We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fo kids (4 to 10 years)”

Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Lititz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery, established in 1861, is the first commercial pretzel bakery in America. As of August 2007, the site is under new ownership. The bakery and store have been completely renovated and are now operated once again by the Sturgis family. Visitors can tour the original pretzel bakery, see soft pretzels being made by hand, and find pretzels baked by the oldest pretzel baking family in the United States.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fo kids (4 to 10 years)”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My children enjoyed this because they had a chance to try and make their own pretzel (the pretzel was not actually baked, they just had some dough to pay with). It is a small facility, but worth the trip if you are in Lititz.

Helpful?
Thank sjbeacham316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    192
    79
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the hot pretzels!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Get there early if you want hot pretzels. We drove 4 hours to get to this place (on our way to Hershey). We got there an hour before closing and were sold out of the hot pretzels. :(

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dianar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good pretzels, beautiful town”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A trip to Lititz wouldn't be complete without a visit to Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery. While walking through the town, make sure to stop there, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank LIGirl846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun and delicious too”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Great informative tour. Fun for children and adults to make your own pretzel.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynette421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OLDEST PRETZEL BAKERY IN WORLD”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Although we prefer the pretzels at the Intercourse Pretzel Factory this tour was more interesting. They talk about the history of the pretzel, let you twist your own pretzel, etc. This is supposed to be the oldest pretzel bakery in the United States I believe.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL12661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing