We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nittany Lion Inn”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Inn was very well preserved. The room was imaculate, the stall was excellent, the location was right in the middle of the campus. you can walk to almost location you want. Park your can and enjoy the fresh air and the scenery. You will love the experience.

Room Tip: the Inn is very well perserved.The rooms were very well kept, very beautiful, and the staff was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentpj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

stayed just one night with my friend visiting our kids at school. The front staff were extremely helpful and even granted my son a parking pass so he could park in the parking lot for a few hours. The room was extremely clean and well decored. I thoroughly enjoyed the couches and chairs that aligned the third floor hallway. It was a great place to sit and read a book if you so desired.

The hotel is strategically located so that you could walk the downtown area and see all the sights. We toured the hotel,dining room, pub and conference rooms which were all impressive. The landscape outside the building was well manicured and groomed. It was raining that evening with some hail so we decided to eat in at the pub and I am really glad we did. The pub had typical pub fare but the food was quite good. The place was hopping with quite alot of people from conferences. We ended up having a drink or two at the bar. All in all this was a great place to stay while in the are and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I was very happy on the third floor. I would think it is better to face the back of the building rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minijeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for my son's gymnastics meet. It was a very short walk to the gym. My daughters walked to the creamery. Last year we stayed at the Penn Stater. I like them both for different reasons. The Nittany Lion Inn was very pretty, the rooms were nicer and the location is better. The Penn Stater looks more like a dorm that turned into a hotel, but its large, cozy and has better restaurants. The location isn't as good, but they have a pool and an incredible buffet on Saturday nights. The pub is bigger too.
You can't go wrong with either one. The staff is outstanding at both locations and the transportation service is great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaykels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

What great feedback! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with both of our properties...we are always happy to hear that you received the superior service you deserve! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed three nights recently as part of the Penn State Executive program. Lodging and food was provided with the tuition for the training class. The Executive training facility is next door to the Nittany Lion Inn. The inn is a first class hotel with outstanding food service. I could see the vehicles passing the windows of the classroom and noted high quality food stuffs being delivered. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: mine was on the first floor and very convenient to the dining area and classroom. I stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed at the the Nittany Lion Inn on several occasions, and been pleased each time. The property itself is beautiful and well maintained, particularly in the common areas. I was at the hotel for conferences each time, and many of the conference rooms themselves are stunning, with recessed lighting and lots of wood. The staff, many of whom are Penn State students, are polite and eager to assist. The room I had overlooked the flagstone courtyard in the middle of the property. On an unseasonably warm night, I was the only person out in the courtyard, and it was great -- a quiet spot for contemplation. The food for the dinner I went to was outstanding -- in particular they had some braised short ribs that were top notch. The lobster bisque was also great. The little bar, Whiskers, was pleasant and professionally run. All in all, good stays each time.

Room Tip: I really liked the courtyard view room I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

We are so happy when we have wonderful guests like you return "home" when you are in Happy Valley. Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hotel is very noisy, you can hear everyone talking loudly going down the hall all night long. There's always parties in rooms because if you try to rent a party room, you can't bring your own food, you have to buy theirs. People get yelled at if they are too noisy at 5pm. What is this, a retirement home? The shower was cold, the shampoo stinks and there's no conditioner. Wish there was another hotel closer to Beaver Stadium. Not owned by this hotel company.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemonster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

I am so very sorry that you had less than a peaceful night's sleep during your visit with us. We do our best to provide an atmosphere that is pleasant to all of our guests, and do try to limit the noise in our common areas after 10pm to allow all of our guests the best opportunity to get the rest they need. We appreciate every opportunity to provide a superior product and service and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Perfection, except for no automatic doors. I arrived late at night for check in, and it was hard to get in the door with all of my bags alone. Other than that, we were very happy here. Short walking distance to everything important- campus and downtown!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc33Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.8 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
478 reviews
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
310 reviews
4.4 km away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#9 of 26 in State College
601 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $178 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing