We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Imagine your family owned a 600 acre farm ...”
other travellers have booked this property
FarmHouseInn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FarmHouseInn
View from farm house Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
FarmHouseInn
View from farm house
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room/ Electric Fireplace/Flat Screen TV
Living Room
Living Room
Bed Room 1
Bed Room 3
Bed Room 3
Bed Room 3
Bed Room 3
Main Bath Upstairs
Main Bath Tub and Shower
Main Bath
Down Stairs Half Bath
Down Stairs Half Bath
Laundry Room
Front Porch
Side Walkway
Wrap Around Porch
Hand Hewn Natural Steps
Game Room/pool Table/Electronic Darts
Foosball Table
Checker Table or Card
Fishing Pond
Beautiful field of wild flowers
Front Porch
Beautiful Rhododendron in Bloom
Winter Scene
Large Fire Pit with natural cherry wood benches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mill Run, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MissSnigg...
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Imagine your family owned a 600 acre farm ...”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If your family owned a 600 acre farm, you would call your cousin Gloria and ask, “Can we come up for a few days?” Gloria would say, “Sure.” So you’d load the kids into the car and caravan up through the scenic Laurel Highlands east of Pittsburgh with those friends of yours who want to see Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater, until you found yourselves bumping across the cattle grids up a narrow lane, with the kids yelling hello the to the happy barking dogs. You’d pull into the parking pad in front of Grandmom’s big white house on the hill, and of course the kids would want to go chase the cows in the pasture above the house, or head down to the ponds to look at the fish, but you’d say, “Leave the poor cows and fish alone! Go play on the swings!” The kids would say, “We want to play foosball! No, we want to play pool! No, karaoke!” Soon you’d hear the sounds of all three coming from the game room while you unpacked your coolers in the big, sunny eat-in kitchen and took the bags upstairs to the three spacious bedrooms with their nice large closets. You’d look around at all the little homey touches that let you know that Gloria really loves and looks after this house, and you’d find a tear in your eye because it makes you think so much about the grandmother you still miss. My grandmom did not live on a farm, but this 100+ year old house, with its improvements from every decade of the last century, filled with a cheerful hodgepodge of lamps and collectables, made me think of her the whole weekend my husband and I spent at The Farmhouse Inn. Everything is not brand spanking new, but everything worked fine, from the 1920’s vintage sink in the downstairs powder room to the amazingly realistic electric fireplace in the cozy parlor. If you like to hike and bird watch, I think you could spend your whole vacation wandering the woods and pastures right there on the farm. And for a dose of High Culture, there’s Fallingwater 10 minutes away. Caveats: All bedrooms are upstairs, so it would not be a good choice if you have problems with stairs. No dishwasher, but they do have a washer and dryer in case the kids get wet and dirty. It is on a working farm way out in the quiet countryside, so there is livestock wandering about, and there could be critters, insects, farm-related aromas and all the other accessories of country life. We loved that there were cows grazing 30 feet from our kitchen window, but if that is not a positive for you, be warned. As noted in other reviews, Gloria and Ed are absolutely lovely and want nothing more than to make your stay perfect. If you have questions or need any special accommodation, ask and they’ll do their best to help you out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homey, nostalgic atmosphere and complete comfort
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure having such great guest .. That enjoyed the beauty of the country side and all of natures finest.. I know you enjoyed all the surrounding areas also .. We certainly try our best to accommodate any of our guest .. We actually regretted you leaving on your departure date.. It felt as though we were saying goodbye to family.. Thanks again for choosing our home for your getaway ..
Best Regards
Gloria & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
199LINDA
ELKHART
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great views, comfortable but dated, great beds!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was a little disappointed as we didn't read the description correctly as there were 3 bedrooms up with 1 shared bath and we were expecting en suite. Half bath on main level back off kitchen and laundry room. There was a game room on main floor with pool table but probably would make more sense to turn into bedroom with access to half bath for those with problem climbing stairs. Beautiful polished wooden stairs to second floor but not an easy climb for older person with suitcases. somewhat slippery. Porch was great good views of landscape, mountains, trees, leaves and had comfortable seating. If your plan is to eat out plan on driving to find restaurants. One very small place in "town" for breakfast no local restaurants for lunch or dinner which for someone who plans on cooking would be ok, we on the other hand had not planned on cooking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, porch and excellend bedding. Comfortable seating in living room.
Liked least: Lack of private bathrooms for our two couples. Stairs. This was all explained in the discription so I really cannot complain due to our lack of investigating thoroughly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Sorry if you had any problems.. We certainly would have helped you through them . All you have to do is call and we certainly would have helped you with your luggage or any other problems .. We do have a roll away bed that could have been set up downstairs for your convenience .. We try very hard to please our guest in any way .. We are only a phone call away ..
Best regards
Gloria & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLio63
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place to relax, restore, see Falling Water House and enjoy your being!”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property is located on the Farm, huge piece of beautiful land, only 5 minutes away from Falling Water House, 15 minutes from Kentuck Knob and gorgeous Ohiopyle State Park.
The owners were very easy to communicate with and very welcoming and wonderful people. We have the electric vehicle and the owner placed the plug right outside the house that we could conveniently charge it.
The property was easy to find and when we enter the house the warming feeling was bursting out. We had a basket filled with fresh fruits, water in the fridge, bagels. House was very clean and decorated with love and thoughts to little details which makes you feel at home right away. The view from all bedrooms is beautiful and very peaceful.
The kitchen was filled with all necessities including paper products and very spacious for our family of 5. The house was very comfortable and it was so great spend a long weekend there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location and comfort of the house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
It certainly was a great pleasure to have you and your family as our guest .. I enjoyed your visit immensely, and was very happy accommodate you with the installation of a plug share for electric cars.. Want to thank you for bringing that to our attention.. Our aim is to try to please our guest in any way.. I would like to say hello to your sons .. They are super wonderful and let them know Rosie missed them when you left .. Our sincerest thanks to all of you ..
Gloria & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene K
St. Clair Shores, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Had a great time with outstanding accommodations”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Our stay at the Farmhouse Inn in Mill Run was wonderful with great service from the owner, Gloria and Ed. We loved the location high on a mountain top with panoramic views of the beautiful Laurel Mountains. The house was roomy with clean and well appointed rooms, the beds were very comfortable and very clean. We ventured to nearby attractions, Ohio Pyle, Falling Waters, and Nemacolin Woodlands, and they were all worthwhile to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful scenery
Liked least: That we couldn't spend more time there
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
We certainly enjoyed your company .. It's easy to please a lot of our guest with just the peace and solitude of the location of our home . The wrap around porch allows you to take in all of natures beauty of the mountains surrounding us in the distance ..and all of the historical attractions nearby .. We are blessed to live in such a peaceful area .. So happy you had the chance to experience what I live each day.. Also if you would like to visit a city your only one hour away from the beautiful city of Pittsburgh .Thank you for choosing our home it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest ..
Gloria & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend on the farm”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The farmhouse was beautiful and had every little thing you could ever need when traveling from tin foil to shower products the house was fully stocked. Gloria, the owner had a fruit basket and cookies upon our arrival and went above and beyond to ensure we had the best stay possible.The home is conveniently located near Ohiopyle, Fallingwater, and many other attractions PA has to offer. The view of rolling mountains and the farm was spectacular from every angle of the home and property. Gloria and husband took us on a spectacular tour of their 600 acres of land along with a few other properties. The owners are the most genuinely nice and friendly people anyone could ever meet. I would highly recommended this place to anyone and everyone and will be coming back. We also enjoyed their fishing pond and BBQ grill right outside our door. I can't say enough good things about our hosts and property so you're going to have to visit for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to Ohiopyle and Falling Water. Peace and serenity
Liked least: Saying goodbye
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Our pleasure to accommodate you and your family..You were all great guest you made it very easy to enjoy and accommodate all of you.Look forward to your next visit..
Thank You for the wonderful review..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie952
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean, Comfortable - Felt 100% at home away from home!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My two friends and I booked this beautiful Farmhouse for a night as a girl's getaway. Gloria was completely hospitable and incredibly helpful, answering any questions we had and making sure we had everything we needed. She even provided the house with cookies and coffee, and chilled bottles of water in the fridge for us to enjoy. The house has everything you need - cooking supplies, utensils, even an assortment of spices which we used, dishes, etc. The couches in the living room are very comfortable to lounge on and there was plenty of comfortable sleeping space. We really enjoyed the porch area seating as well with beautiful views of the rolling hills and the pastures in the back. We used the grill to cook dinner and were happy there were even a bag of coals available as we hadn't brought any. We didn't have time to use the game room, though it was very cute and complete with the pool table, checkers table, and karaoke machine. It's very close to Falling Waters and after check out it was convenient to go right over there for the tour. Gloria also made sure we had easy to use directions to get to the place, and they couldn't have been more on point - so helpful! I highly recommend a stay here if you're looking for a peaceful, comfortable getaway with beautiful scenery and a warm and welcome environment. And I truly can't say enough about how kind the owners are!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Was a pleasure to accommodate you and your friends.. So happy the weather cooperated that enabled you you to enjoy a cookout.. And your visit to FallingWater House..
Thank You for such a wonderful review
Gloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZoldak
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Great little hide away!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a wonderful place for a get away. Peace, quiet, beautiful surroundings & scenery. Though the owner lives right down the hill, & made themselves available, they gave us our privacy. The accommodations were as described on the website, & quite comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefullness surrounding the location
Liked least: the dog visits
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank You, for a wonderful review.Happy you enjoyed your visit..it was our pleasure to accommodate you and your friends ,Sorry about the collie visiting you, had I known I would have gladly alleviated that problem for you.

Thank You,
Gloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing