We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate - clean - plain - no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palmyra
VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate - clean - plain - no frills”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked this in May for a local lacrosse tournament in July 2009, before some of the most recent awful reviews were posted. Based upon those reviews we were expecting the worst, but it was too late to re-book anything else. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was fine - very clean. Looked like it had been updated recently - re painted, newer furniture, new bathroom counters, and small relatively new refrigerator in room. A/C worked great, no unusual smells. Small pool out front was perfect for kids. Hotel is very bare, nothing fancy. If you are just looking for a place to sleep - this will due. It may depend upon what room your are assigned ... so recommend you check out your room first.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
33
10
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I had booked two rooms for a 2-star motel and I only got to pick the area (not the actual property). I had to pay up front $146 for two rooms (including tax). When we arrived and checked in we were given keys and checked out the rooms. We couldn't get over the smell in the rooms (old & musty). We refused to stay in the rooms because they didn't meet our quality expectations (all we needed were two upscale economy rooms). If it wasn't for the smell, we probably would have stayed even though we were upset with the conditions promised to us (two stars).
This motel has a few rooms being added on to the end which may be nice but weren't completed yet. The rest of the motel is dated to the pre-interstate system and looks like a 1950's type roadside motel that would have been lower than my families standards back in the early 1970's when I travelled as a child with my family. It is not up to the standards of ANY of the chain motels/hotels in this country. The manager at the motel and the reservation service we used would not refund our money so this is just a wake-up call to anyone willing to accept a rating system for a unknown motel...buyer beware!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWHEFIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmyra hotels

VirginiaJoyce
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Room had a terrible musty, moldy smell. 1 bed had a large stain on the sheet and the sheet was torn (had it ever been changed?), the other bed had an unidentifiable stain on sheet also, pillow cases were dirty, hairs in the bathroom . I left without getting a refund. Should I say more?

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

As we were settling down for the night, right above our head crawling along the ceiling was a huge brown bug. Not sure what kind, but I just knew I couldn't sleep in that room....even if my husband had squished it for me. Because, as my grandmother would say, where there's one, there's more....especially, once you turn out the lights!!
We had only been in the room 1/2 hour but had checked in 5 hours earlier before we went to the viewing of our deceased aunt.
We decided to go to a national hotel chain since it was already midnight and we needed a good night's sleep for the funeral in the morning.
Unfortunately, the owner who was on desk duty that night said he could not refund our money since we had been registered for over 5 hours, regardless of the fact that we had only been in the room for 30 minutes before we found the BUG!!!
He said that it was a flying bug that flew in when we opened the door. He never even saw the bug, and I can tell you it was not a little flying bug - it was a huge, inch long creepy crawly thing.
From now on, we will NOT register BEFORE we go to an event. We thought this was a good idea to get our luggage in the room and suits hanging up so that they would be fresh for the funeral. Next time, we'll wait and register when we're able to thoroughly inspect a room to make sure it has no BUGS!!!
I also don't appreciate the tone the owner took with us and the fact that he did not believe us that the bug was not a flying bug that flew in when we opened the door....
For a business that should rely on customer service and customer satisfaction, he was not forthcoming in either.
I would look elsewhere if you are looking for a bug-free stay....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkingpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I must travel to Lebanon yearly in August for a trade show at the Lebanon expo center. The few hotels in Lebanon are beyond horrendous, so this year we decided to seek lodging in the farther lying regions. We chose the Palmyra by reading reviews on Trip Advisor, it was not outrageously expensive as many of the "close to Hershey" hotels are, and it wasn't offensively nasty.

We were a little worried when first shown our King room, it was tiny, stinky and airless, but the second room with 2 queen beds was more acceptable, larger and not reeking like a long unopened tomb.

Once we got settled we began to enjoy the old fashionedness of the hotel setting and the charm in the location. You can sit in the evenings in front of your room in the plastic chairs and watch kids play in the pool. The Palmyrans are quite friendly as you pass through the streets of the historic town; they sit on their front porches and greet you. There are plenty of decent restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

The hotel itslef is a single story drive up, making it so simple to toss your stuff directly into the rooms from your car and then out again. The shower was consitantly hot with a good steady stream. On the nights the hotel was packed, once we closed the door we couldn't hear the celebrations going on in the parking lot and in the other rooms- very good insulation.

The drive to the Lebanon Expo center did take about 20 minutes each was, but was so pleasantly scenic with the lovely countryside and historic villages that we didn't mind the distance at all.

  • Liked — the "je ne sais pas quoi " relaxing quality the place has
  • Disliked — the windows in the room don't open and the aircon barely cuts the humidity
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank coando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

The Palmyra Motel had the best rate available for our stay within a reasonable distance from Hershey Park.. The rooms had been recently renovated and were clean and comfortable. The decor is nothing spectacular, but the bed gave a good night's sleep. The mini fridge provided was an unexpected bonus (great for keeping our beer cold!). The bathroom was very clean, as was the separate vanity area. The one drawback I would mention is the fairly low shower head (we're about 5'5" and could just fit under). Water pressure was great, the head just set a bit low.

Staff at the desk were friendly and very accommodating with requests (extra towels for the pool were given promptly). The room was always cleaned by the time we returned for our afternoon break from the amusement park. The cleaning staff noticed that we used the extra towels and made sure that we had plenty for the rest of our stay.

The pool was a welcome relief on our arrival day! The pool itself was very clean and inviting. The pool area could have used some new cushions on the chaise lounges (the cushions were a bit mildewy), but there were plenty of plastic chairs for seating.

Lunch on both days of our stay consisted of the BEST Italian cold cut subs from the nearby pizzeria, Palermo's II (1515 E Chocolate Ave). Absolutely delicious!

Over all, we enjoyed an excellent weekend thanks in large part to having a comfortable room to call home after a tiring day at Hershey Park. Not paying a fortune was a huge bonus!

  • Liked — Lowest price for a comfortable, clean room.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyciemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We stayed at the Palmyra Motel from Aug. 21 to 23 for an end of Summer HersheyPark vacation. We were pleased with our stay. This is a one level Motel where you park in front of your room, and my husband joked that it was the "Bates Motel" the whole time we were there. The motel has undergone renovations and our room - a double queen - was clean, had new carpeting, and new mattresses. There is a small table, and a fridge - which was helpful. The bathroom was clean, new vanity and tiles and no mold or smells. There are plastic lawn chairs outside the room too. My only complaint about the room would be the towels, extraordinarily rough.

The heated pool was really great - clean, safety gated and there were pool toys available for the kids. Note: no lifeguards so you will need to stay with them. It runs from 3ft to 8ft so adults can have fun too. There were lounge chairs with new cushions and older metal type chairs which have seen better days. There are also umbrella tables so you can eat there if you choose.

The office stafff was pleasant, courteous, and helpful both when I made my reservations and while we were there. The office has a microwave and a coffeepot which guests are free to use as there is none in the rooms. (A coffeepot in the room would have gotten them 4 stars from me :-) )The local daily newspaper is also available. I did have to request an iron from them - no ironing board in room either.

There is a small restaurant on site - The Blue Moon Coffeehouse. We did not get to use it as it closes early during the week (2pm the sign said) . Our last day there we wanted to get breakfast but there was a sign read ing "Closed to take the boy to college...".

The Motel is right on RT 422 / Main Street and there are shopping centers to the left and right. There is a Walmart , Pizza Hut, chinese food, Arby's and a McDonalds all a block or two away. There is also a Friendly's a little drive away (3.99 breakfast - but the service was a little... unfriendly) and we also ate at Funcks Family Restaurant - good homestyle cooking and excellent service. Both are on 422/ Main Street on the way to Hershey.

Overall I was happy with my choice. We paid $99 a night for a spacious double queen room during the summer peak. It was very clean and quiet and we were in a great location - About five minutes to HersheyPark (which was great - the new Boardwalk area is fantastic!!! ). We did drive past the Dutch Motel Palmyra and it was very small and run down looking. It has two stories (that looked like they were leaning?) and both times we passed it, there were people sitting on the steps drinking with room doors open. I told my husband that THAT was the Bates Motel!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elphaba118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmyra
4.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey
8.3 km away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
5.0 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
8.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
10.5 km away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey

Property: Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey
Address: 1071 E Main St, Palmyra, PA 17078-9502 (Formerly Palmyra Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Palmyra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palmyra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Palmyra/Hershey Hotel Palmyra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing