We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing! ”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at the Wild Edge Retreat last weekend! It was simply amazing, the pavilion we stayed in "whispering forest" was fabulous, the bed was comfy, the spa incredible and the view breathtaking! We took advantage of the food platters on offer, the seafood was great value and so delicious!

There is very limited phone service so the perfect place to jut get away from the world, there is wifi if you need to keep in touch!

If you are looking for a relaxing few days away to recharge your batteries, this is the place for you!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank hol_and_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear hol_and_b,

Many thanks for posting your review of Wild Edge. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your break with us so much, and that you found the facilities so enjoyable too.

The views from each of the Pavilions are pretty hard to beat and all offer a different aspect - the private decks are the perfect place to enjoy a bite to eat (and drink! ) while you soak up the ever changing vista.

Although mobile reception is pretty patchy at the Retreat (and indeed in the region) each Pavilion has a landline, so guests can stay in touch with family if they need to.

Again, thank you for your great review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2015

We had such a relaxing time at Wild Edge Retreat and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

It is tucked away just past Wollombi if coming from Sydney. We were warmly greeted on arrival and driven to our accommodation by golf cart, we stayed in Wind Spirit. We were immediately excited by the setup, in particular a large bed in an open plan room, the spa bath with large fully opening windows, opening out on to your private balcony, and the private infinity pool and day bed. The kitchen was well stocked along with delicious breakfast supplies. Weather wise, were treated to drizzle, warm sunny weather, and a storm rolling in over the hills during our stay. We met the local wombat and went for a short walk around the complex. But mostly we relaxed! And it was so easy to do so. The lack of phone reception is a blessing, and the wifi was very reliable for when we really needed to connect to the real world again.

My wife and I are already planning our next trip here, can't wait! Thanks for the thoroughly relaxing experience

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear Maatsby,

Thank you so much for your review of Wild Edge. It was really pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found plenty of time to relax and enjoy the serenity of the Retreat.
Due to our location, we are fortunate to have a very diverse number of native wildlife visit us, so it was good to read that one of our local wombats had made an appearance for you !

Also good to read that you are already planning your return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

The most romantic weekend away my husband and I have ever had!
The hosts were so welcoming and friendly! The attention to detail in our wind spirit pavilion was phenomenal! We arrived to out candle lit pavilion, we soft music and the most amazing view! The bed was super comfy and it has a lounge area that overlooks the stunning view. A lovely kitchen too. The deck outside has lounge beds and a barbecue and the most amazing infinity edge pool. Not to mention the king size day bed oh my god! The first night we had the romance package so we went out to the local pub for an he and when we returned it's was ahhhhmazing! So many candles oh goodness it was beautiful. Rose petals on the bed! Soft music and we had arranged the seafood package for dinner, it was Devine all set up beautifully! The following morning we had the breakfast provided. all the breakfast goodies we cooked were supplied and it was yum. That day we lazed around by the pool and for lunch had the ploughman's package. Lovely local cheeses cold meats and breads and salads yum. Then for dinner yes more food we had the BBQ package so it included meats salads breads etc the meat was soooo tender it was amazing.
Following morning we still had enough supplies for breakfast.
I highly recommend wild edge retreat the grounds surrounding our pavilion are stunning and it's like there is no one else on earth when you stay so quiet!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADABELLALINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear Madabelaline,

Thank you so much for submitting your review of Wild Edge. 'The most romantic weekend you have ever had' is, in itself great to read, but it seems you enjoyed every aspect of our Wind Spirit Pavilion and the Retreat, which is exactly what we aim for!. . The infinity edge pool with it's amazing mountain views and the two person hydrotherapy spa are a great way to relax and while away a few hours.

It was our pleasure to have you stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Travelling a long distance and driving through the dirt and narrow road is pretty hard. But once you drive up to the retreat that's where you were see the most beautiful nature view that god created. I call "Heaven on Earth". I love everything about this place the beautiful room, pool, tub, scenery, smell of nature breeze, essential oil, relaxing music, ruby the dog , deck, day-bed, fireplace, kitchen and the staff. 2nights was short i wish i could stay there forever . Me and my partner have the most quality time together no wifi, no phone or disturb n also no social media time for us. We get to bond our love together and communicate more we get to cook together,do spa and watch movie, see night sky n stars. Every morning i wake up with a peaceful and relaxing mind. I love the beautiful nature view i look forward everyday. A luxury retreat for couple i will be back soon :)

Love
FIONA & Bernard

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Fiona and Bernard,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us, secondly, thank you for posting such a great review of our little piece of 'Heaven on Earth', and thirdly - thank you for uploading the fantastic images.
So pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. Now we are just into Autumn, we are blessed with some rather magical misty mornings which generally clear to beautiful warm days and you seemed to capture perfectly in your photos.

We absolutely love our Retreat, its location and meeting our guests. So, naturally when guests take the time to post such positive reviews, it makes the hard work we put into the property so much more rewarding.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I can not fault this place.

From our arrival to our departure - it was nothing but perfection.

We had a warm and inviting welcome from our host.

We stayed in Whispering Forest and were greeted with contemporary surroundings. The kitchen had a great selection of teas; fresh breakfast daily (which was wonderful); the spa bath was amazing.

We also added on to our package a full body massage, which I would highly recommend.

Also a great selection of DVD's are on hire in the main reception area if you wish.

To add to the atmosphere, you feel a world away from everything as there is no phone reception. This was definitely a plus!

I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or just after some peace and quiet with nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dede21189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Dear Dede21189,

Thank you for your review of Wild Edge.

It was great to read that you had enjoyed our Retreat so much and thank you also for posting the images of Whispering Forest. Since your stay we have already made a few changes to the Pavilion. The kitchen has been refurbished and now includes full stone bench-tops, new inbuilt microwave, full size fridge and a funky Italian designed range hood.

The living areas have also been refreshed as has the outside deck area....so there will be new things to see when you come to visit us again !!

Our complimentary DVD library continues to be popular with our guests, and is growing as we add new releases, and to ensure guests can make the most of our entertainment system, all Pavilions have just been up-graded with larger TV panels.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Retreat again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

So we went there over New Years 2014 break.... What can I say - Amazing.
The trip started off with a pleasant intercom greeting at the security gate. When the gate opened up it was a moment of 'This is heaven'.
Walking to the reception through the lush surroundings is nothing short of 'top notch'.
We were explained and shown everything from the free DVDs to the house-keeping requirements.
We were escorted back to our car where we were taken on the golf-cart to our Vila.
Well let me say that the short ride on the cart through the bush was so relaxing and tranquil.
On arriving at our Vila we opened it to the pre-air conditioned temperature with lit candles and soothing music throughout.
Alan showed us the complimentary breakfast which had been pre-placed in the fridge.
The Vila was absolutely stunning.
We stayed in the Wind Spirit, which had our own private infinity edge pool over looking the Hinter Valley.
The view was nothing but 'post-card' worthy (but even then the pictures would not do it justice).

We spent the following few days relaxing without any interruptions from the huddle-bustle of the city life.
We felt like we were on a secluded island.

I could go on and on praising this place and even this would be enough.

I have recommended this place to everyone that I have spoken to since our stay.

We intend on staying there in winter to use the fireplace and heated pool.

This place is one of the best we have ever stayed in EVER.

Dan and Sarina

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Dan T,

Wow! Where do I start? Firstly, thank you so much for your review. It seems our property really hit the spot with you in every aspect, which is always our aim, but great to see when guests feel the same about Wild Edge as we do.

We are constantly striving to make improvements to the property to ensure it is always offering what our guests have come to expect, so it was great to read that you had appreciated the property so much.

The only thing I would point out from your review is that the pools are not heated in Winter. When our outside temperatures drop to as low as two degrees at night, it is impossible to keep the pools at a swimmable temperature - but that's when the fires and spa's come into their own!

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back in the Winter.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

This was our second stay at Wild Edge, this time a 3 night ‘Babymoon’ to relax and enjoy the long weekend. I only have good things to say about this place. The warm greeting, the cleanliness and presentation of the pavilion and the wonderful view from the balcony all add up to a great stay. Everything is thought of here. The breakfast provisions were excellent and we had packed food for lunches and dinners and prepared quite a few great meals and found that everything we needed for cooking was provided in the kitchen. I loved relaxing in the spa with the windows open and candles lit and the pool was warm, but not too hot- great way to spend a couple of warm afternoons floating around in privacy (especially because I am very pregnant!). We stayed in ‘Nature’s Mist’ on this occasion and have previously stayed in the other pool villa. Both are lovely, and had everything we needed for a great long weekend. I really do hope to return again in the future for another relaxing break! Thanks to Andrew and Alan for another great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

Dear Kristy L,

Many thanks for your review of Wild Edge Retreat.

It was great to welcome you both back and very pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your 3 night stay. I recall the first time you stayed we had torrential rain, so I was pleased we managed to turn on the sunshine this time!
We wish you all the very best with the pending arrival of your baby and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again - I'm sure the Grandparents will be more than willing to babysit!

Again, thank you for the review and our best wishes.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollombi hotels
0.8 km away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
2.1 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
230 reviews
3.9 km away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a mountain ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond. Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. All pavilions have a two person spa bath, Nespresso machines and a Bose sound system with bluetooth dock and a Dyson hairdryer. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. Connected by raised timber boardwalks, each of the architecturally designed Spa and Private Pool Spa Pavilions seem to float effortlessly above the trees and landscape below. Here you will instantly lose yourself in a world of romance, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing