We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting property, near the Ballpark”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at the Priory. Walking distance to the ballpark, downtown, Three Rivers Park. The rooms and breakfast were nice, and quiet. Our only regret is that we didn't have time for a drink at "Pittsburgh's Smallest Bar" off of the lobby.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, even though it's tucked away, so shoot for a higher room for views of down...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeniseMaryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for The Priory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

The Priory Hotel a beautiful and well-kept historic facility. The architecture is fascinating and the rooms spacious and very comfortable. More importantly, the staff of this independent hotel take pride in providing world class customer service. They are sincerely friendly and caring. They were even thoughtful enough to catch an error in our billing which was fixed at checkout. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We're grateful that you took time to share your thoughts with regard to your recent stay. We endeavor to make each guest's stay a memorable and comfortable one. I'll pass along your kind words to our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Stayed at the Priory for a weeding last weekend and had a great time. Friendly service, clean rooms, and amazing pastries for breakfast! Felt like I was in Europe. Parking is easy! Damar was great at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We appreciate your kind thoughts. Please stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Stayed at the Priory in room 400 for a family wedding 7/8. The room was fabulous. Spacious and extremely clean. Bed super comfy. Staff very accommodating when we asked for extra bedding for the roll away beds.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ktq555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be sure to let our team members know to keep up the good work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This was my first time staying at the Priory Hotel and has a truly fantastic experience. The nostalgic hotel had a charm and beauty of it own. The rooms were clean, quite and nicely decorated. The only thing more beautiful then the hotel were the helpful and experienced staff. I was in town for a wedding reception held at the attached and elegant Grand Hall. Everything was first class to include the venues, the wonderful food, and attentive staff. I am looking forward to the opportunity to experience the Priory Hotel and Grand Hall again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks for your kind words. We'll be sure to share your experience with our staff, and please be sure to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Spent this past weekend at the Priory Hotel while enjoying a beautiful wedding reception at the Grand Hall at the Priory. In a lovely inn in the city, the rooms were beautifully appointed, elegant, quiet and comfortable. The staff from front desk to the free shuttle driver were friendly and helpful. Monk's Bar off the lobby is a hidden gem- wonderfully friendly bartender and craft cocktails. Wedding cocktail hour in the Courtyard and reception in the Grand Hall- every bite was delicious, from appetizers to dinner to the wedding cake (cake from Priory Fine Pastry!) Great wedding weekend!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We needed to recharge our batteries so took a little 2 day trip to Pittsburgh. The place we originally wanted was booked so when we found the Priory it was a nice alternative. Boy, what a great find for us. The place is super clean. The room is very comfortable. But what really made the trip was the staff. They have a shuttle driver who knows where everyone is and a manager who makes sure the guests are safe. They really knock themselves out to help make your trip wonderful. We met several couples who are coming back and one who was even married there 20 years ago. They still loved the place. Nice little bar. Nice little breakfast. Charming place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynthea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We'll certainly pass along your comments to our staff, and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 km away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,206 reviews
1.0 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.6 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $141 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing