We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speedwell Forge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Paymaster Cottage...the cottage is really beautiful. It's set a good distance away from the main house, so it's very private. It faces a creek, and we saw deer outside the window along the creek. It's also beautiful on the inside, with a king bed, fireplace, hot tub, and an updated bathroom, and a little kitchen with a stovetop, sink, small fridge, microwave, and table. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Dishes are included. We really enjoyed our time here and wish we could have stayed longer.
The main mansion is beautiful too, although we only saw the dining room and the entranceway. Breakfast was very very good! Dawn, the innkeeper, is very nice and a great cook. She is friendly without being intrusive. We would certainly stay here again.
The wolves are also worth seeing--the tour was great (I'm going to write a separate review of that).

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to stay in the Paymaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pangiebear1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Dec and had a wonderful time.
Plus points:
Lovely setting
Lovely house
Wonderful room and bathroom - with everything you need in it
Great hosts
Fantastic breakfasts - very accomodating to my special diet
Nice to have use of a few rooms to relax in, make drinks etc. She should offer evening meals, the food is so good!
Free access to look at the wolfs
Nice grounds for walks etc
Nothing seemed to much trouble
Points to consider:
It is not in Litiz, but about 15 minutes drive away in the middle of nowhere - we loved it, but it is not handy for anything
The heating was noisey and kept us awake quite a bit

Overall we loved it and are thinking already of going back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ta2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Wonderful weekend. Feel like you are visiting an old friend. Dawn makes a great breakfast and the building/grounds make a great getaway when you want to get away without having to go far away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I love this place! The beautiful, historical, immaculate manor home is comfortable and welcoming. Your host, Dawn, is amazing. She's a fantastic cook for all specialty diets. My husband and I are ovo-lacto vegetarians and were impressed with Dawn's breakfast. She serves a wonderful variety and there is plenty to eat. Her home has been lovingly restored and is filled with antiques ... but not cutesy stuff. Just lovely. PA Dutch handmade quilts are on the beds and most pieces of furniture have a story. Just ask Dawn. Then there are the wolves. We stayed in the main house which has thick walls and double paned windows, so we didn't hear them howling at night (we were there during the full moon), but the couple staying in the paymaster's cabin -- in the back -- heard them. Lucky. Oh well. Visiting the wolves and hearing about them is a great experience. The property is so beautiful. I want to return. The town of Lititz is known for it's pretzels and candy. Yum. The fudge at the candy factory of the best I've ever eaten! Speedwell Forge is a "must see." Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. It depends what you are looking for. We stayed in Bill's Room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-NJ-Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for two nights. The property is an amazing stone building from the 1700s faithfully restored and beautifully furnished. There is a wolf sanctuary on the property and the tour was quite informative while the wolves were impressive and gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious--everything was homemade. The evening snacks were especially yummy. I would highly recommend the wolf tour if you do stay in this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The "boys" room has two three quarter beds--perfect for non-couple traveling companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhiker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very clean (no shoes in the house), Excellent breakfast, Beautiful grounds with wolves, Charming innkeeper

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jdaviqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The mansion is beautifullly restored, and exceeded my expectations in hospitality, cleanliness and decor. It's the kind of place that feels welcoming from the start, without being invasive. Dawn seems to have a good gauge into understanding just how much attention each guest wants, and each room is already prepared to meet most needs, from chocolate treats to warm robes and fresh water.

The highlights:
--The wolves, of course. The sanctuary is fascinating, and the volunteers there are dedicated. They seem to have good relationships with the animals, and are respectful and kind to them, and are eager to share each ones stories. Definitely take the tour. Bonus: guests of the b&b can walk the perimeter of the sanctuary at any time.
--The breakfast. Dawn is an excellent cook, and provided a very comfortable and tasty meal. The guest books raved about her breakfast, and it lived up to the hype. In fact, it may have been the best food we had in the area.
--The cleanliness. If you're a stickler for details, this place is for you. There's no question that each room is cleaned and prepped for guests each day. I felt just as comfortable there as I would in my own home.
--The decor. Nothing frou-frou or cloyingly precious. The house was modernized, yet faithful to the period. Be sure to take a look at the photos of the renovation -- you will be amazed at the transformation and the preservation.
--The quietness. The property is a very calming place to stay. We enjoyed sitting outside and hearing the birds and the river, as well as the wolves. We also enjoyed not hearing the other guests -- the house is solid!
--Dawn's helpfulness. She was quick with suggestions of activities in the area, and understood exactly what we wanted. She didn't steer us wrong, and she took into consideration our tastes.

The cons:
None. Loved it all!

Room Tip: Paymaster's Office is best 4 romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycjaunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
5.2 km away
Warwick Inn & Suites
Warwick Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
14.5 km away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
15.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
5.3 km away
Hammer Creek Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Property: Speedwell Forge B&B
Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing