We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lobby - friendly, top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful lobby - friendly, top notch”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hotels can be measured by the little things that they do right. For example, the little convenience store off the lobby is open until 10pm. Too many times ive stayed at hotels where this is closed when the sun goes down. The cleaning ladies are genuinely friendly, not just because they've been ordered to. You get the sense that the staff is glad that you are there.

No complaints, everything went well. Had a nice steak in the restaurant for dinner and an exceptional lunch.

I'm not a big fan of the OMNI chain but would make an exception the next time i'm in Pittsburgh. Paid around 130 for a nice sized room with two DBs.

Room Tip: Being an older hotel the rooms seem to all be convenient to the elevator core. No long hikes. Mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review of The Omni William Penn. We are thrilled to know that the little touches helped us to exceed your expectations. We will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,773
    892
    284
    109
    47
See reviews for
797
1,141
162
1,499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Trying to run a hotel in such an old building has its challenges but staff from door to floor is top rate. Two gret bars and restaurants . Prompt service

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primagerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed here several times for business and the place is always top-notch. Great food at the bar and restaurant. The place is a little pricey but it is very reliable. I like the location because almost the entire business district is within walking distance so you don't have to worry about catching a cab.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jer17842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your loyal patronage to The Omni William Penn and for your complimentary review. It has been our pleasure to provide you with top-notch accommodations and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have stayed in the past here for shows and sporting events. This past time nothing has changed. Room rate reasonable for downtown proximity to everything. 189 king plus tax. Downstairs you will find a Starbucks, beautiful dining area, usually live music or good music playing in the background. Helpful staff from curb to the room. I don't think I would stay somewhere else. Beds were comfortable, pillows as well, room equipped with fridge, and updated electronics. It's nice to see a place so beautiful still exists, don't miss out!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwillnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of The Omni William Penn. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us and we thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and this by far is first class. You are welcomed by a grandiose lobby and a staff who is at your beckon call. They go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable. Exceptional location as well centered in downtown and close to the subway. I'm always excited to return to Pittsburgh and stay at the William Penn. I wouldn't stay any where else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for allowing us to be your top choice for hotel accommodations in Pittsburgh. It is a pleasure for us to read your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I needed to get away for an evening. After considering various locations and hotels, we decided on the Omni William Penn. From our arrival, we could not have been more pleased with the staff, location, or amenities. We were in a fanstasic suite, with a large sitting area with a couch, 2 chairs, large TV. The king sized bed was beyond comfortable and we had a great night sleep. The bedroom also had a large TV. This is a great hotel and well worth the money. One drawback, the park across from the hotel is currently the residence of the "Occupy Pittsburgh" movement...kind of an eyesore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POWERTOOLGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are thrilled that you and your wife chose The Omni William Penn for your evening away. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My husband and I often reminisce that this was one of the best hotels in which we ever stayed. Breathtaking lobby! We were upgraded to a suite with a fabulous view. The customer service is fabulous. There is a bar, restaurant, and Starbucks in the lobby. We walked to restaurants in the surrounding area and over to the gondola that carries you up the mountain. We loved our stay here and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
It was a pleasure for us to read that you had a memorable stay at The Omni William Penn. We appreciate your complimentary review and also hope you will have the opportunity to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 km away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing