We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location,hotel run down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
ct
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient location,hotel run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Attended sporting event at Penn State-motel is run down. "business center" on 2nd floor isnt clearly marked when you get off the elevator nor are the rooms which run down endless corridors. it would be helpful to have all the rooms down a corridor listed not just the first 20 because you have to walk outside to walk these corridors. Strips near elevator and rooms in general run down. No suitcase valet to hold suitcase. Bathroom is very small with only one hook to hang clothes, but disconcerting to have clean towels placed for us on top of toilet tank. On the weekend the breakfast buffet is $7 (free during weekdays), but this type of buffet is usually free at other chain (Best W/Hampton Inn). Positive attributes are proximity to PSU, very pleasant staff especially given volume of guests and what they have to work with, and free internet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hello, I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your review and comments have reminded myself of how important guest satisfaction is, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologize for your less than impressive stay, I am however glad that you found the staff pleasant. We have done some recent renovations to our property and will continue in the new year. As far as the guest rooms not being marked, all of our 284 guest rooms are marked with a room number on the exterior door, as this is a standard at any hotel.

I am proud to announce we are in the middle of upgrading our internet service, and most importantly it remains free of charge to our guests. We'd love to welcome you back again soon, do let me know if you book your next stay.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    377
    325
    189
    115
See reviews for
539
126
58
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mars, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at this property over a weekend night while attending a sporting event at Penn State. Don't understand why it gets above average reviews. It's old, more than a little dingy, the part of the building we stayed in smells of chlorine because of the indoor pool, and breakfast was over priced, poor quality, and had service problems.

The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable. The bed is nice, lots of pillows. Work area is adequate, decent sized dressers. But, it's clearly past it's prime. The plumbing has occasional problems (hot didn't shut off without futzing with the faucet in the tub), the fan is noisy and can't be turned off without the light, the TV is fairly small and the video had poor quality, Internet has a charge for use.

We were in the section that has the pool. You can smell the chlorine everywhere, especially in the hallways. We had occasion to walk to a room across the pool area from ours. There were three ways to do that that we found - walk back to the lobby, take the elevator down one floor, retrace back the corresponding corridor and walk across the open area, take a real hike around the building, including going outside, to get to a stairwell, or, get this, take a real convenient stairwell up through the "business center" which also has doors from the central area to the corridor our room was one. Oh, but the business center has limited hours, so that doesn't always work. This place has been renovated, rebuilt and repurposed so often, that walking patterns mostly are torturous.

The desk staff was very nice and we did not lack for service there.

We had one meal in the main restaurant, which was unpleasant. There is a buffet that was, in my opinion, overpriced. It's a lot like the free hot breakfast you find at lower priced properties - mass produced eggs, bacon and sausage, or cold cereal, or oatmeal, cut up poor quality fruit and truly horrible bagels, muffins or some sweet thing.

They had some problem with the oatmeal, which my wife preferred given the choices. It was not available when she came in, and it was over 1/2 hour before it arrived. The wait staff however was attentive and accommodating given the limitations of the kitchen.

There was no folio under the door on checkout, and the process took longer than it should, but again the staff was friendly and we did feel welcome.

We are not likely to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Greetings, I thank you for sharing your review. I apologize for the inconveniences that did not allow you to enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked you to. We thank you for letting us know some of the details about your stay, we will work on improving for our future guests.

As far as the Chlorine smell, yes you are correct that we do have an indoor pool. Some guest are more sensitive to the Chlorine smell than others. I am delighted that you found your room and bed comfortable. I do agree that the beds here are very comfortable, providing a great night' s sleep. As far as the internet, there is not a charge for usage, and I am proud to announce that we are in the midst of upgrading to faster service. The internet will remain free of charge. We do not offer express check out, but if you prefer we are able to check you out over the phone and provide a receipt via fax or email. We welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I recently attended a company function at the Ramada in State College. Even though it wasn't that far from home, we decided to get a room for the night as there were going to be adult beverages involved.
The facilities were great. They have an huge indoor courtyard complete with pool, hot tub, and common area. The common area is perfect for families with children. There are tables so the adults can sit and relax as well a a large area for the kids to play. We saw several throwing around a nerf football.
The rooms were spacious and had very nice amenities. We had a large refrigerator and microwave. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Room Tip: If you have children, be sure to get a room overlooking the indoor pool. If you prefer a quieter st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electraglide2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Greetings, I appreciate you sharing your comments in regard to your stay with us. It is great to hear that you had such a good time, I anticipate that you enjoyed your company function. You are always welcome here at the Ramada, please do not hesitate to contact me for a future stay.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had a great stay experience with the RAMADA! We got to take our daughter to the indoor pool and it was a blast! Then water temp was perfect and the atmosphere was perfect too. We had a really clean room with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was also very clean and had no problems at all.

We even had 7 inches of SNOW and they were out clearing off the parking lot and helping guests if they needed it.

The breakfast buffet was well woth the money and kids are half price to eat!

Room Tip: If you plan on using the indoor pool ask to be close to it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hello Kim, I thank you kindly for your great review. I am delighted that you were still able to enjoy your stay, even with seven inches of snow. Our maintenance department is always a great help during heavy snow fall, as they work hard to keep the parking lot clear and safe. We look forward to your return stay!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

They have a very good free continental breakfast on weekdays that I wish was also available on weekends. I have stayed here a few times. We like the indoor pool but disappointed the hot tub was closed. We had good service and rooms were nice and clean and always notice updates every time we return. Once I told the front desk about a bees nest outside our room and when we returned later it was gone. We will not hesitate to stay here when visiting family in State College.

Room Tip: Nice that you can choose a room with entry door to outside or to inside the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Greetings, I certainly appreciate your comments and sharing your review. I am pleased that the staff was attentive and responded in a timely manner. I apologize for the hot tub being closed while you stayed with us, rarely do we have to close it but it does require routine maintenance.

You mentioned you would return, just to let you know we do have the Wyndham Rewards program which you can enroll in at the front desk or on the Wyndham Rewards website. You will be awarded points for every stay which can be later redeemed for future stays.

Welcome to the Ramada Family,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

good location, clean, indoor pool, modestly priced

Room Tip: If you plan on using the indoor pool, book a room that has Indoor access to the facilities. Manny ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello Robert, I thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Are you familiar with our Wyndham Rewards program? With the program you are awarded points for every dollar spent, it's something to think about if you plan on returning. Please feel free to give us a call if you are insterested in more information.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed for a three day conference. The staff and service was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very good and the lunch and diner were great. The rooms are clean and are in good condition, but the mattresses need to be replaced. The refrigerator and microwave in the room is a plus. Overall, I was very satisfied with the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and post your review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary weekday breakfast buffet, as well as other menu items. Ive received excellent guest feedback regarding out restaurant P.J. Harrigans. I myself suggest the Chesepeak Chicken, its wonderful!

We welcome you back anytime,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 km away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard State College
Courtyard State College
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.9 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1450 South Atherton Street, US Rt 322 & PA Rt 26, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently revamped our breakfast for the weekends and it will be 9.99 plus tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center State College
Ramada Inn & Conference Center State College Hotel State College
Ramada Inn State College
Ramada State College
State College Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing