We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards are falling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 North East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a Valentines Getaway, in the Riesling suite. It was our second stay at the inn, and sadly the rooms are starting to look shabby. the wall paper was peeling in several locations, the decor was sparse and what was there was not arranged comfortably. The refrigerator, and coffee service was in the bathroom! We had to keep the blinds drawn the whole time because there are no curtains and anyone on the street could see right in to the toilet area. During our first stay the gentleman Inn Keeper was happy and friendly, really made us feel at ease. The lady Inn Keeper is NOT friendly. She acts like you are a trespasser and an irritation to her. We also live in a very old home and were looking at the woodwork in one of the common rooms, and she was brusque asking us what do you need. My husband replied he was interested in the style of window trim for our home and she rattled off the year of the house and walked away. All of that being said the hired staff was very nice and tried to put you at ease, the housekeeper must work very hard, because the place is super clean, and the breakfast hostess is bubbly and helpful.
All told we would not stay again, which is too bad because the location is central to many wineries and the antique shops in town are great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hobbyfarmerinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Grape Arbor by way of their LivingSocial deal package, which included a couple of nights, a free in-room massage, a bottle of local wine, a wine country coupon "passport" book (with some really good offers, actually), and a couple of winery perks like a private tour at one and some wine pairings at another. One of the best deals I've seen offered. We were in the Reisling Suite, which is in a restored second building next door to the main B&B. The restoration appeared to have been done several years ago, and there hadn't been an excessive amount of work done on our suite--original wood floors were refinished, but it still retains radiator heating and old (repainted) single-pane windows. The period decor was nice, with grape and floral themes, although there were a few minor spots of peeling paint and wallpaper. Thumbs up for decent wi-fi, thumbs down for an old CRT TV w/ VHS/DVD combo player...no reason not to upgrade those. If we had one small issue with the suite, it was probably the noise. Freight trains are constantly passing nearby, and the thin windows make the train horns hard to miss; some may say the same about the traffic. Having lived in a home with similar conditions in the past, it certainly didn't disturb our sleep.

The breakfasts were very tasty, although nothing exceedingly creative or exotic. I will say that the baked goods were excellent--our first morning we had a blueberry & cranberry gingerbread that was outstanding, and we always grabbed a few of the freshly baked ginger spice cookies (they'll give you the recipe if you ask) from the cookie jar on our way through.

If you've never been to the North East area, it's exciting to see the wine country starting to bloom, with most of the prominent wineries having been established in the last 10-15 years. With that said, you might expect to find an upscale restaurant or two in the area. You won't :). The nearby eateries like Bova, Johnny B's, and the Freeport Restaurant aren't bad, they're just your typical non-descript, small town greasy spoons. If you want even a decent chain restaurant you'll have to venture 20 minutes west to Erie, which wasn't too big an issue for us. One of our favorite nicer restaurants--Sapore in nearby Westfield, NY--is closing soon because they can't weather the slow winter business climate. To say wintertime is slow for the area is an understatement, but it's actually a great time to visit the wineries, because the owners and staff have plenty of time to give you their full attention and chat during tastings, which was one of the highlights of our visit, actually, we met some neat folks and learned a lot about less common wine varieties, etc. Here's hoping they continue to develop more off-season attractions to boost area tourism.

Finally, we met the innkeeper Peggy only once in passing when she asked if she could help with recommendations for places to visit in the area...we didn't realize it was her until later. She seemed nice, and it would have been nice to be formally introduced. The one other staff member that we interacted with during our stay was always very friendly and accommodating.

We'd stay at the Grape Arbor again without question--we had a really fun weekend away from the kids and we'll be watching for another off-season package deal like this one. With a bit more attention to the little details and some luxurious extra touches, they're certainly within reach of a 5 out of 5 from us.

Room Tip: Some rooms/suite have whirlpool tubs...ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peghauser, Owner at Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are so happy that our Living Social guests were pleased with the Grape Arbor! We cater to a wide range of guests and find that they love our library of movies to watch in our DVD/VCR players. Similarly, since we host such an array of people, we aim to please everyone with our home style cooking. We hope to see you for your next escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We purchased a 2-night stay through Living Social which also included visits and tastings at two wineries and a one hour massage for one person. We didn't really know what to expect, but we can now say the Innkeeper, Peggy, has set the bar pretty high for us from here on out! The Grape Arbor is two historic houses in the beautiful town of North East, PA. North East is on the coast of Lake Erie and is in the heart of Pennsylvania wine country. When we checked in, we were met by a very pleasant staff member who got us through the paper work and gave us a tour of the house. We were totally taken with how beautifully decorated for Christmas the house was. Each room had it's own theme and each could have been a picture right out of the Christmas Ideals magazine. We stayed in the Isabella Room on the first floor of the main house. The room was large and had a temperature controlled gas fireplace. The king-size bed was comfy and we slept like logs. Each morning we had a marvelous breakfast Peg prepared for us. The first morning we had fresh-baked, sour-cherry muffins, homemade waffles and bacon, fresh fruit, home baked pumpkin bread, juice and coffee. The second morning we had homemade cranberry scones, a bacon and egg frittata, honey-roasted pears with pomegranate and a light whipped cream. Everything was delicious! Peggy told us she loves to bake and you can really tell. Another secret is that there is a cookie jar that Peggy keeps filled with fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies all day. It's hard to walk by and not take one (or two!)

If you do decide to stay, go with the understanding why it's important to observe the times for check-in between 3 and 6. Keep in mind that this is a home and not a hotel and the inkeeper's job has to be done at certain times.

We just can't say enough about our stay. If you're looking for a really nice b and b experience, you should consider The Grape Arbor.

We'll be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Neither my fiancee' or myself had ever had the pleasure of staying at a bed and breakfast so I was more than excited for our stay after purchasing this deal through Living Social. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!! Breakfast was filling and very delicious each morning. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Owner and staff were excellent, no complaints at ALL! We had the pleasure of meeting the mayor of North East, PA at a local bar and even he had nothing but great things to say about Grape Arbor!!! Loved this experience and will be returning soon with friends! Perfect place to stay in wine country.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Grape Arbor B & B is really a lovely place, which is too bad, because our experience with the innkeeper was so negative that I would not recommend this B & B to anyone. We had a long drive to the B & B and I called on our way to inform the innkeeper, Peggy, of our arrival and to ask about the check-in process. Peggy basically chewed me out on the phone, informing me that she had already told me the check-in times and that she wouldn't be available at the time we would arrive. I was extremely apologetic, and I take total responsibility for neglecting to call in advance. I would certainly expect some annoyance, but Peggy was patently aggressive. I offered to have a family member check in for us during the prescribed check-in hours, which she refused. I spent the next three hours dreading our arrival to the B & B.
Our room was lovely, and we enjoyed the house and the amenities (coffee machines, excellent Wi-Fi). However, we left the "do not disturb" sign on our door and it was ignored twice (once while I was in the shower, when the cleaning woman came in and began to strip the bed!) We only ate breakfast one day during our stay, and we found the food and service mediocre at best. We definitely won't be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peghauser, Owner at Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

The staff at Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast strives to meet the needs of all of their wonderful guests. In this situation, regardless of our every effort to accommodate schedules, dietary restraints, and more, even the best of efforts were not acceptable. Please read all of our other great reviews on this site and BedandBreakfast.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I booked the Isabella room for Thanksgiving weekend. Everything was very nice and clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Was a nice place to stay if you could get past the innkeepers rudeness!!!!! We arrived a few minutes early, as we were told you must checkin only between 3-6, we wanted to go to Erie.This threw her into such a tizzy,we recieved her lecture about check in times. Had she not had my credit card number, I would have told her to keep her room. That put a sour taste in my mouth for the rest of our stay. Upon checking out, there was no "I hope you enjoyed your stay,or anything else for that matter!! I think Peg is in the wrong businees. Sometimes personality does matter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank candy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in the Concord room for two nights. The room is comfortable with plenty of space to relax. The queen size bed was very comfortable with quality bedding. The bathroom with this room is very small, including the shower. The bathroom also needed a little bit of work. The room is served by a window AC unit, which seemed to struggle with circulating the air. We were able to open a window in the evening, and had no problems as the nights were cool and comfortable. However, we wondered what we would do if it was a muggy night. Some of the other rooms where our travelling party were staying seemed to have larger and updated bathrooms, and we would likely choose another room on our next stay.

The breakfasts were outstanding with fresh breads, fruit and entrees. Several other people from our party were staying at the Grape Arbor, and the hostess was very accommodating in seating and serving us all together in the dining room.

The overall décor of the house was beautiful and well maintained. The town of North East is a quiet, quaint and safe area that seems like a throwback to the way American towns used to be.

Noise was not a problem. Our room faced the main street and we slept with a window open. The traffic is non-existent from 8:00 p.m. to about 8:00 a.m. and the train whistles are at least 1/2 mile away. It possibly could be a problem for very light and sensitive sleepers.

We were in town for a family reunion, and did not want to stay at a chain motel. The Grape Arbor was a wonderful and unique alternative that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandRena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
18.9 km away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
296 reviews
23.3 km away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
11.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
16.1 km away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Harborcreek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 51 E Main St, North East, PA 16428-1340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > North East
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North East
Price Range: $156 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Victorian-era buildings in a small town setting, just minutes off Rt 90. The suites are spacious and include a large separate living room/parlor and large bathrooms, several with jacuzzis. All rooms have private baths, TVs, and free wifi access.The Grape Arbor is reknowned for home made bountiful breakfast with local ingredients from our many local farmers and growers. Let us help you escape to another time and refresh and renew! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Grape Arbor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing