We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal!”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #452 of 2,429 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Shadyside
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Our food came out quickly, our waiter was very helpful with recommendations, and the food was delicious! We also appreciated nice portion sizes—enough food, but not over the top. I had the chicken with sweet and hot peppers—the meal was spicy, but not unbearable. Very good meal overall!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2018

I've been dining here since 2009, and the food never fails to disappoint. Lunch menu is great, with soup and rice included with every order. You can also order from the main menu at any time of day, and it is consistently delicious with fast service, hot tea brought upon sitting, and decent wine selection. They customize the food to the spice level you like, as well as creating dishes that aren't on the menu. In the mood for Sushi instead of Chinese? No problem. They will bring you the sushi menu and deliver the rolls in prompt service. The owners and staff are incredibly present, and it's no wonder this restaurant has been open for 30 years.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joumana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

very good teriyaki beef, beef with uno pease was savory. lo main a bit bland, but all mixed up made it delicious. will order again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

We have been looking for a good local Chinese restaurant since Jimmy Tsang's closed 10 years ago and, while we have found a nice spot here and there, we've had more misses than hits. We tried this restaurant because it is located next to a local Apple Store and had to have an iPad refurbished. Feeling we had nothing to lose, we tried it out. One word: Fantastic. The atmosphere was great. The wait staff was extremely attentive. The food was fabulous. The wonton soups were great. The eggrolls were great. The Honey Chicken was great. The General Tso's was great. The oranges with the fortune cookies at the end was a nice touch you don't see too often. We were served promptly, courteously, and treated to a very good meal. If you're in Shadyside or looking for a great Chinese restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

China Palace consistently provides solid Chinese food in Shadyside. The staff is excellent- very friendly and accommodating. The vegetarian won ton soup is especially delicious and they have many great vegetarian options. They are also open on Mondays, when many Shadyside restaurants are closed.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing