We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Japanese sushi and specialties from a friendly staff”

Woojung Byob Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A fresh perspective on traditional Japanese cuisine – available for takeout and dine-in. Formerly Bluefin2, WOOJUNG is excited to finally open an establishment that reflects the Kim family dining experience. By providing a comfortable and homey atmosphere while presenting the finest Japanese cuisine, WOOJUNG is back with a new wind under its wings. As always, one can also find creative twists on traditional sushi plates as well. WOOJUNG is a family-run operation, run by Thomas and Matilda. You will likely meet them when dining in our hole-in-the-wall restaurant for a Kim Family experience. Thomas, with his Ph.D. in biology, ended his research career at the University of Pennsylvania to then open WOOJUNG in October of 2012. Since then, we have enjoyed dining with our regulars, meeting traveling businessmen/women, and introducing new sushi-eaters to their next favorite cuisine. WOOJUNG = Woo (their son) + Jung (their daughter). By putting the names of their two children together, Thomas and Matilda were able to develop a restaurant that is less generic and much more familial. Additionally, “Woojung” also means “friendship” in Korean, hence the logo’s two orange circles that are connected in an infinity sign. You’ll often find Jung, their daughter/social media coordinator/sushi guru, serving at the restaurant.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Woojung is run by the same family of the venerable Bluefin and former Bluefin II. The Japanese specialties are made to order and feature a wide selection of soups, sushi, rolls and other dishes. The emphasis is on seafood that is of the highest quality and freshly prepared. The dining room has attractive tables of blond wood and a sushi bar where you can watch the artisan chefs prepare your treats. The staff is friendly and attentive. Prices are fair for the quality. Lunch combo specials are a bargain. The restaurant's black exterior is a bit intimidating, but everything inside is welcoming.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jung-Hyun K, Manager at Woojung Byob Restaurant & Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Hello there,

Thank you so much for the review! Just a clarification - we rebranded from Bluefin2 to Woojungsushi in August 2015, but were always separate entitites from Bluefin.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, not just for the food, but the overall atmosphere of what we are trying to achieve as a family. Happy dining, and can't wait to see you again soon.

Best,
Woojungsushi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2016

In town for a conference, and found this Japanese place near the hotel. The fish is fresh and delicious, miso soup was excellent. The staff is friendly and seems like a decent place to sit in. (I ordered for take out) The only downside is the food a little pricey, depending on who you are comparing this with, you may think it is worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ivan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Met a former colleague for lunch. Enjoyed the kiss of death (we had heat #4), kiss of fire and volcano rolls and each was absolutely fresh and delicious. Our server was charming, especially as she prepared our kiss of fire tableside. Seaweed salad was also wonderful. Wish I lived closer!

1  Thank Happyvisitor106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

we were staying at Doubletree Suites Plymouth meeting and found this restaurant by accident.
The sushi was very good as were the rolls, while the service was great...friendly and efficient

We brought our own beer as they don't have a liquor license, and they brought out iced beer glasses and kept our beer chilled on ice next to the table.

we will certainly greturn.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smsmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Reminiscent of Bluefin who apparently are still the owners! Everything was very good. A bit on the pricey side. Good service.

Thank WSWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jung-Hyun K, Manager at Woojung Byob Restaurant & Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Hi WSWe - thank you for the review! To clarify, we are a separate establishment and our very own restaurant for WooJung :) Can't wait to have you dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woojung Byob Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Conshohocken, PA
Plymouth Meeting, PA
 
Plymouth Meeting, PA
 

Been to Woojung Byob Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing