We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26th wedding anniversary .”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I organised our trip, my wife let me plan everything,from the moment we arrived and when we left it was sensational, service ,the pavilion wind sprit was great ,my wife summed it up best weekend ever.

Room Tip: There's only 4 pavilions you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Brian M,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and for posting your review.

It was lovely to meet you both and really great to read how much you had enjoyed your stay. I guess your wife summed it up by saying it was the 'best weekend ever'! We can't ask for much more!!

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you both back again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Wild Edge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2015

My wife and I stayed at Wild Edge Retreat for two nights in May 2015. What an incredible experience. It's a selcuded retreat hidden away on the top of a mountain with only 4 Pavilions. Your only 40 minutes away from the Pokolbin/Hunter Wineries but it feels like you are miles from nowhere. The Hosts are fantastic, Alan was most welcoming and very helpful. They had the candles lit and the fire ready to go on our arrival and the place smelt wonderful. We stayed in the Whispering Forest Pavilion which was well presented, so clean and included a wood fire, heating, a comfy King size bed and a huge deck overlooking the valley below. Very modern but cosy as well. Foxtel & Wifi are also welcome inclusions.The place is so pieceful. They have Wombats and many birds roaming the retreat. If your looking for a romantic weekend away this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Bill M,

Thank you for your great review of Wild Edge Retreat.

We were very pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are a 'Secluded Retreat', and our mountain ridge location ensures guests can enjoy magnificent, tranquil views.

As well as the main wine region around Pokolbin, there are a number of 'boutique' wineries within 10 to 15 minutes from the Retreat, which are really worth a visit.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for choosing to stay at Wild Edge.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding for two nights, was the most perfect way to relax and unwind after a hectic few months leading up to our big day. We stayed in Wind Spirit lodge, was a bit too cold to use the pool - but I had to jump in anyway. Perfect layout and nothing was an issue. We cooked up a gourmet breaky and also ordered a bbq pack (which lasted two nights - excellent value). Perfectly located a few minutes drive from Wollombi - we cannot wait to go back.

Dry fire wood ready to go and restocked as needed - good range of dvds and the view is spectacular. We visited a few wineries while there and had a couple of coldies down at the Tavern as well.

We will be back

Room Tip: Wind spirit pavillion has an infinity pool
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Peter D,
Thank you for posting your review. It was our pleasure to welcome you both to the Retreat and very pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your mini Honeymoon with us.

We seem to have a huge increase of newly weds who, like you, just want a few days of peace and quiet together after the hectic (and sometimes stressful) lead up to the wedding day.

I think you were pretty brave to jump into the pool at this time of year! Maybe you can visit during the warmer months next time when the pool is heated and you can while away a few hours floating around and enjoying the view.

Again thank you for the review and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at the Wild Edge Retreat last weekend! It was simply amazing, the pavilion we stayed in "whispering forest" was fabulous, the bed was comfy, the spa incredible and the view breathtaking! We took advantage of the food platters on offer, the seafood was great value and so delicious!

There is very limited phone service so the perfect place to jut get away from the world, there is wifi if you need to keep in touch!

If you are looking for a relaxing few days away to recharge your batteries, this is the place for you!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank hol_and_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear hol_and_b,

Many thanks for posting your review of Wild Edge. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your break with us so much, and that you found the facilities so enjoyable too.

The views from each of the Pavilions are pretty hard to beat and all offer a different aspect - the private decks are the perfect place to enjoy a bite to eat (and drink! ) while you soak up the ever changing vista.

Although mobile reception is pretty patchy at the Retreat (and indeed in the region) each Pavilion has a landline, so guests can stay in touch with family if they need to.

Again, thank you for your great review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We had such a relaxing time at Wild Edge Retreat and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

It is tucked away just past Wollombi if coming from Sydney. We were warmly greeted on arrival and driven to our accommodation by golf cart, we stayed in Wind Spirit. We were immediately excited by the setup, in particular a large bed in an open plan room, the spa bath with large fully opening windows, opening out on to your private balcony, and the private infinity pool and day bed. The kitchen was well stocked along with delicious breakfast supplies. Weather wise, were treated to drizzle, warm sunny weather, and a storm rolling in over the hills during our stay. We met the local wombat and went for a short walk around the complex. But mostly we relaxed! And it was so easy to do so. The lack of phone reception is a blessing, and the wifi was very reliable for when we really needed to connect to the real world again.

My wife and I are already planning our next trip here, can't wait! Thanks for the thoroughly relaxing experience

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear Maatsby,

Thank you so much for your review of Wild Edge. It was really pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found plenty of time to relax and enjoy the serenity of the Retreat.
Due to our location, we are fortunate to have a very diverse number of native wildlife visit us, so it was good to read that one of our local wombats had made an appearance for you !

Also good to read that you are already planning your return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

The most romantic weekend away my husband and I have ever had!
The hosts were so welcoming and friendly! The attention to detail in our wind spirit pavilion was phenomenal! We arrived to out candle lit pavilion, we soft music and the most amazing view! The bed was super comfy and it has a lounge area that overlooks the stunning view. A lovely kitchen too. The deck outside has lounge beds and a barbecue and the most amazing infinity edge pool. Not to mention the king size day bed oh my god! The first night we had the romance package so we went out to the local pub for an he and when we returned it's was ahhhhmazing! So many candles oh goodness it was beautiful. Rose petals on the bed! Soft music and we had arranged the seafood package for dinner, it was Devine all set up beautifully! The following morning we had the breakfast provided. all the breakfast goodies we cooked were supplied and it was yum. That day we lazed around by the pool and for lunch had the ploughman's package. Lovely local cheeses cold meats and breads and salads yum. Then for dinner yes more food we had the BBQ package so it included meats salads breads etc the meat was soooo tender it was amazing.
Following morning we still had enough supplies for breakfast.
I highly recommend wild edge retreat the grounds surrounding our pavilion are stunning and it's like there is no one else on earth when you stay so quiet!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADABELLALINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear Madabelaline,

Thank you so much for submitting your review of Wild Edge. 'The most romantic weekend you have ever had' is, in itself great to read, but it seems you enjoyed every aspect of our Wind Spirit Pavilion and the Retreat, which is exactly what we aim for!. . The infinity edge pool with it's amazing mountain views and the two person hydrotherapy spa are a great way to relax and while away a few hours.

It was our pleasure to have you stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Travelling a long distance and driving through the dirt and narrow road is pretty hard. But once you drive up to the retreat that's where you were see the most beautiful nature view that god created. I call "Heaven on Earth". I love everything about this place the beautiful room, pool, tub, scenery, smell of nature breeze, essential oil, relaxing music, ruby the dog , deck, day-bed, fireplace, kitchen and the staff. 2nights was short i wish i could stay there forever . Me and my partner have the most quality time together no wifi, no phone or disturb n also no social media time for us. We get to bond our love together and communicate more we get to cook together,do spa and watch movie, see night sky n stars. Every morning i wake up with a peaceful and relaxing mind. I love the beautiful nature view i look forward everyday. A luxury retreat for couple i will be back soon :)

Love
FIONA & Bernard

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Fiona and Bernard,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us, secondly, thank you for posting such a great review of our little piece of 'Heaven on Earth', and thirdly - thank you for uploading the fantastic images.
So pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. Now we are just into Autumn, we are blessed with some rather magical misty mornings which generally clear to beautiful warm days and you seemed to capture perfectly in your photos.

We absolutely love our Retreat, its location and meeting our guests. So, naturally when guests take the time to post such positive reviews, it makes the hard work we put into the property so much more rewarding.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
27.3 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
29.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
22.6 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.2 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
219 reviews
13.5 km away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing