We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Platium Member service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Columbia
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Platium Member service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

So far my stay is fine. I am here on a Sunday night and the hotel appears to be 1/2 empty. I had to ask for an upgrade as a Platium member, when normally that is automatically done. So, my upgrade is a king bed for me and my daughter. Really???

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSkellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Kas S:
Thanks for your time in reviewing our hotel. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had during your check-in; as a Platinum Member, which is one of the highest levels of Priority Club Rewards, your opinion is very valuable. At our hotel, our standard room type is a "Two Queen Non Smoking," and the standard complimentary upgrade for that is the "King Non Smoking." During a stay for a typical Platinum Member, we try to assign upgrades first thing before any check-ins arrive. Your stay was a little different due to the nature of how your reservation was booked (redemption of your points). At our hotel we try to upgrade all Platinum Members regardless of how the reservation was made, but by booking using points we are unable to alter your reservation until you arrive at the hotel, which is the reason why you weren't given an upgrade "automatically."

Again, I apologize for the mix up during your check-in and hope you found the quality of our hotel to exceed your needs. At this point I would like to refund some of your points used for booking the room. If you can contact me at your convenience: (570) 568-1100, I would love to discuss this further.

Thank You,
Megan Jarrett
GM,HIE Lewisburg/New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    46
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
24
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had a King suite, which was really just a room with a king size bed and sofa bed. Flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave were nice for the weekend. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom was smallish with no rack to hang towels. Was informed by the front desk that the bathrooms had been recently renovated and they had not replaced the towel racks. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, etc. The best part was the cinnamon buns they kept in a warmer. They were really good! The hotel allows dogs at a fee of $20 per night. But since we got a nice rate for the weekend, it was not too bad a deal. The hotel is easy to find, but the road leading up to it has lots of pot holes left from construction, I guess. We would stay here again,

Room Tip: All the pet rooms are on the first floor. Easy access to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Dogsmom, I would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express New Columbia and I appreciate your kind words in regards to our newly renovated rooms. I am glad you found our breakfast bar to be rather enjoyable and the cinnamon buns an extra perk to breakfast! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times in the last 4 years.Our last visit,we noticed they had renovated the lobby and dining area. Rooms are clean and have also been recently updated.
Good value for the price. Nice breakfast served in the mornings. Indoor pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeabreezeNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear SeabreezeNH:

Thank you so much for your time in reviewing our hotel. We greatly appreciate you staying with us in the Lewisburg/New Columbia area. Also, thank you very much for finding value in your stay with our newly remodeled hotel! It's great to hear positive remarks from our repeat guests, and certainly look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank You,
Management
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our niece and nephews on our trip to Knoebels Amusement Park. Holiday Inn Express is one of my first choices for short trips, usually b/c they are clean, have a good breakfast, and are a good value for the money. The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel was presentable (some construction), albeit small. The desk clerk greeted me with a smile, and was happy to assist with our needs. After dinner (which you'll need to travel), we all went to the pool, which was small. There were a lot of people staying that night, so the pool was crowded. In the morning, they provided a hot, delicious breakfast with many different choices, which I thought was the redeeming quality of the hotel. Unfortunately, the breakfast area was extremely small for the amount of people, and there is essentially no lobby. Either go early if there are many guests or plan to eat in your room. If you are planning to stay in the immediate area, I would recommend the hotel for comfort and breakfast. I would not stay here again if I was going to Knoebels - the hotel is too far (my fault for exploring more). Overall, my experience at this hotel was average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachB_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your kind words directed towards our hotel and our brand Holiday Inn Express. We take pride in our rooms being clean and our hotel having value that a leisure traveler or business traveler can appreciate. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast bar, and had time to enjoy our indoor pool.

However, I wanted to apologize that you felt our breakfast area was too small. Our breakfast area seats 40, but can get busy when our hotel is sold out. Some options we offer include opening up our meeting room, which adds about 10 additional seats and even offer to go bags or trays to take breakfast "to-go." We certainly hope to see you again when you travel through the area.


Thank You,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

My son and I saw multiple bugs on the bed and in the room after returning in the evening. We brought a dead one to the night clerk at the front desk. We immediately asked to check out and for a refund of our money. The night clerk refused the refund, saying that we would have to talk to the general manager in the morning. At 11pm we had to find a new hotel. The next day, we asked the general manager for a refund, explaining the situation. She also refused. We wanted to share our experience so that others would not stay here...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank symdevco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Unclean and poor management:

Dear Guest:

First, I'd like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your check-in at our hotel; I can assure you we are a very clean hotel, and take any bugs very seriously. Second, after having the room thoroughly inspected by our pest management company we (they) did not find any bugs in that room. Finally, I would like to emphasize that when you book through a third party booking agent (Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels, Priceline, etc.) you are paying that website direct at the time of booking, then that respective agent pays us when you actually check in.

We cannot refund your card immediately because we did not charge you to begin with. We can only authorize the third party booking agent to refund you, and once we agree to refund the agent. This may take a day or two extra due to a third party being involved. Had you booked direct through the hotel (HIExpress.com or 1-800-HOLIDAY) we would have been able to refund your card immediately. If you have any additional concerns, please feel free to contact us.



Thank You,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

A complete rip off. The price is way to high, staff arrogant and rude when you complain. There is no reason for the room rate to be >125.00. plus, the housekeeping staff leave envelopes soliciting tips for simply doing their job. I would not stay there again and would encourage everyone to just drive a little further and find somewhere else.

And when I complained they simply said, "dont come back"...guess they dont understand that the customer is right.

Room Tip: Drvie a few miles and go anywhere else but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n8qxfcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Mr. Carlson:

We appreciate all our guest reviews on TripAdvisor, but we strongly stand by our pricing structure and feel it's appropriate for the area and for our hotel. We understand you will not stay here again due to our rate being in the $120's for midsummer 2011, and I hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs at a rate you're willing to pay.

Also, our ownership asked you not to visit our property due to the inappropriate language used when expressing your issue with the rates. We always accept constructive criticism and are glad to improve our service based on our guests views.


Thank You,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

The hotel doesn't look very old, however, they were remodeling the lobby area. The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast selection was above average. If you are traveling along Route 80 or visiting Bucknell, I would check this hotel out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for your kind words regarding our Holiday Inn Express in New Columbia, PA serving the Lewisburg and Williamsport areas. I would also like to thank you for noticing our efforts to improve our facilities and join the thousands of other "Re Launched" Holiday Inn Express Hotels; our remodeling project is slated to be completed by mid fall 2011. We hope you will visit our hotel anytime you are in the area, whether travelling on 80 or visiting Bucknell!

Thank You,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express New Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Columbia
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in New Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lewisburg
6.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Cupboard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#3 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
24.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Selinsgrove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Address: 160 Commerce Park, New Columbia, PA 17856-9580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have exciting news! The Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia has completed its comprehensive 1.5-million dollar renovation and recently joined as an "Official Hotel Partner" of Bucknell University Athletics’! Located in a quiet, rural setting, this superb hotel has re-established itself as the premier choice of corporate travelers. The updated lobby concept takes a new twist on the traditional feel, incorporating rich colors and that home-like feel. Our guestrooms feature a fresh, contemporary design, striking a delicate balance between comfort and efficiency. Additional room features include new flooring and wall coverings, comfortable furnishings, our Simply Smart Bedding, soothing lighting, and 32-inch High Definition LCD flat screen TV’s. Our redesigned accommodations are also ideal for family vacations and group getaways. Our Holiday Inn Express is the Place to Stay for Business Centrally located and convenient for business travelers to commute to many local businesses/attractions - Bucknell University - ConAgra - Oil States Energy - Marcellus Shale - Norfolk Southern Railways Relax and explore the Lewisburg/South Williamsport Area Guests enjoy a variety of things to see and do. From cultural activities to family-fun, our Holiday Inn Express puts you close to many entertaining attractions - Knoebels Amusement Resort - Reptiland - Little League World Series Stadium/Museum - Woodward Camp - Museums/Art Galleries - Antiques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia Hotel New Columbia
Holiday Inn New Columbia
New Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing