We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruce and Jan will make you feel at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bruce and Jan will make you feel at home.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Comfortable rooms furnished with beautiful antiques, a delicious breakfast, and personable hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. This is the perfect place to stay in Lancaster County.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentGeoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you Kent - It was so nice to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
278
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I think this is one of the nicest B and B's we have ever stayed at. I know we were served the best breakfasts ever. It's a little off the beaten track but still a very convenient base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We are located in a quiet little town that most people haven't heard of before. But once folks find us, we're grateful that they return again and again! We're so glad that you had a great visit. And, yes, we LOVE LOVE LOVE to cook breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We just got back from our fourth visit with Jan and Bruce at the Artist's Inn and gallery. Once again we had a great time. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Jan had even made great Toll House cookies using raspberry flavored chocolate chips.
We would recommend Artist's Inn to anyone who wants to get away and relax in a quiet little town near Lancaster, Harrisburg, Hershey and less than two hours from Philly or Baltimore.

Room Tip: Rose Suite has two rooms so if one of you is an early riser, they can use the second room to read, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerdk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
We're so glad you enjoy your visits. We do too! Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We began going to The Artist Inn 11 years ago and it is still as magical as our first stay in the Garden Suite. I literally count down the months until it is time to pack up our essentials and head to our romantic getaway spot. We have stayed in every room and do not have a preference at this point.

The area that surrounds the Inn is quaint and so peaceful that you don't even have to leave the AMAZING back porch! How about the morning extravaganza? You can smell the scrumptious breakfast while still sleeping in your cozy bed. Jan will wake up at the crack of dawn to put together the most delicious menu that after you are finished, you will want to take her home with you! As for the Inn itself....it is decorated so beautifully and Bruce's artwork is oh so part of the charm! Every corner that you turn has a story!

If you prefer to head out for the day or evening, Jan will always steer you in the right direction. There are so many places to see and so many restaurants to enjoy!

At this point, we feel like family that we may even have to buy our next home right next door:)

Room Tip: We love every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Abbee and Kevin - We enjoy every one of your visits....and do consider you family! That's about the highest compliment we ever receive. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Wow, what a wonderful bed and breakfast. This is our second trip to a comfortable, quaint different type of bed and breakfast. Jan and Bruce are outstanding hosts who made both stays so enjoyable that we hope to return in the future. Breakfasts are excellent, tasty and creative. Sure to start your morning off right. We spent two nights in the Rose room, actually the same suite we had last year. A large king sized bed , with a private bathroom and whirlpool tub gave a lot of both privacy and comfort. We had a second room where one could sit and use a computer, wi fi is free or just read a book. Lots of room in the armoire and two big soft bathrobes complete the stay.. And at night, or in the evening, drift off to sleep with the sound of horse and buggies going down the street. Two restaurants are within walking distance for dinner or lunch. Downstairs, there is an art gallery of Bruce's paintings as well as some of his books for sale.

Room Tip: Are you a romantic, and/or love roses? The Rose Room is the one for you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thanks Norma and Guy - we enjoyed your visit. It's always so much fun to talk with you. We hope the play is a great success and that others think it is as clever as we do. If we were closer we'd be in the audience, but we'll have to settle for cheering from Lancaster County! We hope to see you again next Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I just love staying at The Artist Inn as it has become a bit like our home away home as we try to stay at least 2-3 times per year and have been doing so for many years. Jan the Inn keeper most certainly was born to run a Bed and Breakfast as it shows in her attention to detail. From her friendly welcome to her delicious bountiful breakfast to the wonderful rooms where comfort is top notch when in Lancaster County this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great as we have stayed in all 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Colleen - Thanks for writing. We can't wait until you and Rick visit for our New Year's Eve Party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My personal decompression stop, the Artist's Inn and Gallery is my home away from home. Whether in the main house or the cottage, Jan and Bruce provide everything one could ask for in a B&B. I leave each time with a smile knowing that small towns and kind people still exist. The Terre Hill area is great and the landscape visible from the primary roads is only a small part of what Lancaster County has to offer. It doesn't really matter what season you go, the experience is always positive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Jeff - Thanks so much for posting what WE love the most about Terre Hill and Lancaster County. There's a peaceful feeling here and guests love the relaxed change of pace from hectic everyday life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
23.5 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
14.1 km away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
12.5 km away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
9.4 km away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
6.5 km away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing