We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
457
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downpatrick head one night wonderful hosts county mayo salmon b bs bread wild atlantic way scones green room first class evening meal made us feel attention to detail at home stunning views warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Outstanding service, breakfast, home-cooked elegant dinner , lovely hosts and accommodations in the wild, beautiful part of Ireland. The bed and breakfast deserves it best in the world 2018 from TripAdvisor. Make sure to see Down Patrick Head nearby that rivals Cliffs of Moher.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nosherow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland2608, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are very kind indeed, thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you for staying at Creevagh Heights. We agree that Downpatrick Head (one of our favourite places) and some of the surrounding area are truly a well kept secret and so pleased you enjoyed them. I dont know about 'best in the world' but we are VERY PROUD to be voted number 1 in Ireland by TripAdvisor guests this year. Hope to see you back again. Kind regards Carol and Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place sparkles and its hosts are the definition of warmth and hospitality. From the tea and scones upon arrival to the incredible breakfast menu, the comfort and delight in staying at Creevagh Heights is an experience not to be missed. Its west coast Galway location is also a hidden gem that will open up unique Irish experiences. Plan to stay at least two or three days, and build the time into your itinerary to explore the local area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catherinemW87NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland2608, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Catherine for staying at Creevagh Heights and for your very high recommendation. I do however, have to clarify that we are in the county of Mayo, in the north of the county and not in Galway - just to avoid confusing any potential guests....but we are good friends with our neighbours in Galway!!! Many guests regret not staying longer.....but on the positive side, they often return and stay a few nights and get to really enjoy all there is to see in this beautiful area. We do hope you come back again. Kind regards and many thanks, Carol and Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Tucked away in the Northwest coast of Ireland, we had a perfect stay with generous and loving hosts...Harry & Carol...together, they provided phenomenal meals, attended to all our needs and offered excellent guidance on local sites in the area that aren’t rivalled anywhere in the country!! This was a ruggedly beautiful area of Ireland untouched by tour buses and crowds.....some of the most stunning landscape we had seen in all of our travels....yet, their home is an oasis that makes it hard to leave...We can only be so fortunate to be able to visit with them again...NOT to be missed if you really want to experience the true warmth and beauty of this wonderful country...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland2608, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

What a wonderful poetic review - thank you indeed. We are blessed to live in this beautiful part of Ireland, a hidden gem as someone once said, and it is wonderful to read how much you also enjoyed it. We did enjoy meeting you both and looking after you and would LOVE to see you back in Ireland and especially in Creevagh Heights one day. Thank you for staying with us, for writing a review so quickly after leaving and for highly recommending us. Travel on safely. Best wishes, Carol and Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Creevagh Heights is a very special play to stay. It is set back from the road overlooking the ocean. The views are spectacular. Mr and Mrs Whelan are marvellous hosts - very friendly and helpful with plenty of advice as to places to visit and places to eat in the locality. The breakfasts are excellent - as was the evening meal. Mrs Whelan is a very good cook. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland2608, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you Ian for those lovely kind and generous comments. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Creevagh Heights and this beautiful area. Thank you for recommending us to other guests and hope we see you back again one day in the near future. Kind regards, Carol and Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We spent three nights at Creevagh Heights, and have to say it is one of the finest B & Bs we've ever visited. The rooms are extremely comfortable, some with stunning views over the coast, and there is a lovely residents' lounge, with a similar view where Harry serves tots of poitin every evening. Carole and Harry Whelan are wonderful hosts - so helpful and welcoming, and Carole's catering is superb. Not only is there a wide range of breakfasts, but they are absolutely delicious and served with such visual panache. With reasonable notice, Carole will also provide an evening meal. We requested this one evening, and had the best meal of our entire week in Mayo. Wine and other drinks can also be purchased with the meal.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland2608, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your very generous compliments, much appreciated. We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope you find your way to north Mayo again in the future. We greatly appreciate your business and your review. Kind regards, Carol and Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews