We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey.”

Hokkaido Seafood Buffet
Ranked #369 of 2,428 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 29, 2017

They have a pretty nice selection here. My only complaints are that the shrimp are very poorly deveined and the crab legs are VERY tiny and slow to be replaced. The Buffett is pretty pricey....especially on a Sunday. It is over 18.00 no matter what time you go and it doesn't matter that you didn't eat crab legs. Normally service is good, this time it was not. The food is always fresh, lots of sushi options to choose from, steaks are always very tasty!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triptse, Guest Relations Manager at Hokkaido Seafood Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi.
Thanks for loving our place and food, can't wait to see you soon again, have a nice trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2017

Asian buffets are quite common. but if you're looking for an above average selection and quality this is the place. A bit over priced for dinner but a bargain for lunch. The sushi is fresh and constant being refreshed by several sushi chefs. A variety of soups and both hot and cold appetizers from kimchi to chicken feet. All you typical Chinese buffet selections and a hibachi for custom selections grilled while you wait. Jif you just go for the sushi, you'll get your money's worth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triptse, Guest Relations Manager at Hokkaido Seafood Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi.
Thanks for loving our food and leaving your great experience this time, can't wait to see you again, have a nice trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

My friends & I were tired of going to other restaurants & watching to see when the crab legs came out. That's no fun. Who wants to fight for crab legs? This place rarely has any empty bin of anything. Keep that seafood coming!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank diamamda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triptse, Guest Relations Manager at Hokkaido Seafood Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi.
Thanks for loving our food and leaving your great experience this time, can't wait to see you again, have a nice trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017

This Japanese/Asian American buffet is a great (lunch) value for the quality of food. There are many places in Pittsburgh to get really top notch sushi (Ginza!) and pay a bit more for it. The food here is not top notch, it’s an 7 out of 10 but for about $10 for an all-you-can-eat lunch...

For a while this past year Hokkaido tried to cheapen their sushi, less filling, more rice, fewer specialty options. As well around that time their cheesy Asian pop themed music took a turn for the worse and became cheesy Christian pop music. I recall a song about ‘Jesus’ and ‘drinking the blood of the lamb.’ I don’t like religious music and certainly not songs about blood while I try to eat any more than a Christian wants to sit and here songs about women dancing with joy after getting a bloody abortion. C’mon, Hokkaido!!

So I stopped going for six months. I tried recently again and the sushi is better like it used to be. But still the constant Christian music. And being located close enough to Homestead there are occasionally families there that try to bag some of the food despite being watched like a hawk by the staff. They always get caught!

I just saw that another sushi buffet has recently opened near Big Lots on McKnight road much closer to where I live. They have Hibachi and a bar! If it’s good and doesn’t play crap music, I’m game!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triptse, Guest Relations Manager at Hokkaido Seafood Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi.
Thanks for loving our food and leaving your feedback, we will continue to do better, and can't wait to see you again, have a nice trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2016

I'm sure they missed some kinds of seafood but there are so many choices that it is difficult to see what might be missing. The cold items are best because the hot items tend to be overcooked unless you get them when they are first put out. I would say that we enjoyed going to Hokkaido once, but it will be a while before we go back. Others appear to go on a regular basis because it is a lot of pretty good food at a reasonable price.

It is not great food - but that is not what we expect from a buffet. It is good buffet food and as long as you adjust your expectations, you will probably really enjoy this buffet.

Thank profgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hokkaido Seafood Buffet also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Hokkaido Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing