We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money near the snow”
Review of Ski Rider Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ski Rider Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Ok, its not 4 or 5 star, but it is convenient and the rooms are functional and clean with enough room for all your gear.
Breakfast and dinner included, so if you are staying for a couple of nights it works well. There is also an option of booking to cook your own steaks in the pub areas. However, if you were t stay for a week, you would probably head to Jindabyne a few nights for dinner as otherwise its a cafeteria style dinner most nights.
Ski,boards, boots, clothes hire pricing is very good, also very good gear.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi Mark, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. In Guppies Bar, guests have the choice of steak, seafood, chicken etc accompanied by your choice of salad and/or vegetables. In the dining room we serve a 3 course meal - entree, choice of mains & choice of desserts. The menu in both areas changes daily. At the time of booking, we will ask you your dining preference and once here there is the option to change your preferred dining area to enable you to experience both the grill & dining room. Of course we are happy for our guests to enjoy a night out in Jindabyne, however meals are included in your pre-booked package and if you stay at Ski Rider you are also able to enjoy our free nightly entertainment. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay & also took advantage of our on site equipment hire. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

I have been staying at the Rider for over 40 years& have just returned from another great stay. The rooms are basic but clean & comfortable with easy access to the restaurant & bar. The staff are amazing & work really hard to make you feel welcome. The food at the grill in Guppy' s bar is fantastic, we always look forward to dinner as is breakfast. The shuttle bus makes access to the mountain make life easy. I will always stay here & so should you.

Room Tip: Book to eat at the grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WayneM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

It's awesome to hear that Ski Rider is your choice of accommodation at Perisher. Thank you for recommending us. We will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Best budget accommodation for the snow. Returning customer - 5th stay ! Stayed with friends this time but usually family . Easy to deal with . Budget rooms but they all are at the snow . Great food. Great atmosphere

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellatom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

This is a great spot close to the snow and is reasonably priced. They have their own ski buses so you can leave your car at the resort. Breakfast and dinner is included. No tv in the rooms and poor Wi-Fi and mobile coverage.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks Neville, It is great to hear you enjoyed Ski Rider's location, the free shuttle service and included meals. We would love to be in a position to provide our guests free wifi, however due to our location it is not viable at this time. We have installed boosters for both Telstra & Optus to increase coverage. Please be assured that better internet & phone service for our guests is an absolute priority for us. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The people who work here are incredibly happy and friendly. The shuttle bus was ideal while staying here as was the meals and common areas. I hired the snowboards and skis here and fond it cheap and easy to get fitted, as well as quick. if you want it all included this is a great place to stay. Parking at your front door a bonus.
On the rooms- they are very basic. No TV or Wifi. No fridge. Bunk beds, pretty uncomfortable and paper thin walls. Very small bathroom. Overall the accommodation is average, but you are close to snow and the experience was good.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrDigby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks for writing this review. We do appreciate your comments. We hope you were able to take advantage of the 50% off deal when pre-booking your equipment. We will be running this deal again in 2018. It is pleasing to hear that your experience at Ski Rider was a good one and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

OK, Ski Rider Lodge is pretty basic, but when you're off on the slopes it matters not. It's close to the Perisher, Blue Cow and Guthega fields, and certainly far more convenient than staying in Jindy. They have free shuttles up to the fields as well. The rooms are small, but warm and comfortable. The food is generous and as good as most people could prepare at home themselves. There's a good bar/bistro area with live music sometimes, also a games room for the kidlets. The staff are numerous and very friendly. Bottom line - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi Gavin,
Thanks for taking the time to review Ski Rider. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay at ski rider.

Day 1 - I didn't get there in time to ski, but I was there in time to enjoy a glass of red by the fire with a good book.
As well as the bar area, they have a games room, a TV room, and a window seating area, all comfy spots for a bit of down time if required.

Rooms are basic bunk rooms, but clean, and warm. (I'm from FNQ and was worried about being cold at night....no need to worry!)

Meals included makes this place a real gem.
Who wants to cook after a hard day on/off piste! Meals are basic but tasty, you can opt to do the BBQ dinner rather than canteen food if you wish, cook your own meat, with a selection of sides.
Breakfast...choice of cereal, toast and a selection of hot breakfast items...just what you need to set you up for a day of riding hard.

Staff are all lovely, it's a young bunch, but they are all polite, friendly, and helpful.

Nightly entertainment gives this place an extra charm, and a great idea if you have kids with you.

Door to door ski bus was super efficient, I cringed at the thought of having to get the bus up the hill, memories of being crushed on a bus rubbing up against the back of someone's board flooding my mind, but no...plenty of room, got a seat every time - happy days.

Ski hire facilities also available.

Considering the have 90+ rooms, and I was told they were full, the building absorbed the people well! Yes the dining rooms were full at meal times - that's to be expected, but it never felt packed.

Loved it, would go again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JosMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you. Your 5 star review is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
12.2 km away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
12.1 km away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
108 reviews
11.1 km away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
10.1 km away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
64 reviews
26.3 km away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Rider Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Rider Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range: $279 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Rider Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 11kms from Perisher. Free parking and Free guest shuttle to lifts. Stay close to the snow without paying on-snow prices. Delicious meals, warm comfortable rooms, Free entertainment & onsite hire. Luggage holding facilities and change rooms with hot showers available for before check in or after check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ski Rider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing