We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“find somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Certificate of Excellence
new south wales, australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“find somewhere else”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

just returned from a 3 night stay at Tweed Ultima. When booking the apartment I felt it was a bit expensive but the promise of large balconies and great views enticed me. What a dissappointment! our 3rd floor view was of the wall and airconditioning outlet of the building in front of us. I let the receptionist know of our dissappointment and requested to be moved. She said they were fully booked for a month and a half so could not help. Funny, that afternoon an A frame sign appeared on the pavement in front advertising available accommodation!! On our 2nd night at 2.30am an ungodly noise started. It was the fire alarm in the carpark which was right underneath us after 30 to 40 mins of warnings and alarms the NSW Fire service arrived and soon after the noise stopped. Trying to get kids to settle back down to sleep after that raquet was a challenge in itself. Imagine our disbelief when upon mentioning ro reception first thing the next morning what we'd been through that we were told there was a faulty valve on the sprinkler- fire alarm system and the same thing had happenend 3 nights previous! Not even an apology!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulldog45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    58
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
65
54
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Stayed at Tweed Ultima apartments during the September School holidays and can't tell enough of my friends and family how wonderful it was. To actually find an apartment that had space! It was a great set up and the kids had their own bathroom which was serviced mid stay (14 nts). It was so convenient to walk to the shops as mums regularly do as we always run out of milk and bread! Then we could just walk to the restaurants at Coolangatta which was just brilliant. The reception staff couldn't help us out enough with tours and things to do for the kids in the vicinity. We have booked again for Christmas time and are counting down the days.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This place was modern and clean. The bathroom was spacious as was the living area. The second bedroom was suited to being a single bedroom rather than a double. It is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

What a disappointment to arrive in July 2010 at the Tweed Ultima Apartments to find that our apartment was facing South – that means NO SUN – my request on booking, made 6 months prior to arrival, was for a unit with afternoon sun. When I asked for a change of unit I was told that was not possible. 14 days away from cold NZ to 14 days with no sun in Australia is not a holiday to be repeated. Client satisfaction is not high on the Tweed Ultima’s list.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NZBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed with my three teenage children. Arrived at around 5pm, very tired from driving all day, the reception staff were not friendly, no smiles, just got on with the job.

We stayed in the 3 bedroom townhouse, very spacious and clean, just what we needed for 3 teens. The balcony had no furniture, and like another reviewer said, the outdoor setting was inside used as a dinning table. I was not aware that we needed to bring our own tea,coffee, cleaning products and extra bin liners.

When walking from our townhouse to the elevator area, my kids had met up with friends they had not seen in a long time, they were all excited and talking at once and a male staff member ran up to us and told us to shoosh in a very loud and stern voice and said to be quiet as there were elderly people who actually live in the apartments. The ceilings are very high in the foyer/elevator area and it is all tiled. that made there voices appear louder than they were, however, it was school holidays and there were alot of family's holidaying there, they should be prepared to live with the noise of children, or only rent the apartments to the elderly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I would describe the accommodation as clean, comfortable and convenient and would recommend staying here without. However, I think that the advertising for all this type of Gold Coast accommodation should be more up front about the service they provide, and what is included in the tariff price. For a lot of people not familiar with gold coast apartment accommodation they can be a bit disappointed with some aspects.

1. After 6.00pm there is no one at reception and you have to check yourself in can come as a bit of a shock, especially if you have had a long stressful day to get there, and for the most part on the week end there is no one at reception, you can contact management buy phone if needed.

2. I don’t need to have my bed turned down or a mint on the pillow but would have liked to known in advance that the apartments are not serviced on a daily basis, unless you pay extra. I have no problem making my bed, or taking out the rubbish or doing my own dishes, but would have liked to have had fresh towels and bathroom cleaned on a daily basis. The up side was with a washing machine and dryer I was able to launder the towels daily.

3. You will need your own tea/coffee, soap etc as there is only enough for the first night.

4. As for the description of luxury and 4 ½ stars (based on which organizations rating?) definitely not.

5. The view from our room was great and the bed was very comfortable. This apartment had air conditioning which worked very well.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My friends and I recently spent our new years at Tweed Ultima. We booked quite late, so were unable to get a 3br penthouse like we wanted, but instead were able to get one of the 3bed townhouses. While there is no view, being on LVL1, we had direct access to the pool and a lift to the parking garage.

The townhouse was HUGE - 2 levels, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The combined living and dining area was fantastic - full featured modern kitchen, great couches, LCD TV with Foxtel and DVD player, balcony, wide stackable sliding door. The only complaint was that the furniture was a little strange - no chairs or table on the balcony, and what looked like an outdoor setting as the dining table?. Weird but very functional. We really enjoyed making dinner on both nights of stay.

The bedrooms are lush and modern, comfortable beds, great bathrooms. I found that the aircon would only work on one floor at a time, meaning that some of us slept a little hot. Not a big deal, I'm sure it will be fixed. The other great factor was the sound proofing - you can't hear ANYTHING inside. We made a lot of noise on NYE and the neighbours didn't hear a peep, nor did we hear them or the revelers outside.

One thing to note would be that these are really more like apartments then hotel rooms. There is no turndown service, no room service, reception shuts in the mid afternoon, no restaurant, no morning paper, although there was a breakfast service running downstairs while we were there. Generally, if you are not planning to look after your own food and cleaning, then this place isn't for you. If you're planning to use the facilities, I recommend bringing some basic cleaning stuff for the kitchen, since only a couple of sachets are offered.

Staff and reception are good. We didn't have much to do with them, but they let us check-in early, which was great. Internet is available but it's pretty expensive.

All in all, it was a good trip. Definately recommended for groups of friends, the spacious rooms are almost made for gatherings, and we had a great NYE.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syvergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tweed Heads
0.4 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,014 reviews
0.6 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
102 reviews
1.5 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
#6 of 12 in Tweed Heads
61 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,687 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast

Property: Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast
Address: 20 Stuart St, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2485, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tweed Ultima is perfectly located in the heart of the Twin Towns of Tweed Heads and Coolangatta offering the very best as a holiday destination or corporate visit. Less than 200 metres from superb beaches, Tweed Ultima is within a short walk to boutique shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and entertainment. Our relaxed and comfortable Apartments host a large heated saltwater pool (winter only) and spa, on-site Cafe, BBQ area, Conference Centre, Public Day Spa & Gym (extra charges apply for Gym - special rates available for guests). Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday Tweed Ultima offers modern 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom self-contained Apartments with spacious living areas, gourmet kitchens and enclosed balconies. Tweed Ultima Apartments provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free Gold Coast Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast Hotel Tweed Heads

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing