We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old World Charm !”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

While visiting The Priory Hotel on a business consultation I was very impressed with the quaint European flair and the 19th century feeling of warmth and charm. The beautiful Grand Hall has wonderful architecture and an expansive great atmosphere. I met with Courtney the event co-ordinator and she was very pleasant, professional and a real attribute to my visit. - John L. Photographer

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for The Priory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Great B&B excellent - friendly staff - the courtyard and attached Grand Hall were a real surprise. The staff served us a nice cheese and meat tray -- and drinks in the courtyard. Gave us a tour of the grand hall -- all built in 1800's.
It was the rectory of Benedictine monks - rooms were nicely done - could use some refreshing but clean and comfortable.
Ask for a room overlooking the city or the courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This was a wonderful historic hotel, staff was very helpful, rooms were clean , all rooms were historic lots of light, parking was available,Breakfast was the old German plenty of baked goods. Mons bar was delightful, the halls were like a museum. Loved it

Room Tip: all were good
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beachy792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This beautiful hotel, on a quiet street, is not in the heart of the city but it doesn't have to be because of the wonderful shuttle service they run. It goes to most places you would want to go to and picks you up too. The front desk staff is very helpful and will make restaurant reservations for you.
Only a 10-15 minute walk away is the Andy Warhol museum. The only place they come up short is the breakfast they serve---quite average.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

It's an older building, but it has all kinds of character. It is located in the middle of everything and they will shuttle you nearly anywhere you want to go. This is the only hotel that my wife and I will hang out at the bar. We stay here whenever we go toPittsburgh. It feels like home.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel: historic, charming rooms, very friendly staff, and a location that isn't where I typically stay in Pittsburgh but turned out to be within walking distance of all kinds of interesting things including Allegheny City Brewing.
Of note to cyclists, this hotel is bike-friendly and allowed us to store our bikes in our room rather than on the external rack of our car, which could've been a theft risk since their parking is outdoor and a bit offsite. We really appreciate that level of care when traveling!
The intimate little bar serves quality beers as well.
A great find, and I'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flylittlepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at the Priory. Walking distance to the ballpark, downtown, Three Rivers Park. The rooms and breakfast were nice, and quiet. Our only regret is that we didn't have time for a drink at "Pittsburgh's Smallest Bar" off of the lobby.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, even though it's tucked away, so shoot for a higher room for views of down...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeniseMaryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 km away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,192 reviews
1.0 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.6 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $141 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing