We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Greek Epicurean Delight”
Review of Estia Taverna

Estia Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Estia Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Radnor
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2016

I was taken here for dinner last year for my birthday by a dear friend and I returned the favor this year with a delightful lunch (she has a busy schedule!). We craved some grilled sardines and Greek salad, washed down with a wonderful White wine from Santorini. Our server was the best and stopped to chat at the end of lunch to discuss Greek food....a wonderful 3 hour lunch!!!!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2016

We tried the popular and trendy Estia last year when it opened. We were apalled by the small portions of fish on our plate for $35, especially when the table next to us had the same plate with a much larger portion. We called the next day to voice our disappointment and the manger sent us a $100 gift card for us to try Estia again. Several months later we returned with the gift card. The menu now featured exotic fresh fish that was priced by the pound and our waiter recommended the Fagri and explained the whole fish would feed two people. I ordered Moussaka to accompany this feature dish. It arrived as a beautiful and delicious double filet, enough for two. We were all happy with our food until the bill arrived, and when we saw the charges we started laughing out loud. The special Fagri was listed at $37/pound and our serving started as a 2.5 pound whole fish that was now billed at $83.25!! The four-inch circle of Moussaka was $19, an Octopus appetizer was $18, a side of roasted potatoes was $8 and our Margaritas were $14 with Patron Silver Tequila -- and we had asked for the house brand!! We began to wonder if the Twilight Zone had wisked us to Manhattan or Tokyo instead of the Philadelphia suburbs. Really -- can any piece of fish be worth $83 a plate? You may enjoy the food here but you will need a bank loan to leave.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2016

The restaurant specialty is fresh fish cooked right there and then. You can go up to the fish bar and pick out what you want, and they weigh it out and cook it for you. The preparation is simple (fried or grilled) and then served up with a slice of lemon and a simple sauce. Tastes amazing because of the freshness of the fish, not because of some fancy preparation or fancy sauce. Waitress was incredibly friendly an helpful in picking out exactly what I wanted: price is per pound, but there was no pressure to over order.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GavinKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Estia is a really special place. All aspects of this restaurant are top notch. The bar is always lively with a special cocktail and wines by the glass selection. The rest of the place is beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. The food is really great! My personal favorite is the Moussaka and fresh fish dishes. Their Greek salad is also very authentic and delicious!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

This occasion was a business lunch with a new colleague. The lamb skewers with pita and salad was very good. Nice staff and dining room. The litmus test is I'd bring my lovely bride here - so it's got to be good!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank billwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Estia Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing