We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brick and Art and Old Wood and a New Favorite Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Pitman, NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Brick and Art and Old Wood and a New Favorite Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We've been twice now, not quite 2 years apart, and this is now our new Favorite Hotel, replacing the faded dowager, Hotel du Pont in Wilmington, DE.

A renovated tobacco warehouse (tobacco - especially cigar wrapper - is still an important Lancaster County crop), the Lancaster Arts Hotel features brick, stone, massive timbers, and interesting art (mostly available for purchase) throughout the building. Rooms are comfortable, nicely appointed with high-end amenities, and well decorated with, yes, more art.

We were in a Loft Suite this last visit, and there's nothing like relaxing in your whirlpool jet spa tub after a tough day eating and drinking.

Speaking of which, make time for at least one dinner at the John J. Jeffries restaurant in the hotel. The chefs and owners source as much as they can from local, organic sources, and they treat those excellent artisanal ingredients with the skill and respect they deserve.

After dinner, move to the intimate and hopping bar for very interesting, creative, and impeccably prepared cocktails. I am hunting the perfect sazerac, and two of the best three I've ever had were at the bar at the Lancaster Arts Hotel (the other was at Commander's Palace in New Orleans).

We've been back, and will continue to go back time and time again.

A great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjmalcyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    198
    65
    24
    16
See reviews for
191
400
41
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Lancaster Arts Hotel is one of my favorite hotels in the country. You really feel as if you are staying in an artist's loft, yet with all of the typical hotel amenities. If I could, I would never stay at a chain hotel again, and would simply enjoy the Lancaster Arts Hotel as my home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend stay at the hotel. Different from traditional chain hotels, we thought the artwork displayed made it much more interesting. Plus, the loft room we stayed in was very nice. All around - a great experience and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in January, and it was really very nice. It's nice to have somewhere a little different from the major chains (my trip was business), and this place really ticks the boxes.
The rooms are well decorated, and the whole place, room included, follows of course the art theme, with lovely pieces throughout.
The room was spacious, had a comfy bed, soft chair, and good desk with complimentary wifi for working. Large TV, and nice big bathroom. If I could have added one thing, a mini bar would have helped, although there was a small fridge for personal use.
The rest of the hotel follows theme, and the bar/restaurant have a great ambiance.
The hotel does have a small gym in the parking lot (!!), but you can also get access to the YMCA over the road which is much better, and VERY close. Plenty of parking available.
A great hotel, definitely something different.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

It is really wonderful, charming, immaculate, interesting. Great substantial breakfast. And the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. When in Lancaster, check out Ma(i)son Urban Cookery, a fabulous restaurant within easy walking distance of the Lancaster Arts Hotel. Highly recommend that place too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingnow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Service desk were very nice and helpful. We did the brewery package which was fun. Nice bonus is the hotel will hook you up with a cab with 5 miles for free. We ate at Checkers restaurant which was priced good and food.was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel is completely worth the stay - it's easy to walk into town and the hotel facilities are top notch. We were particularly impressed with the room (I travel 200 days a year for business so tend to be a hotel snob) - the size, furnishings, linens, towels, service, breakfast offerings. Fabulous. Would stay here again definitely!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
10.7 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.4 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
6.4 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing