We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for :-)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron Burr House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aaron Burr House
Ranked #11 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for :-)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for night on a weekend. Not a bad place at all. Finding a B & B in New Hope who would take a one night reservation on a weekend in the summer is a chore in and of itself let alone at the last minute. The room was clean, it was furnished as
typical B & B's are; it is not my personal style but neither are most hotel rooms. We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back of the building - very quiet. Had a private bathroom with a tub, a kitchenette at our disposal. When saying you get what you pay for - we spent under $210 with tax for the night - so we were not expecting the same amenities or decor of a $400 a night room. You don't book a Hampton Inn and expect the Ritz Carlton. So if you have some grand expectation of what a typical B & B is - you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a comfortable, inviting, clean B & B as your home base in New Hope for an evening of fun, look no further.

Room Tip: if you want a bigger bathroom, pay for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKS4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Aaron Burr House is part of a bed and breakfast duo in New Hope. It's very close to the village center - 10 minutes walk. I particularly liked the third floor, which has a low ceiling and cozy feel. This is NOT the floor to stay on if you are close to six feet tall, but for people who are 5'8" and under, it's an interesting and memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you're short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seantcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for a three day getaway. Nothing spectacular or that stands out about the place except the staff was extremely nice. Had breakfast at Wedgewood first morning and it was really good. The room was small and outdated but served it purpose for turning in at the end of each night. The price was a bargain for New Hope. I don't think I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joujoukim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

ranks with the worst holiday experiences of my life. great location and a historic house, but the whole place needs ripping apart internally and fixing. bathrooms that you cant swing a cat in, appallingly noisy both from outside, and other rooms, mouse crap in beds, a decomposing rodent in a trap under the sink in the communal kitchen, and everywhere you look, cupboards full of crap. old tools, old food, unspeakable un-named liquids.... bad enough if you were paying a few dollars in eastern europe but the prices charged make this an outrageously bad experience. the owners should be ashamed. its puzzling as breakfast, served in the wedgwood house across the street was okay. Although the owners reaction to being told of dead mice suggested it didnt come as a huge surprise. avoid at all costs

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London_EnglandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here since it was one of the only places that accommodated three people and would have rather paid extra to have separate rooms somewhere else. Our "suite" wasn't even private, anyone could walk up the stairs to our bathroom and rooms. The furniture was old and dilapidated as was the bed linen. Our bathtub didn't even have hot water. Had a hard time sleeping due to the smell of moth balls in my little room. The carpets were dirty in the main house and did not feel comfortable at all. The only plus side was Lupe who was very accommodating and friendly. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Very disappointed for this price. Breakfast was inedible. There was an open, half empty bottle of dimestore generic shampoo in bathroom (for guests or forgotten?) The sink was extremely small - 6" deep, and the shower was equally too small (don't drop your razor). It seemed there were too many rooms carved into this house, and the bathrooms (water closet is more appropriate) were an afterthought. Not again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingduo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed this past weekend at Aaron Burr House for our Anniversary and enjoyed it very much. Yes, we heard cars but we were in room 5 facing the back. We heard motorcycle hogs too but you hear that annoying sound all over New Hope so you certainly can't blame the Inn for that. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay very much. The location was great and could not have been better. We walked to the Bucks County Theatre and to the Mansion Inn Restaurant for a great evening out. Breakfast was nice and we really enjoyed breakfast in our room but the breakfast could have offered a little more considering the prices charged. We have seen more breakfast choices at chain hotels charging half the price.

The rooms and house were very nicely decorated. The room was clean but cold. Our room had a gas fireplace that helped but it was still chilly. No TV's in the rooms. The handle to the bathroom was broken but if you read the room diary you will learn it has been broken since 2003. I would likely return if we ever were in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jersey2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.9 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
15.1 km away
The Temperance House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
0.3 km away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.9 km away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Burr House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Burr House

Property: Aaron Burr House
Address: New Hope, PA 18938
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing