We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Pittsburgh & don’t forget the gelato ”
Review of Mercurio's

Mercurio's
Ranked #88 of 2,429 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

This is a small restaurant on a busy Walnut St in the heart of Shadyside. Their pizza is a real Italian, thin crust pizza with fresh meats & cheeses. The pizza is cooked in a real wood-fired oven. If you’re looking for a thick crust forget & order from Dominos. This is the real deal. The pizza alone is worth a special trip. However, you have to try any of their salads or antipasto stock get the real flavor. For dessert, walk up to the gelato & make your choice. Lastly, don’t forget a good draft beer, say Perroni, straight from Italy. Oh, and the price—very inexpensive.

Only downside is that their staff can be a bit uneven but they’re all very earnest.

But this place is truly worth 5 stars.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank davidfI5944KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

Good pizza. Not amazing, but definitely good pizza in Pittsburgh. It is typically very busy so be prepared to wait in line.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Loved this place for its true Italian, crisp crust pizza and creamy gelato. The service was great for a family of 5. I had the Pizza Del Re with truffle spread and mushrooms and it was perfect. Light, crispy, cheesy and salty. I took the leftovers home and ate them cold for breakfast with the refrigerator door wide open. I also got the straciatella gelato Nd could have the entire bucket. I didn’t give five stars bc the line for the gelato wraps past the tables and it’s difficult to navigate. We also were seated next to the side door, and folks banged in and out all night. The server brought us the gelato so we didn’t have to wait in line. When I return to Pittsburgh in a couple months, this will be my first stop.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank shoesArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Went here on a double date and had a great time. The pizza dough was cooked perfectly and the ingredients were incredibly fresh and tasty. We also got gelatos and while they were more sugary than typical italian gelatos, they were still tasty. Great hole in the wall italian restaraunt.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank nwiest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We were there with a large group for dinner and gelato. My daughter and I split a margherita pizza. It was easily large enough for two - although others in our group ate whole ones by themselves. The pizza was okay - a little soggy in the middle but the crust was very good. They have oodles if flavors of gelato - I had the dulce de leche and it was awesome. I would go back again for the gelato but not for the pizza.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kaydfw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercurio's also viewed

 

Been to Mercurio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing