury retreat, you can really tell that they look after the property and love what they do.

There is no where else I would rather stay, and can't wait to book our next stay the Air lodge for another romantic getaway to this truly incredible retreat. Thank you Casey and Phil for all the effort you put into creating such a magical and romantic getaway for my boyfriend and I. We CANT WAIT to get back into another relaxing stay in Air.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuiFoulkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you Tui, it was lovely reading your kind words about our service and our property. It's always nice to welcome you both back here, and it really lovely knowing such gorgeous people are staying in our lodges. We look forward to seeing you both again next year, and wish you all the very best for the Christmas break. All the very best from Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2015

My husband proposed to me on a romantic weekend surprise 5 years ago when we stayed at the Earth lodge. We loved it there so much we got married at Amazing Wollumbin Palms the following year and stayed in the Water lodge. The following year for our anniversary we stayed at the Air lodge. We absolutely love it there. We have never seen anything like it. Each lodge is completely unique with its own cuteness, comfort and attention to detail, that caters for all you can want. Casey and Phil are the most wonderful hosts catering to our every need. We never need to go anywhere when we stay there. The delicious food, massage, shamanic healings, yoga, meditation, life readings all come to us. We have tried it all, Quality stuff. We ventured out once to climb mount warning and came back to a warm spa and a massage which was amazing. We have stayed there 4 times so far and although the other lodges were booked we didn't see or hear a soul. It is very private. We highly recommend this area and this wonderful retreat to those wanting to come away feeling totally re energised. Thanks so much guys, we will see you next year.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you Eve, we loved reading your gorgeous review. It's always wonderful welcoming you and David back here, knowing you are sitting in your lodge enjoying every moment. We are very proud to be the owners of this stunning piece of paradise, and its always such a pleasure for us to receive returning guests who are just thrilled to drive up our lovely one kilometre driveway bordered by forest and come into reception saying 'Wow, this place is so beautiful, nothing has changed' which you always do. Thank you for your review, it was very kind of you to write about us again. See you next year, and have yourselves a very Merry Christmas!!!! Kindest regards, Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

This is our second visit to Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat situated just under Mount Warning in Northern NSW.
An early Christmas treat to spoil ourselves.
The retreat boats three unique self contained lodges and after our first visit a few years ago we vowed to return and stay in all of them. This time we chose the "Air Lodge" which is perhaps the most rainforesty of the three lodges, surrounded by palms and trees. Despite the feeling of being immersed in the forest the lodge is remarkably light and airy. The lodge is built in an octagonal shape and there is an interesting custom designed bed which tapers in at your feet which matched the design of the lodge. Generous verandas allow views over the forest as well as housing the spa which we delighted in soaking both our bodies and the views. One of our favourite parts of this lodge is the double shower, a special treat for romantic getaways and not something I've found in other resorts.
The wonderful thing about Amazing Wollumbin Palms is the uniqueness of the lodges. These days there are so many generic, almost standardised, little holiday cabins you lose the feeling of being somewhere very special. The last time we stayed here was in their "Earth Lodge" which is like a cross between a hobbit home and the Flintstones house. Another very special quality about this retreat is the absolute privacy each lodge has. There is no one driving past your lodge to get to theirs, each lodge gives you the feeling of exclusivity that is hard to find elsewhere.
While the architectural details of the lodges were what initially drew us to this retreat it is the consummate hospitality of our hosts Casey and Phil that see us returning. Without at any time being intrusive our needs were fully catered for. This year we chose a package that included a couples massage. Instead of one person getting the luxury treatment we were both pampered simultaneously and this option and the overall attention to detail and sumptuous settings is what has moved me to write this review.
I have no interest in commenting on experiences that are standard or ordinary. Nothing about Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat is that. We are very much looking forward to returning next year to stay in the "Water Lodge" and hope to time our stay for Spring when the fireflies are about.
It is an experience I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone who is looking for a special, romantic and deeply relaxing holiday

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Thank you for your lovely words, we are very touched by your review, and love that you have been moved to write not one but two lovely reviews about us and our gorgeous property. We are indeed offering a very unique experience - not every gets it. Not everyone loves the forest, and all its creatures. But we are very pleased you did, and all our other guests who love being in the forest do. It's a very special eco environment, and we are indeed honoured to be able to share it with all the beings and critters who are in there. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next ready to share this lovely space with us. Merry Merry Christmas. Warmest regards, Casey and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews