We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was a very nice hotel, the executive King room was extremely clean and inviting. Excellent bed, bedding, TV, and bathroom. Location is close to all the Lancaster/Amish country attractions and main roads. The staff was friendly and helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    57
    59
    11
    10
See reviews for
43
36
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked this hotel because it was between Hershey Park and Dutch Winter Wonderland. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Hotel manager Josh checked us in pretty quickly. Rooms were clean no complaints there. Wifi was pretty fast. Stayed 2 nights had dinner one night at the Hotel restaurant. The food was very good a pretty big portions. Next day we had breakfast there as well. The omelet was superb. This hotel is only 45 mins to Hershey and 30 mins to Dutch wonderland.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny110699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB_MGNPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
I am so happy to hear this and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you found us and hope to see you again real soon. I will share this with my staff especially Josh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was traveling to the wedding of a cousin in northern PA when we stopped for the night at this hotel. I'd made my reservations online using Priceline and so had to try and figure out the best hotel to reserve.

This Holiday Inn attracted me because the reviews were more positive than not and the price, while more than I would have preferred, was decent [>$120/night for 2 adults/1 child]. The back of the door said that the average was about $220/adult/night, so make sure you book online.

I also got a free upgrade because I'm a member of the Holiday Inn rewards club [free to join], so you may want to check into that.

When we got to the hotel, it was a bit difficult to find the hotel entrance. You have to do a loop around McDonald's or just cut through the McD's parking lot. And while that's simple once you've done it, it's a pain trying to figure it out on a country road with slim lighting.

Still, the hotel parking is more than adequate. The hotel building itself is huge and very welcoming after a long trip on the road. The hotel is situated near the highway and the PA Turnpike making access amenable for getting your trip back on the road.

We stopped here as the hotel is near the Shady Maple smorgasbord [about 8 miles]. It was the perfect distance to avoid the smorgasbord traffic on Sat. Morning.

Overall, the hotel was friendly, clean, and a great value. The desk manager was extremely nice and seemed very personable. Thanks, Josh!

I would also say that the swimming pool looked rockin', though we didn't actually get to use it. We went to Shady Maple, so I have no idea if the breakfast here is good or not.

Check this hotel out!

Room Tip: Book online as prices are listed high at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonelysheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGB_MGNPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thanks Glad you enjoyed hope to see you again and bring your swimming suit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I picked this hotel because it fit the criteria I set: it was the halfway point of my drive, and it has an indoor pool.

It was easy on/easy off for the PA Turnpike.

We arrived around 11 p.m. and check-in was efficient. The room was larger than I'd expected. It was plenty comfortable for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids.

I didn't care for the tiny fitness room (not a surprise) but around sunrise I had a great, flat running area around the hotel and the attached sort-of mall (more like a multi-store indoor furniture mart).

The small indoor pool is, oddly, right in the large main lobby. It was a fine place to play for my 8-year-old daughter and me. It doesn't open 'til 10 a.m. and the gate is locked until then.

There is a McDonald's in the parking lot. We didn't eat at the restaurant inside the hotel.

Everything was clean, pleasant and comfortable, which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleveRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
361 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 818 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This Holiday Inn was one of the better ones we stayed at. It has a nice lobby and very polite staff. The room was clean as was the bathroom. everything you would expect from this class of Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nyfamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

2 Adults and 3 kids, 2 rooms reserved on a popular low price site. Check in was very quick...but we got smoking rooms...ugh...and the hotel was fully booked. So much for using the low price line. The hotel had a pool which was nice for the first nite (not as busy). The room smelled...so smoky! Air freshener helped, but it still sunk into our clothes. The room itself was large with 2 queen beds which were comfortable enough. Free wi-fi was a huge plus, as was the free breakfast (and dinner) for the kids. The shower water pressure was great, the thin walls were not...if you had loud neighbors, as one of us did, you wouldn't be happy. Some of the rooms have a fridge which is nice. On our third night we moved to non-smoking. What a difference!! We all slept like babies that nite! The front desk staff was very helpful in moving us to neighboring NS rooms by the way...that was very nice of them. Location was a little far from Lancaster, but in a pinch it was fine, especially when we were fleeing the hurricane from the Jersey Shore!

Room Tip: get NS rooms w/fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razzzbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. My husband had a pleasant experience making the reservation. A few days before our trip, we called to ask about having a refrigerator or microwave in our room. The receptionist said while there is no guarantee, she can put us on a wish list of sorts; we agreed. Check-in was speedy, the concierge was not overly friendly but he definately got the job done. We were pleasantly surprised with a small fridge in our room. The room showed its age, but the bathroom vanity and tub surround had been completed redone with granite. Very nice! We had no problems throughout the duration of our trip. Upon checking out we realized we were charged ten dollars per night for the fridge. I'd consider this to be no big deal, but it would've been nice if we knew in advance. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel for a short stay. It is simply a hotel with nothing overly fancy, but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briggits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgantown
7.3 km away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
22.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
19.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Courtyard Philadelphia Coatesville/Exton
19.7 km away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
22.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Property: Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Address: 6170 Morgantown Rd, Route 10, Morgantown, PA 19543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. The Gateway to Amish Country Only minutes from the Reading and Lancaster Outlets. Also the hotel is adjacent to the PA Turnpike exit 298, and only minutes from Interstate 176, 422, Route 23, Route 10, Route 896 and Route 322. Hosting a special event and need overnight rooms for your out of town guests? The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is the perfect place for your guests to relax in one of our over sized moderately appointed guest rooms. Berks County only full service Holiday Inn Hotel. We re also the place to be when it comes to area sports tournaments, including baseball and soccer. If it is sightseeing in Amish Counrty, Kitchen Kettle, Lancaster, Reading Outlets or watching a drag race at MapleGrove Raceway we are here to make sure your stay is perfect.We just don't do weddings, we cater dreams. Our professional wedding consultant will assist you with creating a day to remember with one of our special wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morgantown / Pa Turnpike Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing