We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skytop Lodge”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Skytop Lodge is our favorite place! We have been coming here for 18 years- every Columbus Weekend with my entire family- 20 people and sometimes some of us come up during the winter as well. The accommodations are wonderful, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, the food is top-notch and plentiful, the activities and trails are well maintained and vary greatly and the grounds are beautiful!! We have come to call many of the employees, friends and look forward to seeing them from year to year. I don't know of anyone who has come to Skytop who has been disappointed. This is truly a special place!!

Room Tip: I think if it is just couples, the Inn is the best- romantic, fireplace in the room. If you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMcGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear PatMcGann,

Thank you for providing your comments. It is always rewarding to hear from our many repeat guests that have had a wonderful and friendly stay at Skytop. We are certainly honored to be welcoming your family back for so many years. Your room tips are right on.

Hope to see you soon and have a great year!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first winter visit to Skytop and it was just as enjoyable as our previous summer and fall visits. Everything from the accommodations to the food and activities were outstanding! We look forward to many more visits through the years. The service is impeccable and there is something for everyone to do. A great weekend (or longer) escape only a few hrs away!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Lauren W,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Skytop. Despite the rather warm winter we have rolled out a large number of activities that are providing our guests with a great experience. I might mention that true to form our gardens are beginning to blossom and our grounds supervisor tells me that he expects to have one of the most magnificent gardens yet at Skytop. I am anxious to see all the new flowerbeds.

Hope to see you soon! Have a great year.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My mother visited Skytop back in the 1930's. That was in a more elegant, refined age. Fortunately this lovely place attempts to keep mannerly tradition alive, much like the historic hotels down in Charleston and Savannah, where clients also dress up for dinner. We had in the past visited during the beautiful, flower filled summer, but decided this past month to give old man winter a try. It was very rewarding, even if the only snow seen was the artificial variety up on the skiing hill. We travelled from Long Island with a couple of neighbors who had never experienced the place. They as well as we, will be coming back. Favorite memories... a walk to Indian Falls, sunset up on the observatory and the best fresh strawberries ever tasted on a cold February morn. Thumbs up for nostalgia, we never turned on the TV, in front of the roaring lobby fireplace was the place to be..........

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelfeustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear noelfeustel,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent stay at Skytop Lodge. You are right – in many ways, a visit to Skytop is like traveling back in time. Although we have worked hard to keep Skytop up to pace with the current needs of our guests with a variety of activities, it is always nice to maintain the traditions and services of a great historic lodge. We hope to welcome you back to continue to enjoy the many activities that Skytop has to offer.

See you soon and have a great year!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a perfect place for family and friend getaway. We had 4 children with us age 4- 10 yrs old. The kids had so many activities to keep them busy. There was NO waiting on lines. NO crowds. The food was great and our server,( Camille ) was so attentive to the kids. If the kids even mentioned wanting a specific food that wasn't on the menu, or at the buffet, Camille would bring it to us.
A highlight of our trip was dogsledding with Snow Caps Sled Dogs -----. Ask for Jared. He was so wonderful with our kids! I really admired the love he had for all the dogs. They were pets that love to pull the sled! We spent time with all the dogs before we began our journey. We are all still talking about that experience.
So many outdoor activities and yet the kids also had much fun at the indoor activities.....Jewelry making , scavenger hunts, arcade, ping pong, miniature golf, air hockey, and more.
I didn't get to the Spa ..hopefully next time!

Room Tip: Many different options. We had a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelyne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Madelyne V,

Thank you very much for your comments. I agree that Skytop is the perfect place for a family getaway. We do believe that the activities that we offer provide a great adventure for a wide variety of family members. Couple of all of the activities that we offer with a great staff and we feel that we have the ideal getaway venue. I’ll pass along your kind comments to Jared. He is a great ambassador for Skytop. I hope you have another opportunity to visit us soon.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Skytop is a classic Poconos resort that has a lot to offer for multigenerational families who are looking for a weekend getaway. In addition to skiing, sledding, skating and other traditional winter sports, the Skytop staff is always striving to introduce out-of-the-ordinary activities to offer returning guests new experiences. Over the past five years, my family has enjoyed skeet shooting and dog-sledding on the resort's extensive grounds. This year's innovation was the Treetop Adventure, an elevated obstacle course including zip-lines, suspended bridges, swings, and other challenges; this was the highlight of the weekend for the adults and tweens who completed it. For those who prefer indoor pursuits, there are exercise classes, an indoor pool, game room, and loads of comfortable spots in which to lounge with a book. The lodge and surrounding grounds are worth a visit in themselves; resorts are not built like this anymore. Besides offering innovative activities, Skytop has also preserved the best of its past: daily tea-time in the main lobby, Saturday night dances, and thoughtful service. Each member of the family will find a reason to love their weekend at Skytop.

Room Tip: Familes may enjoy staying in the cabins behind the lodge, which are a bit more modern than the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debwarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear debwarb,

Thank you for comments in relation to your weekend stay at Skytop. It seems as though you were able to take advantage of many of the activities that we were able to offer this February. Quite honestly, for an outdoor adventure resort I think we handled the warm February weather pretty well. We were able to offer our new zipline as well as great hiking and nature events. Of course we had our skiing and sledding hills open, which just added to the fun. Keeping all of our important traditions intact make Skytop a great family getaway.

I really appreciate your comments. I hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

A fantastic place for all generations. My husband and I just took my parents and our three teenage children this past weekend. Everyone had a blast. There is plenty to do for the kids, skiing, iceskating, we all went trap shooting and hiking. The food is excellent, and plentiful, the waitstaff in the dining room was unbelievably accommodating and bent over backwards for us. Saturday night there was a band, and all three generations danced and had a great time. The stay was reminiscent of family togetherness from days gone by.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main lodge are fine but are getting a little tired. If you want a more modern room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillr162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear jill r,

Thank you for your kind note that you forwarded to Trip Advisor. We have heard so many great
comments over this past year about Skytop. With all of our activities, excellent food and caring staff, we do believe that we have a great resort destination. In relation to our guest rooms, we are embarking on a rehab of all of guest rooms, particularly in the Lodge. It is hard to believe that it has been just five years since we have gone through a complete rehab of all of our rooms but we are starting out again with specific emphasis on our bathrooms.

Thank you for your comments. I hope you have a great year and see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I've been coming to skytop for over 10 years since one of my best friends and his wife bought a house on the property overlooking the lake. We've come for golf weekends with the guys, vacations with my children when they were younger, and the last three years spent New Years enjoying the fireworks and great food at the lodge. Skytop truly is a great place. The staff is attentive and very friendly (especially Jim in the Tap Room), there's TONS to do for the family, and the setting is beautiful. management has done a great job over the years continuing to upgrade the facilities and making sure there's plenty to do. The new tree tops adventure center is really cool. Even my jaded 15 year old had a blast on it. Really a great addition. So, we had such a blast this last new years that we decided to buy a house on the property! We close in a week and look forward to many years of fun and memories with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear timeinc,

I am so delighted that your stays at Skytop have resulted in your purchasing a home at our property. I can’t think of a more beautiful place to enjoy the many activities that we have available for all of your family. Skytop is committed to providing the best family experience in a beautiful, exquisite setting. I know you will have a lifetime filled with many memories and happy experiences at Skytop.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
17.5 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,473 reviews
12.6 km away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,539 reviews
32.8 km away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,315 reviews
23.0 km away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,064 reviews
22.1 km away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Address: One Skytop, Skytop, Barrett Township, PA 18357-1099
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Barrett Township > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range: $237 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Skytop Lodge Skytop
Resort Skytop Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing