We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi”
Review of Umi

Umi
Reserve with OpenTable
Umi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #391 of 2,429 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Shadyside
Cross street: College Avenue
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

One of the best sushi places in Pittsburgh. The entire experience is excellent form the start to the end. I highly recommend it!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Roni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2016

Located somewhat obscurely on the third floor of Soba, Umi's sister restaurant, this is the finest upscale place in Pittsburgh for sushi. All of parent company Big Burrito's restaurants have a high standard, but at Umi one quickly forgets that it's part of a larger entity, as it's so chef-driven. It's my understanding that Umi is only open when Mr. Shu is there, which explains why it's only open five days a week and closes for a summer vacation. The Omakase option is simply awesome. There's an 11-course and seven-course option. I've only had the 11 and it's excellent. Some of the courses look similar to one another with two or three pieces of fish, but the tastes and preparations definitely differ. My only complaint about it is that I wish it would change more from time to time. As it is, many courses are the same each time (even many months apart), including the chef's spoons (lobster and kobe beef), rock shrimp tempura and miso cod, with some of the other course with pieces of fish varying. I've been told that the seven-course options is only the same, but that the 11 varies, presumably in those additional four courses. More frequent and drastic changes would certainly keep me coming back. The service is always totally on-point, regardless of servers, though Larry, who has worked there a long time tends to be popular. There's a great sake list as well. Make sure your wallet is full. Good things like this don't come cheap!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We had dinner in a party of four and the appetizers, sushi and main courses were all delicious. The food was very fresh, well prepared and great tasting.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2016

very fine dining ! good food ! you get what u pay for ! i recommend it........its been around an still strong !

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank carinahighlandpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

After having eaten at most of the best sushi restaurants in many major cities, including Philadelphia, Chicago, New York, San Francisco, Paris, and Rome, who would predict the best sushi dinner in my life was to be found in Shadyside, Pittsburgh.
I ordered the 11 course chef's omekase, and not a single plate was less than superb. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing