We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend here in August. Our room was on the second floor with two queen beds. The first thing I noticed were how disgusting and stained the curtains were. Other than that, the room was okay. The bed was not very comfortable, though. Noise was not an issue. The bathroom was okay but hideous and outdated. The complementary breakfast was standard- eggs, sausage, waffle machine, cereal, etc. The pool was always crowded. The gym sucked. Only two of the five machines worked and the TV did not at all. Staff was friendly. One major plus is the Garlic Poet restaurant in the hotel. We will likely not stay here again but maybe the Best Western down the street.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Assistant General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our guests, whether it is positive or negative. I will be happy to look into the issues you had to correct them for other guests. All of the physical issues with the rooms are being addressed in a massive renovation project we will be beginning in the very near future. We hope you can come back and see our improvements when they are completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We are wedding photographers who were doing an out of town wedding and booked this hotel on the advice of the families. We made our reservation online about two weeks prior to the wedding and requested early check in on the special instructions part of the form. We arrived about 11:30 am and the woman at the desk greeted us and got us checked in. She was super helpful and pleasant. We drove around to our room entrance and were able to get ourselves prepared for the wedding. The room was clean and as described. It was quiet at night and in the morning (we slept a little late). I gave it four stars because there are some areas that could use some updating. A few tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the door leading to the parking lot looked damaged (even though it was not). All told we were satisfied and the pleasant greeting and helpfulness of the staff was appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Assistant General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I am happy to hear you had a satisfactory stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear about our friendly staff going above and beyond to be "super helpful" as you said.
We hope you find a reason to come back to the area and consider being our guests again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I have stayed at this clarion many times this year.. the staff is great! The hotel restaurant is excellent with great staff as well. Pool are is very nice.. the breakfast is great.. looking forward to staying again. Thanks clarion for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karen54311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Assistant General manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I am so happy to know that you are pleased with your stays here at the Clarion. It is nice to know that you found so many reasons to make us your hotel of choice when you are in the Harrisburg and Hershey area. Thanks for your repeat business. I appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Our mother fell ill in January and have stayed here for our trips back home to her. Staff have been very accommodating! Thanks for helping us during our difficult time. Looking forward to seeing the remodel, good luck to you

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Tana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We went for a Saturday till Monday trip. The prices were normal. The pool was awesome and the morning breakfast was great. It is all centrally located so no 5 minutes of walking for coffee and eggs. Looks great too. There are a bunch of restaurants like 400 ft from the hotel. Giant is like 2 miles down the road. Kids and wife enjoyed staying there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank slharvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This place needs a renovation bad. The place is old and is competing with newer hotels in the area. Great location. Great pool. Great staff. Good restaurant. Room was old. Clean but old.

The showers had no place for your soap. Odd, right! In my coworker's room the small luggage holder was nasty. No ESPN but they two HBO channels go figure.

I would stay again in a crunch. Not first choice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank familyguy30281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Assistant General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We understand your feelings when you say that we need a renovation and I am happy to report that we are in the early stages of it. Our new ownership has already taken care of painting the exterior of the hotel and repaving the parking lot. We will be starting our room renovations very soon. And I am happy to report that we have a new HD Channel Lineup which includes 4 channels from the ESPN family of stations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are nice and the staff will do anything to see that the customer is taken care of. This hotel is underrated on the Choice Hotels website. The website does not state that they serve breakfast, but they do and have the nicest breakfast of any Choice hotels that I have stayed t in the last 15 years. The website states that they have room service and they do not. Room service is the last thing that I want as a traveler. They do have 2 nice restaurants on site and many other restaurants within 1/4 mile. The price is also very good on this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. It is a beautiful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Clarion experience. I am glad to hear that our staff took such good care of you during your visit. I also appreciate that you let us know about the erroneous information you discovered on our website and I will work on getting that corrected. We hope you have a reason to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
7.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
325 reviews
25.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Grantville
356 reviews
8.4 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: $87 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing