We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott Property: Expensive for Football Weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites State College
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
487 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott Property: Expensive for Football Weekends”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We were glad we stayed here on points as the usual charge would have been $750/night, two night minimum. This is your usual solid Marriott property. Everything is clean and up to date. There is a complementary breakfast, with hot eggs and sausage as well as wafffles available. Beds are comfortable. The layout was a bit odd with the TV on a post between the beds and the sitting room area, but it worked out ok. We had the two bed suite which also had a sofabed and a small kitchen areas (minifridge and microwave). The hotel is on an interstate exit outside of town but fairly close (not walkable) to the football stadium. There are chain restaurants nearby (walkable) and shopping including a good grocery (car needed). Staff was acceptable. When we needed extra blankets and stuff, we got them no problem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    124
    32
    12
    11
See reviews for
234
49
19
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I liked suites as they were very modern. Very quite and a ton of shops and restaurants around the hotel. The only draw back is that there is not room service in this hotel and no restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancunies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

State College Pa is like a snap shot of the way America use to be ...nice people, nice home , little rushing,etc. So i expected the hotel to be warm and friendly. Not quite there. Don't recall any of the front desk people being very engaging; more like 'going thru the motions'. this is not a smiley happy group in general although the breakfast lady was an exception. This before the PSU/Paterno story broke so that's no excuse. Yes i would go back to the area but maybe rethink the place to stay.

Best think - very pleasantly surprised about the quality and value of the nearby Texas Roadhouse.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a HC room- it is off putting. and stay away from the rooms near the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were relieved to land here after a long day on the road. The hotel was immaculate, service was friendly, and rooms were spacious and well-appointed. The morning's continental breakfast was the nicest I've seen anywhere with so much variety! The only drawback was that the room was a little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed 1 night in Aug/11. I was very pleased with the 1-bedroom King suite, although I would have preferred the bedroom to be closed off from the living area. The suite had a sink, microwave and mini fridge. The room seemed very new, clean and modern. The bathroom was also well maintained.The vanity area is outside the bathroom. The room felt fresh and spacious. A nice hot breakfast was included in the room rate. I would definitely recommend this hotel although the price was higher than other Springhill suites I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat56Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Springhill Suites for two evenings for the Penn State/Eastern Michigan game. I was lucky enough to reserve the room in March for this weekend. Usually rooms book up farther in advance for a football weekend. I have stayed in several other Springhill Suites before, and knew what to expect.

If you have a GPS unit, you will need to enter a small complex before you see the SHS (it is set well back from Waddle Road). Look for the Outback and Olive Garden.

The setting is very nice, plenty of free parking. There is even a lovely koi pond and fountain outside the lobby.

We were checked in quickly, and there were plenty of luggage carts available to bring our tailgating supplies into our room. We were lucky enough to get first floor room, which was great for the convenience. We were up early both days, but were never bothered by any outside noise from the hall area.

We reserved a king size bed and the room was exactly what I expected. There were PSU pom-poms on our door, which was a nice touch. However, we have stayed at other hotels in the area that provide more PSU goodies for a football weekend. A little more "team spirit" would've been nice for a room that charged over double the normal weekend rate (non-football weekend).

The room really was identical to many other SHS I've stayed in. There was a couch and side chair, along with a small fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The room was exceptionally clean. The only issue was there was only one hanger in the closet. We could've used a few more hangers, but to be fair, we did not report this to the front desk. The large swivel LG TV worked well.

The hotel is located one exit away from Beaver Stadium (from I-99) and is a short ride into town once you connect to Atherton Street.

The small gym met our needs. My husband commented that the LifeCycle treadmill worked great for a smaller-belt treadmill. I used the Life Cycle elliptical, which was in good working order. The True bicycle was a little bit beat up and hard to adjust the seat. We also used the pool and jacuzzi. The pool was small but met our needs. The jacuzzi was one of the nicest I've seen in this type of hotel - the water was hot and the jets were putting out a lot of pressure.

The breakfast included both hot and cold items, including omlettes, potatoes, sausage, and all sorts of breads, fruits, yogurt, and pastries. Everything was fresh and tasty. The breakfast staff worked very hard keeping everything restocked.

We walked the 1/2 block to Outback for dinner on Friday evening. It was, of course, packed, but the service was good. On Saturday evening, we drove into State College and had dinner at Mad Mex. It's always hard to find anywhere to eat on a football weekend. We enjoyed our burritos at Mad Mex, but it was needlessly loud within the restaurant.

We've stayed at several other properties in State College for football weekends. I would not hesitate to rebook the SHS for a game next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nittany&Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

State College hotels are sold out a year in advance on Penn State weekends. Since we couldn't find any hotels in the area, we booked an Altoona hotel and checked State College throughout the year. (The area remained sold out the whole year.) A day before going several hotels including SpringHill had cancellations so we were able to book in State College and cancel Altoona. And while it was still higher ($175 total) than an off weekend ($99), it was less than what hotels were charging all year ($200-300 for a 2 star hotel). The other advantage of finding a last minute booking is normally those hotels require a 2 night stay. With last minute cancellations and the hotel needing to fill those rooms, we were able to just book the one night....so we could drive out after the game towards the airport city we flew into and stay at a hotel with a reasonable rate.

Altoona really wasn't a bad drive away....probably 30 minutes...which is a good alternative to State College for hotels.

Anyway the Springhill Suites is very family oriented. So while the hotel was full of children, you'd never know it because the room was very quiet. The hotel is beautifully decorated within walking distance to Outback Steakhouse and Olive Garden...across a bit of a busy road to Cracker Barrel and a mall. The room had all the essentials needed...free wireless, coffee maker, shampoo, conditioner...even had Penn State pom poms (although we were there with the visiting team) but what great team support.

Free continental breakfast was ample...eggs, potatoes, cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt. The staff really kept up with the huge crowds that showed up. But while the breakfast area is large....they even had this extra area opened up, they don't provide enough seats because families will grab chairs and share tables. So for example in this extra area there were 2 tables (which incidentally they could easily fit 2 more tables in this area) but only 3 chairs. So alot of people had to take the food to their rooms to eat. It's just silly because they have the room, they are just not using it efficiently.

The only other complaint I have is that the hotel only has double beds. The room is roomy enough for 2 queens. Fortunately the double room comes with a pull out sofa so if people don't choose to squish in the double, you have the extra bed.

This hotel is very clean and well kept. A/C worked great. This is a very nice comfortable hotel in State College IF it doesn't happen to be sold out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizofwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.1 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
4.1 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
84 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites State College

Property: SpringHill Suites State College
Address: 1935 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#7 Business Hotel in State College
#7 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites State College 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TripAdvisor page of the Award Winning SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College! We are thrilled to announce the completion of our hotel's renovation (please see our updated photo gallery). Our newly renovated lobby, guestrooms, breakfast area, and meeting space create a stylish look and modern feel that will leave you feeling relaxed, refreshed, rejuvenated, and re-energized.Take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or simply enjoy the relaxing jets of our jacuzzi. Help yourself to some freshly brewed coffee, tea, or hot chocolate as you wait in our lobby for a friend or while scanning one of our complimentary newspapers. Need directions or suggestions on local hot spots or things to do? Stop by our front desk. Our friendly and informed associates are always eager to help. Hungry for lunch, or looking for dinner? We're a preferred choice among hotels in State College, Pennsylvania because we're only a six to eight minute drive from wonderful restaurants. Our hotel is also close to Pennsylvania State University, near Beaver Stadium. SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College is the only all-studio suite choice among State College hotels. Enhanced by service that will delight both the business and leisure traveler, enjoy separate spaces to work and relax and thoughtful amenities to help you get the most out of your stay. We offer free high-speed internet access, a pantry with mini-fridge, coffee maker, microwave and comfortable seating that includes a pullout sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites State College Hotel State College
State College Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing