We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist's Inn and Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in the Carriage House with friends, and it was a wonderful experience. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was very comfortable, everything was clean and fresh, and Jan's hospitality was over the top. There's a great little deck perfect for relaxing, visiting with friends, and listening for the ever present clip-clop of horses. This was my first time in the area, and Jan was so helpful, sharing her knowledge of the Amish and Mennonite cultures. Bruce is an extremely talented artist with a great sense of humor. Be sure to wander through his art gallery while you're there. You know it's a good place when you're planning your next visit before you have even left!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review. We love sharing our little corner of Lancaster County...it's like nowhere else on earth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Butler, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

From the well stocked kitchen to the clip clop of Amish buggies driving by, this peaceful cottage was the perfect Girl Friends Getaway.

Thanks Jan and Bruce for your talent in making guests feel at home...without all the work being home means!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amountainlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for posting......we really enjoyed your girlfriends getaway. Laughter is so good for the soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The King bed was like a deep feather bed, the big shower washed away our frustrations and the double sanijet tub soaked away our pains. Jan baked us a cookie jar full of raspberry chocolate chip cookies (crispy out and soft in!) and buttery raspberry bars for dessert and stocked the 'fridge with orange juice, milk, butter, ham & eggs and cheddar cheese with english muffins. All this met us at the start of our visit to the Olde Stone Cottage at the Artist's Inn & Gallery. The cottage's lovely colors and setting made a wonderful base for our relaxation motivated vacation in Lancaster. Jan & Bruce are gracious hosts and met our requests & needs quickly & cheerfully. If you are blessed to have a conversation with them you will not "waste" your time! Bruce is a refreshingly contemporary blend of Will Roger's insights (look him up if you don't know who he is) and Gary Larsen's (Far Side) twisted artistic humor. Although in all fairness, Bruce is God's own unique character and one day soon we will compare others to HIS talents. Don't think of leaving without checking out his gallery at the inn! We are seasoned travellers and will keep the Artist's Inn & Gallery on our "return to" list. My only regret in writing this review is that you might make a reservation on a day WE want to be there! God bless these innkeepers & their inn.

Room Tip: If you want space, can handle a short flight of steps and love privacy & independence, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
It was so nice to meet you ... and wonderful to hear your laughter at the inn. Thanks for stopping by and leavnig such a nice note on Trip Advisor. You certainlyl packed a lot in a few days - I'm glad you also had time to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was my second stay at the Artist Inn and both visits were wonderful. Jan is a gracious hostess. The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast was great and plentiful. We felt right at home. The prior stay was at the cottage and we had plenty of space. The art work by Bruce is unique and I finally bought the picture I wanted after the first stay. Z

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Cyndy - thanks for inlcuding us as a stop on this trip north. I'm so glad we had nice weather for you and you didn't have to freeze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It was all about the girlfriends this time around, and we loved having the carriage house. There's a queen bedroom downstairs with a bath that also serves as the guest bath. Upstairs, two more rooms, a king and a queen (I got the king, hooray for me!) share a nice bath. Rooms are well-furnished and comfortable, with lots of thoughtful touches. I was disappointed that I couldn't fit the bed into my suitcase to take it home with me. (Ok, the innkeeper might have noticed that.) It was ridiculously comfortable. After several days on the road, I also appreciated having access to a washer/dryer. And the kitchen - wow! They have thought of *everything*. We spent a lot of time out on the back porch deck, relaxing (nice comfortable deck furniture - a real plus) and enjoying the fine weather and the clip-clop of the horse & buggies passing by. Our hosts were welcoming, and hospitable, and genuinely interested in guests' comfort. The inn is charming. The setting beautiful. Every single thing was exactly right.

Room Tip: Nice to have the entire carriage house when traveling in a small group - we were three girlfriends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieValleyWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for your kind words.....we really enjoyed the visit with you crazy ladies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The stay was awesome, as well as the great Goodmorning smiles and talk we had over breakfast. It is almost like home only better, I don't have to serve any body. I'm getting served, I have been back a couple of times, and love it. Not the only one with repeats. And that is why so many people are coming back to the artist in. Greet time thanks Sil as I said
Helemaal te gek.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silsart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Silvie - It's always great to see you again. Your smile lights up the dining room. But can you translate "Helemaal te gek" from Dutch to English?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The service was impeccable, ambiance and breakfasts outstanding, and cheerfulness and courtesy of the inn owner exceeded expectations. This will be the only place I consider staying when I visit the Lancaster, PA, area.

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptional and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0l_E123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thanks for a great review Carol - it was so nice to meet you. I'm glad the jewelry classes went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
25.6 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
23.5 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
12.5 km away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
38.6 km away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing