We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking and Cheap. Not Great.”
Review of Duquesne Incline

Duquesne Incline
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Private Pittsburgh City Tour
Ranked #7 of 173 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scale Mount Washington in one of two original 1877 cable cars for a fun and unique ride and a breathtaking view of the Pittsburgh skyline when you reach the top of the 400-foot incline. Parking available across the street from our lower station at 1197 West Carson Street.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free Parking and Cheap. Not Great.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I really liked the experience of riding a historic cable car and was thrilled to find that it is one of VERY few places in Pittsburgh that offers free parking. However, the line was pretty long (and that was even with bad weather on a weekday) and the views from the top were nothing that you couldn't see by driving up there yourself. I also thought there would be more to do at the top, but there are only a handful of restaurants - and most of them are absurdly priced. We ended up in the basement of a bar so we could use their restroom. Not the best.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RachelB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,766
    921
    244
    37
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Such much history and fun”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had the pleasure of premiering with Wunderbaum in Pittsburgh in February 2012 but was so busy performing I didn't get chance to fully enjoy Pittsburgh. On a cold Saturday afternoon I had a few hours to spare so I took a taxi to the incline for a ride up the mountain to grab a bite to eat. The ride up was a little scary but it was fun and a great, yet inexpensive adventure. As soon as you get to the top of the mountain, there are reasonably priced restaurants on either side of the incline with beautiful views of Pittsburgh. The station at the top has the history of the incline as well as a gift shop with many items to commemorate your visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, wi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gotta ride it.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I won't spend much time because this is a must do Pburgh attraction. Simply put, the tram car inside takes you back to the past with beautiful wood paneling and the view projects you into the future of Pburgh with beautiful views of the city. A must see!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank keffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of Pittsburgh, fun conveyance.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great view of Pittsburgh. But, bring exact change, and they don't take credit cards.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rochmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McConnelsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Must do if your stopping in Pittsburgh! Kinda scary riding up and back down but worth the view

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duquesne Incline also viewed

 

Been to Duquesne Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing