We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little restaurant.”

Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering
Ranked #30 of 293 Restaurants in State College
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Each Harrison's Wine Grill menu reflects Chef Harrison's love of local ingredients. At our locally owned, award winning restaurant in State College, we go out of our way to find and use the best products available. Whenever possible, we purchase ingredients from local Pennsylvania growers and purveyors, in particular ones who arrive at the back door with freshly harvested offerings like elephant garlic, fresh green beans, or wild morel mushrooms. When a good quality ingredient is not available locally, we go out of market to find it, especially seasonal seafood. Full bar includes local microbrews on tap and over 20 wines by the glass. Located two minutes from Penn State's main campus, Harrison's is located within the State College Hilton Garden Inn. Harrison's is upscale yet casual, and a favorite of State College locals, Penn State alumni and students. Voted State College's Best Caterer, Best Wait Staff & Best Health Menu by the readers of State College Magazine.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Ate here while we were staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. Harrison's is inside the hotel. Even had a nice little bar area.
Nice menu and plenty to choose from. Homemade soups were delicious and our server very polite. Had a couple glasses of wine from the wine/drink menu. Decided to give their version of an old fashion- "the keystone." It was very good! We'd certainly come here again if we were passing through. The only downside, is that they close at 9PM.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWGC, Manager at Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Scott K, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service as well as The Keystone, one of our signature cocktails. We certainly hope we'll see you again next time you're in the area. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2018

We are so glad we chose this location for dinner while in State College with family for graduation. We made reservations and were greeted like they waited for me personally. We were seated promptly. The menu is diverse, service is prompt, the restaurant is spotless (spotless!!!). The atmosphere is pleasant and bright. It was full, but not crowded. We just couldn't believe its a hotel restaurant, it could stand on its own as a success, that's for sure.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellenlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWGC, Manager at Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thank you so very much for your review, Ellenlyn. We always appreciate hearing about our guests' happy experiences! We are, in fact, a locally owned restaurant that happens to reside inside the Hilton Garden Inn, which we understand is a fairly unusual arrangement in this area. We're so glad you found us and tried us out, and we hope you'll join us again next time you visit the State College area. Congratulations to the graduate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

A major reason we would stay again at the Hilton Garden Inn in State College is the quality of the breakfast. There is the usual buffet with warmed scrambled eggs, etc., for those in a hurry, but they also accept orders for omelettes and freshly-made pancakes at no extra charge for the reasonable $12 breakfast. Very good value.

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn during a snowstorm. Normally we would not have had dinner at a hotel chain restaurant, but because of the weather we ate at Harrison’s. The soup selection was excellent and our main courses (salmon, chicken) were quite good. Staff was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWGC, Manager at Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Dear Charles S,
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed both the breakfast we provide for guests of the Hilton Garden Inn as well as your dinner. I'm sorry the weather was so poor while you were in town, but we're glad that it provided you with an opportunity to dine with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we hope you'll join us next time you travel this way. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Had dinner with friends at Harrison's last evening. We had a wonderful meal and great service. The menu is very diverse with many seasonal choices. The waitstaff is attentive and knowledgeable about their offerings. Pricing is on the higher side for the area but in line with the food and service. We enjoyed our evening there and will return. Great choice in the area for dining. Enjoy

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank welikepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWGC, Manager at Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Dear welikepalms,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience with us. We set high standards for ourselves in the areas of both food and service, and we are pleased to hear we met those standards and provided you with a pleasurable dining experience. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. They offer 1/2 price wine flights on Friday nights. Their soups and bread are excellent. Their menu changes with the seasons and they offer some item that are locally produced. Food is always great with some interings twists (i.e butternut squash au gratin)

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWGC, Manager at Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Judy G,
Thank you so much for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the wine flights (we offer them at half-price from 5pm-6pm, 7 days a week!) and your meal. We appreciate your time and your patronage, and we hope to welcome you into our dining room again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Harrison's Wine Grill & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing