We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but slow”
Review of Luca on James

Luca on James
Ranked #16 of 647 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

A recent winner of the James Beard

Great food and cocktails but it took a long time from placing out order to being served. So unless you have a 2 to 3 hour window for dinner, we recommend that you skip this place.

I had clicked and my other half had pasta Bolganes and the other person had chicken. We also had the heirloom tomato salad — outstanding but the artichoke apertizer was a disappointment

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2018

We enjoyed the food and had friendly and efficient service from the bartender, since the only seating available was at the bar. We started with the warm olive small plate, and shared a little gem lettuce salad. Both were very good. We had the Salsiccia (sausage) pizza and the Palermo (smoked mussels and olives) pizza. Both were delicious, as was the Torta Della Opera cake (chocolate cake with hazelnut cream and chocolate ganache). We ordered a bottle of red wine and were surprised that all of their reds are chilled to 58 degrees. We prefer room temperature red wine. It's very noisy and hard to carry on a conversation. We did not have a reservation and had to wait about 20 minutes for seating at the bar. We noticed that 4 tables were reserved but not occupied during our time in this restaurant. First come, first served seating may be a better option than holding tables empty for so long on a busy Saturday evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Went there without a reservation...not a good idea if you want a table because everyone apparently knows this is an excellent restaurant. However, we did manage to get a seat at the "chef's counter". This proved to be a real treat as we watched the chefs working in front of the pizza oven and open flame wood cooking area. These guys worked at phenomenal speed and were extremely friendly...what an unexpected treat at no extra charge. Oh yes, the food is also great. Don't take my word for it.....try it. And if you get a chance, sit at the chef's counter for an extra treat.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 857billk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

From the atmosphere to the staff to the food quality and flavor. A++++ Why aren’t you open for lunch?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank hollykind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We had heard about Luca and read the reviews. We were impressed to say the least. I had a pizza and my wife had two appetizers, the beef carpaccio and the Scamorza. Everything was great and we felt the prices were reasonable. We will be back for sure!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luca on James also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Luca on James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing