We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but okay for the purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Compact but okay for the purpose”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I found my standard-sized room on the first floor to be compact and just fine for the purpose of spending a night close to my client's office before an early morning meeting. In comparison to the compact room layout, the bathroom was quite spacious (it was a traditional hotel bathroom). The room was clean, everything worked and I slept well. Continental breakfast was acceptable. Again, very basic and nothing more. Overall, this was a super value and served my purpose well. If you are expecting something fancy, this is not it. This is simply an inexpensive roof over your head and nothing more.

Room Tip: I'd request a first floor room near the desk. There were marks that looked like forced entry on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    114
    167
    111
    99
See reviews for
203
123
62
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shippenville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good value. Our room with tax was $90 and change. It was the perfect choice for taking our son to the airport for his flight.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel situated between Pittsburg airport and downtown. It is in the shopping area with a couple malls, Costco, restaurants nearby so you won't go starving or bored. Typical of a Microtel, the room is small, cosy, and bright. Lots of lights make the room much more livable. The place was staffed by what appear to be an Indian family. They were nice and kept the place clean and well maintained. There's also laundry room on site. The only problem I have is a wasp nest on the outside of my window. Give the wet climate that they have it is not totally unexpected to see something like that.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The room was clean but I had a problem with the staff from the beginning. We flew out to Pittsburgh to see a Pirates game. When we went back downstairs from our room to ask questions about restaurants, the person behind the desk had the audacity to accuse me of having extra people in my room (There was only two of us). I spend my hard earned money at this hotel and I get accused of having five or six people in my room! How insulting!! I called for a wake up call the following morning and we end up waking up late because there was no wake up call and I barely made my flight back home. I left my cell phone in the room since we woke up late and were rushing to check out to catch our flight. It took them nearly a month to mail my cell phone back to me. Unacceptable!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel was very clean and quiet. I couldn't have asked for a better room! It was only about 15 minutes from the downtown area of Pittsburgh so it was in a perfect location.
Also, located next to Robinson Town Centre Mall. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Problems immediately started upon check in. The rep said my reservation could not be honored because the booking agency's (Kayak) credit card was turned down. When I asked him what we can do he and his manager both said that it wasn't THEIR problem. (Meanwhile I was checking in around 10PM and had no other options.) I then was told that I had to pay for an entirely new reservation at a higher price. They wouldn't honor the previous price even if I paid the reservation again. Then the agent ended up charging twice. The next day I noticed the double charge on my credit card and brought it to the front desk's attention. The morning agent refused to admit the double charge and told me to contact my bank as it must be their fault. She began to yell "That there is no way they are responsible!" After contacting my bank and confirming my suspicions, the front desk apologized and promised to send a fax clearing up the mess. A week later and I noticed that the charge is still on my account. It was never resolved. Now to move on beyond the front desk. The rooms look nothing like what they have on their websites. The rooms are antiquanted and in need of updating. Then while sleeping I was awakened by a call at 3 in the morning warning about carbon monoxide. I was told to get out of the room and warn everyone on my floor. Apparently it was a crank caller who was targeting guests in this particular motel. I had to disconnect my room phone. This was truly one of the worst stays I've ever experienced and I ended up paying far more that what I should have. In the end I could have stayed in a 3.5 star hotel for the same price. Bed were terrible, linens were poor, TV was poor and service was the worst I've ever experienced. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Just stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltheworldasone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
microtelpit, Manager at Econolodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
This customer booked on one day before online and
She wasn't called at hotel and next day when
She came she said I have reservation on yesterday
And I want to stay tonight I said your reservation through
Online so I suggest you to call online.our hotel policy is if you want to cancel
You have to call 24hrs prior 6pm.But in your case you book through online and
You have to called online.But customer want listened and she argued with us.
I said that we can do one thing today you want to stay that we can give to you good discount.
She said ok.I gave her room on 40% OFF.
I am unhappy for this customer that we are tried to help to our guest as much as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was reading other candidates review and surprised that for me all went smoothly in terms of cleaning, arrangement etc. I would like to say that overall it was really a good budget hotel. I stayed there for two days and got clean room, helpful staff and nice view from the room.

I don't think you can get a good hotel in 50-60 bucks near 10 mins drive from international airport which includes internet, breakfast etc. Moreover, there was a quite big shopping area (Target, Walmart etc) if you want to spend time and do the shopping.

I was quite satisfy with my choice and service offered by evening staff there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side are near to shopping center and quite sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econolodge Inn & Suites
Address: 900 Chauvet Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Microtel Inn And Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Microtel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing