We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Special”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My son graduated in December and we wanted to finally experience the Nittany Lion Inn. We had high expectations and our weekend stay exceeded them.
Virtually every staff member actually seemed to enjoy working there. It was almost impossible for us to open the building front door ourselves --there was almost always someone there holding it open for us.
The building and grounds were decorated for Christmas and were beautiful. We had an extra large room with a separate couch and seating area.
The hotel shuttle made getting around campus a breeze, and when one of my chidlren came in by bus at 10:30 pm, because she called the shuttle, we did not have to immediately leave our friends to pick her up. When we went to a bar the shuttle dropped us off and picked us up shortly after we called.
We had the breakfast and the Sunday brunch buffets and felt they were reasonably priced and very good.
Whiskers was a clubby and reasonably priced place to have a drink, a burger or an after dinner cup of coffee with friends and family.
I would suggest the Inn for anyone who would enjoy a beautiful hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astern1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    216
    63
    20
    15
See reviews for
286
126
28
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great staff and location. The rooms were clean and roomy. The shuttle service was absolutely wonderful. The heater in our room was very loud, our only issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

OK, the convenient location can't be beat. That aside, the rooms are dated with cheap pillows and linens with loud, ancient HVAC that will keep you up all night while going on and off. And if that doesn't wake you up, the chatty housekeepers outside your door first thing in the morning will. The gift shop closes before 7 so good luck if you forget a toiletry. If you park in the lot, you're forced to return to your car to install a permit tag upon check in, rain or shine. They don't have a frequent traveler reward program. Service in the lounge is slow and amateurish. And this is a pet peeve, but if you're going to overdecorate for the holidays why not acknowledge other celebrations besides Christmas. Starwood, I beg you to come to State College!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookinIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback; please be assured that we truly value your opinions and strive to improve service to each of our guests.

If at any time you are in need of a toiletry item, our Housekeeping team is more than happy to deliver items you may have forgotten directly to your room. We also offer complimentary valet parking, and our Guest Services team can certainly place your permit in your car for you.

We continually adjust our guest's profiles to reflect their preferences. The more we get to know you, the more personalized and comfortable we hope to make each stay! We offer standard, foam or feather pillows and are happy to accommodate any other needs you may have while you are here. We hope to see you again, and to have the opportunity to give you a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This inn is a must stay for someone new to the PSU world. It offers very quaint experiences with some 2011+ upgrades (like Wifi). The inn is located at the end of the campus, next to the world famous Nittany Lion Shrine.

PROS: Location, location, location - on campus, next to the Lion Shrine, beautiful grounds, easy to walk to anything on campus or the bus loops. In fact, the bus is literally right out the back door, and the White and Blue Loops are FREE OF CHARGE. The hotel is closest to the West Residence Halls, some education and engineering buildings, the "mall," and the Library. I think this is the prettiest part of campus. When driving, it's at a very popular intersection and very easy to find.

CONS: Book in advance! Rooms sell out super, super, super fast especially during football season and popular wedding months.

Room Tip: book in advance - as soon as you know your dates, book immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcr195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We Are...so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

If you happen to visit us again during our snowy season, or at any time of the year, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service for all of our overnight guests throughout the local area. While we agree that the Loop is wonderful, we also don't want you to have to wait if you are pressed for time! Our Guest Services team is always happy to help.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Our family has been staying at the Inn for decades and love "coming home" each year. Hard to beat location and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We are so glad to have our family come home...thank you so much for your loyalty to the Inn over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed for 4 nights because my workshop in Penn State University was just few meters awya. The staff is normal, nice food, clean rooms. The hotel has shuttle which can drive you to any place you want.

Room Tip: Try to get your room as near as possible to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed in State College for the first time last week. I am not sure about other hotels in the area but the service at the Nittany Lion Inn was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed the evening before, checked out in the morning and spen the entire day in meetings. They stored my bag and when I returned they let me park my car and use the lobby for internet access while I waited for dinner companions. In addition to the service, it is a beautiful old hotel that looks like a Mansion from the outside. Saw a group of high schoool studenst leaving the lobby for a college tour. Great location for a colleg tour. Right in the middle of campus. They also offer free shuttles around State College.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaver41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.1 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,220 reviews
4.4 km away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing