We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Disappointment”
Review of Catch a Crab

Catch a Crab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Experience of a lifetime: Enjoyed by all ages, the multi-award-winning "Catch-a-Crab" tour offers a truly unforgettable experience. From the moment you step aboard, you'll take part in an exciting range of fun activities. You'll see some of the natural wonders of this spectacular region up close and catch a glimpse of the unique Australian lifestyle. Enjoy activities of pelican feeding, trapping for crabs, fishing, yabbie pumping (tide permitting) learn how we farm our oysters and enjoy freshly opened oysters in the riverside oyster farm cafe. Try Freshly cooked mudcrab or spanner crab combined with local oysters or one our mixed seafood platters for a delicious seafood experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Looking for a special meal - what could be a better fit than fresh oysters and crab from the Tweed. Having phoned the previous day to ensure the restaurant was open, we made our way there - not easy - only to find the whole place shut (on a Thursday). No signs, no explanations.
Total disappointment as we had checked and ended up with the local specialty of deep fried and battered everything!
Don't bother, even if they do assure you that they will be open.

Thank oldportz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew E, General Manager at Catch a Crab, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Oldportz,
There has obviously been a major communication breakdown in this instance.
As we are a daytime tourist attraction, with operations centred around the famous Catch a Crab tour being followed by a quality dining experience, our lunch time service is between the hours of 11.30- 1.30, this enables us to serve our valued patrons the freshest possible product, straight off the boat and onto the plate.
It is also possible to join us for lunch when not participating on the tour, and we have many repeat customers that take advantage of this, so they can continue to enjoy the quality seafood on offer,
Due to popularity and catering purposes, bookings are essential to avoid disappointment, which has occurred in this case.
I apologise if this was not clearly explained to you the day before your visit, and that by the time you arrived, our lunch service had concluded as we usually take last orders around 1.00-1.30 PM.
We would also like the opportunity to restore your faith in our attraction and product, so If ever you are in the area again, could you please call or email us with a date and time, and I will be happy to look after you.
Thankyou for your constructive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crab"
in 20 reviews
"oysters"
in 13 reviews
"close to nature"
in 2 reviews
"fresh seafood"
in 2 reviews
"feeding fish"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 3 reviews
"the river"
in 3 reviews
"yabbies"
in 20 reviews
"pumping"
in 13 reviews
"fishing"
in 21 reviews
"traps"
in 3 reviews
"pelicans"
in 12 reviews
"fun"
in 11 reviews
"crew"
in 8 reviews
"boat"
in 12 reviews
"chips"
in 2 reviews
"tourists"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

G'day guys. I have recently been on my first tour to the Tweed. Absolutely loved my experience and my tour lady 'Kahli'. From Yabbi pumping to eating the catch. Food was very well served and the staff we're very supporting throughout my trip. Thanks guys 1

Thank viviennedougie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew E, General Manager at Catch a Crab, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Vivienne,
We really appreciate your glowing review of the Catch a Crab experience, especially when it comes from one of the locals in the area.
Encompassing all the activities that even "we" like to do in our spare time, followed by a magnificent seafood experience, our product has proven to be a recipe for success for over 25 years now.
On behalf of Kahli, I would like to thankyou for the praise and also welcome you back whenever you have the chance to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewE1869, General Manager at Catch a Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch a Crab also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Catch a Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing