We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Friendship Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friendship Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very nice place to stay. Safe area and lots of interesting things going on. Very close to a Whole Foods Market, Starbucks and anything else you might be interested in. Excellent management. Highly recommend. I would have given it a 5, but the heat was set too high and control was not accessible to each room to customize temperature.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    56
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
48
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pecs, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was happy to find a place to stay close to the University Medical Campus for a reasonable price, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very comfortable, well-furnished and well-maintained. The friendly service and accessibility of the owner made it a great experience to stay here, and I would definitely stay here again. Dr. Alex

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My family and I enjoyed a great stay at the Friendship Suites in Pittsburgh last weekend. Mr. Cox was extremely helpful and flexible. Our travel plans were somewhat complicated, and he accomodated my husband arriving a night early (quite late at night) at the last minute. Moreover, he gave us complimentary upgrades on both rooms to suites. The location is great too, with restaurants (including vegan) and craft beer breweries within walking distance. Carnegie Mellon is only 2 miles away. I highly recommend the Friendship Suites!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and enjoyed our stay throughout the week. It was clean,spacious with nice decor inside and very comfortable. We enjoyed shopping for grocery at the nearby Giant Eagle and Whole Foods and cooking our meals in the apartment.
The price is reasonable and definitely value for money when compared to a room at the hotels.
We will stay at the Friendship Suites again whenever we visit my son who is studying in CMU .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiah-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We needed to visit our daughter for a couple of days to help her move into a smaller apartment which didn't have room in it for us to spend the night. I found the Friendship Suites and couldn't have been more pleased. The location was ideal for us, just a few blocks from our daughter's, grocery store, etc. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, quiet, and attractive. Having the little kitchen was a godsend and saved us quite a bit because we had no need for restaurants. We will definitely take advantage of this resource for as long as our daughter is in graduate school in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitofBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was a graduate student in Carnegie Mellon University(CMU). After the graduation, I had to stay Pittsburgh for one month. My friends recommended me Shadyside Inn; however, I found and chose Friendship Suites based on three main reasons.
First reason is the affordable price. Shadyside Inn offered discount price for students in CMU; however, it was 15% expensive than that of Friendship Suites at that time. Second reason is cleanliness of the room and the building. Final reason is the harmonized interior and equipments. I was satisfied with a room.
I strongly recommend Friendship Suites. If you stay, you will find out why Friendship Suites has high rating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokichi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My son is a student at CMU and we returned early to Pittsburgh, right after Christmas, so he could attend to some personal matters prior to school starting. Since we had close to two weeks, I was looking for something larger than a hotel room. I found the Friendship Suites and we booked the 2 br apartment. It exceeded our expectations and was, without a doubt, the warm and inviting home away from home we were hoping to find! It is beautifully furnished and updated, yet retains a characteristic charm. I ended up needing to leave a little early and the owner, Robert Cox, and his staff made me feel really comfortable leaving my son there alone until he could return to his dorm room. (I was certain he would lock himself out of the apartment at some point, most likely late at night!) To top things off, my son ended up able to move back to the dorms earlier than expected and Mr. Cox returned our payment for the unused nights!! Wow, we were challenging guests and he promptly and kindly put up with us. Mr. Cox is a great business owner, customer friendly and offers a wonderful product worth every penny you will pay. We will definitely stay at Friendship Suites whenever we are in Pitt. whether for just a weekend or for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaAnnAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Suites

Property: Friendship Suites
Address: 301 Stratford Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendship Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the excellent accommodations and sincere service at Friendship Suites, you'll check in as our guest and check out as our friend! We believe that traveling should be a truly great experience with affordable prices and quality service. Building a personal relationship with our guests is our priority. Should you have any concerns during your stay, we welcome you to contact the owner directly 24 hours a day! High prices can put a damper on anyone's plans so we keep our rates reasonable so you can focus on enjoying your stay. Friendship Suites offers the best value in Pittsburgh, up to 45% less than our competitors! Our apartments feature amenities like DIRECTV service and pay-per-view movies while our suites boast fully-equipped kitchens with cooking ranges, refrigerators, and deluxe towels. We also offer free local phone service, on-site laundry facilities, and easy access to public transportation to nearby universities, hospitals, and even the zoo. When you're looking for affordable accommodations and a personal touch, look no further than Pittsburgh's Friendship Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Friendship Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing