We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
2
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We decided to try American Vintage B&B due to its close proximity to an event we were attending at the winery. We were originally a little hesitant but boy were we wrong. Jo Ann is a fantastic host and the house is beautiful. Nestled back from the main road, it is sequestered enough to be enjoyable but close enough to be practical. The breakfast was HUGE! We were served Belgian waffles, sticky buns, her special recipe oatmeal, cantelope, sausage, the lis goes on and on. The bed was remarkably comfortable and the serenity of morning coffee on the wrap around porch couldn't be beat. We have already made plans to stay here again in October, when we return to the area. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a private bath, everyone else shares (2) common bathrooms, so book accordingly.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

I would like to take this time to thanks you. I so enjoy each and everyone of my guest, it is my pleasure to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I love to cook and love to cook for people that enjoy eating. I so loved our conversations at the table allowing us to get to know one another. You are very special in my thoughts. Again Thank you so much. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the moment you arrive Jo Anne and Lilly make you feel like family. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the spa after a long day!! The food is amazing and She will make you anything your heart desires. I will never stay anywhere else again (and I travel to York County often!!! The house is a delight to any who love old Architecture. You can feel the history in this place. Jo Ann Has put her heart and soul into American Vintage and I can't say I have ever stayed anywhere like it. If I could I would live there myself... Jo Ann - If I win the lottery I want to buy your house!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, This old houe is just that a farm house with lots of love to offer. It is guest like yourselves that make my heart warm, that like us just as we are. I have had the pleasure of having two wonderful people become friends. Loved the conforsations, that glass of wine shared, the smiles and that great big hug that will stay with me when you left. Again thank you so much for enjoying your stay, please, please and one more please, come back and see us. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this bed & breakfast earlier this summer. We enjoy staying at B&Bs and normally visit the ones closer to the shore (NJ). We were in York for planned events and decided to try this B&B out versus staying at one of the few hotels in the area (The Hampton Inn). We were warmly greeted by Jo Ann and pup Lily upon our arrival. She is an incredible host and you can immediately see the love, passion, and energy she pours into her home. It truly is her prized possession and she wants others to feel its love the way she does.

We enjoyed the breakfast and can say the food is very fresh. What we did not know from reading the reviews is that Jo Ann smokes in the house. The rooms do maintain the smell of smoke (as did we after only a short time inside) which was not ideal. Our room also had a toilet/shower head inside of the room which we did not realize was the advertisement for 'private bathrooms'. Not necessarily something that was a deal breaker, but again, not ideal. There were lights that did not work in our room.

This is truly a vintage location - decorations felt like a mix of Christmas/4th of July. Could be even more special with a bit of modernization and upkeep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

I would guess there is a first for everything, I so do apologize for what ever was not understod on the web page, there is a picture of the bath, my electirc in the room is very up to date and had no clue there was a problem with it until this review, again i am sorry. The home you stayed in is 331 years of age, updated to the point i want to change it. If a room is booked i always ask? one do you have alergies, two are there any questiions for me. so sorry about the fact you pulled out the Christmas in july, that will stay because i love the time of birth of the Lord and it is proudlly shown. I so wish whom ever this is would have said somthing, anything to me, I would have refunded thier monies and found them another place to stay. In my heart the statement that i love my guest and my home is true, yes I smoke now and in my part of the house of which i live, it must filter through, sorry? at 71 years of age i guess now I am catering to myself, the old vintage will be closing down soon, when it is sold. Again with all my love i so feel truly bad about this one time unhappy review. Not my style to affend anyone. American Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we stayed at the American Vintage B&B with 2 other couples, while visiting the nearby winery musical festival. The home is charming, clean, and warm; and Joanne, the hostess, is a hoot! - engaging, delightful, and a wonderful cook. The quiet setting cannot be beat, yet the winery is within walking distance. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: the room on the 1st floor was unbeatable!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RIck17201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Thank you so much for this lovely review and taking the time to write it. I love having people come in and relax and enjoy their stay. Having the Naylor's Winery close is great for not only you, but for me when the bands are playing and I am sitting on the porch hearing the great music coming across the hill. I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovey review. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Jo ann is a very special lady,she is so sweet!When arriving,she greets you on the porch of this charming home,she makes you feel comfortable in every way possible.The hospitality is amazing that you will receive,through out your stay there.There are animals on the grounds,a dog lily that is truly amazing,also ducks with a pond,chickens from which fresh eggs are plentiful and a kitty that is great.The grounds and surrounding areas of scenery are breath taking.The antiques are outstanding.The Breakfast that Jo ann serves is like going back in time.Everything is fresh and natural foods made in her home.The conversation that i had with her about the home is very interesting.Need Directions,ask her,it's better then a gps or any maps that i could find.I truly can say this,I havn't been to many Bed & Breakfasts but.I WONT BE GOING TO ANY OTHERS ---I WILL KEEP GOING BACK TO HERS!!!!!! I would like to try and get back there by December and every few months there after.I will send Pictures to JO ANN and let her post them on her site.
Thanks Jo ann for a wonderful expericence.
FRANK

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Frank that goes both ways, I so enjoyed having you here and talking about everything. I especially LOVE talking about this beautiful old farm house. It amazes me how they build it out of manual labor. Do not think it could be done in this time and day. As for the food I to love to cook and can and serve, but most of all I love it when my guest enjoy what I prepare. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You are special with love Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews