We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My daughter booked a "girl's weekend" for her and I at the Faunbrook. She selected it based on location; she scheduled a tour of QVC and it is a very short ride from Faunbrook to the QVC studios. We went to the King of Prussia Mall which was less than 30 minutes away. We also visited Winterthur and noted that Longwood Gardens is closeby. Both were within 20 mnutes of the Inn. We ate in downtown West Chester three evenings and had great restaurants to pick from.
The Inn is very nice. Our room was spacious, the bathroom was clean and very modern and our hosts, Laurie and Steve were very accomodating; they even let me play the piano! Laurie makes breakfast every morning for the guests. I won't spoil the surprise of some of her choices but suffice to say she is a fantastic chef and the menu is sophisticated and delicious. Her coffee is second to none and overall I would recommend the Faunbrook to anyone who wants a great B&B experience.

Room Tip: This is a personal choice. Some rooms have soaking tubs, others are suites...really depends on what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
51
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

From Lori's genuinely personable greeting at the door, to the welcoming, historic character of the home, to the absolutely delicious full breakfast, this is a B&B worth its rating. The web site includes virtual tours of each room--and you can call Lori and ask for honest input, too (she won't talk your price up). The dining room is spacious, with a long (not too long) table great for comfortable discussion, plus a gas fireplace. Faunbrook also goes to the trouble of scheduling breakfasts at customer-requested times, which is great for laying out your day and for eating with a few or many people, as you wish. There's a comfy fire in the living room with a huge variety of interesting books to read or videos to watch, or the day's Philadelphia Inquirer. Isabel's room is particularly interesting and fairly big, though another guest liked the Darlington for its size. Rose room is pretty with a good bathroom. Regardless, both Lori and Steve cook and Lori will sit down and chat with you or leave you alone, as you desire. Hard to imagine a better arrangement and the price is reasonable for a location easily driveable to West Chester or the many historic venues all around, including excellent restaurants. This is really a great choice and you're hearing that from a very experienced B&B traveler at home and abroad. Enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We saw a few and would probably pick Isabel's, but it's on the third floor. May's or Dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I attended a small wedding at Faunbrook Inn and it was an excellent venue for the event and the accommodations were outstanding. The Inn was large enough to handle the wedding party and most of the guests. The weather cooperated and the wedding took place in the garden (this was after the hurricane and a tropical storm). Breakfasts were wonderful and varied. One member of the party had a serious food allergy and the owners made menu adjustments and still provided an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: It is a hike up to the third floor but the rooms are spacious and very quiet. Second floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights. It was a vacation and 30th wedding anniversary getaway for us. Even though the location is in the town of West Chester, the room was cozy and very quiet and nothing disturbed us during our stay. Steve and Lori are gracious hosts and very helpful in giving us directions. It's an easy trip from there to the Brandywine valley, Longwood gardens, Wyeth museum and other attractions, and only about an hour from Lancaster. It's not too far from a train station for those who want to visit downtown Philly. Breakfast was excellent and more than I could possibly eat. Steve found out we were beer fans and gave us a few bottles of his favorite brew to take home. We'd recommend Faunbrook to everyone. We'll be back next time we are in eastern PA.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtinMentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were married at Faunbrook B&B last Saturday, 8/13/11 amid our dearest friends and family. Lori and Steve were so easy to work with, and very flexible for meetings and walkthroughs with our photographer, caterer, and my future in-laws. We had guests staying there Wed~Sunday nights, and had rented the whole B&B for Friday and Saturday nights, for the ceremony and catered reception to be held there as well.

I really don't know where to begin in complimenting/reviewing them, but if you would like to speak with one of us, just ask Lori or Steve for our phone number and we'd be happy to talk with you directly.

Whilst the B&B has lovely period furnishings, we did do some decorating and they were very easy to work with in our ideas. The photos from our stay and the ceremony/reception showcased the lovely environment very nicely.

Lori is an amazing chef -- the lemon scones are really to die for! And they are both very friendly, hospitable, professional, and checked in just enough with us to know that they were there if we needed them, and they were not at all intrusive in any way, at any time.

We live literally 5 blocks away from Faunbrook and we will be singing its high praises to all our friends and family. Two of our wedding party have already booked their own weekend getaway having enjoyed the experience so much! I am hoping to snag a couple of rooms last minute for a mini-Junior High reunion over Labor Day weekend since our wedding was so micro -- 14 people total including the officiant, photographer, and flutist -- I couldn't invite 2 of my best friends.

Lori and Steve also worked well with our caterer Olive Branch Restaurant of West Chester (John, Milanee, and Christopher were outstanding and I highly recommend their catering abilities), Bob Wood Photography, and Taya Shepard of AlteredVows -- each and all of whom I also highly recommend.

Thank you Lori and Steve for making our special day even more so! Everyone loved your space and you!

Valerie & Kyle

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLD_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Beautiful house and landscaping, extremely well maintained and clean. Very comfortable beds, high quality linens and towels. Very friendly owners. Delicious breakfast. Only minor drawback is proximity to Intersection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Faunbrook is a magnificent Victorian-era mansion that has been completely redone with the maximal comfort of guests in mind. I stayed there years ago before the advent of current owners Lori and Steve Zytkowicz, and it was dark and depressing. Now the bedrooms have been redone without sacrificing any of the period feel, and the common rooms are handsome and spacious as only the Victorians "knew how to do it." To put the same thing another way, the Zytkowiczs have captured the beauty, liveliness, and grace of the Victorian era without the mustiness and gloom we too often associate with it. Lori and Steve themselves are classic hosts--affable, accommodating, and informative without being intrusive. The food was delicious, prompt, and hot; the towels and linens were clean and fresh. My wife and I would recommend this B&B without any reservations, especially for couples. In sum, a great spot to spark new romance or recapture the old.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Folks_from_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
1.7 km away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
8.2 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast
Address: 699 W Rosedale Ave, West Chester, PA 19382-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faunbrook is one of the largest and oldest bed and breakfasts in the Brandywine Valley. Since 1990, we have provided discerning visitors with relaxing, first class accommodations at reasonable prices. Our inn is located about 30 minutes outside Philadelphia, sits on two acres of gardens, and is home to over 20 varieties of mature trees. Our rooms are warmly decorated and well equipped; within easy distance of Winterthur Museum, Longwood Gardens, and the Neymours Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing