We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
596
314
112
52
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
314
112
52
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreamside roomoutdoor barbeautiful streamtower roombrick ovenshogun restaurantdance clubhuge hot tublive bandmade to order omeletsbridal suitewooded areasushigreat weekendpool and jacuzzibreakfast buffetfree shuttle to the casino
Filter
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

First time here - extremely pleased! King suite (with kitchen!) for unbeatable price. Balcony overlooked stream - beautiful and relaxing. Selection of restaurants. We were here for private party - great service. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a Wilkes-Barre native, I've stayed at this property for many years - most recentkly for a family get together - a surprise birthday party in the Executive Lounge. (A GREAT place for a private party, BTW).

While built in the 1970's but only slightly dated, this resort knows how to treat folks first class all the way: from the friendly front desk staff to the wait staff in the restaurants to the bartender at our private party - every one of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and took care of our every need. Many of our family members ended up staying over because of a bad snowstorm and no one had any complaints. The creekside rooms are awesome. We look forward to our next visit,

For those interested in visiting the nearby casino, the hotel has a free shuttle for guests and the casino is literally "over the hill" - about 1 mile away. We are saving that for our next visit. While the in-house restrauramts were good, (including a pizza parlor for casual dining), there are several excellent restuarnts within a reasonable distance. This is definately our "go-to" place to stay when in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms are great for couples.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeB379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful resort this is! Restaurants on site, beautiful views, and wonderfully comfortable rooms. Great value for our money, and the complimentary breakfast overlooking the creek was beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, because they allow pets. Our dog loved it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Woodlands is a "Class Act" I have been going there close to 25 years! Always clean, affordable, great restaurants, bar, etc. Great location! We went to the bar for a pizza and a few cocktails, drinks $5. and the brick oven pizza was great.
My wife got a massage at the spa and she said it was great. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: we had 403 a suite at the bottom of the towers, close to parking and the lobby
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your great review! We are celebrating our 45th anniversary this year. Since you've been coming to our property for 25 years we'd love to chat with you as one of our "long-time guests" if you'd be available. Just e-mail marketing@thewoodlandsresort.com and John will give you a call! Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ended up staying here because of a party being held on the property. Good thing too, because the weather was AWFUL..snowy, blowy and cold. We lucked into a parking space right out front (hooRAY) The front desk staff was efficient and very nice. I really liked this place. It's kind of old but updated. (LOVE the woodwork, marble and leaded glass around the front desk area!)

Our room was located in The Tower (7th floor on the elevator, but the room number started with 4) The room was small, but very clean and modern. Not any counter space to speak of in the bathroom, but that's not a big deal as the VERY comfortable bed and down comforter more than made up for it. The in room Keurig is a nice touch.

The only thing I wasn't fond of was the elevator noise in the room, and hearing all the hallway conversations from the folks coming & going from the elevator, but again, it wasn't a major issue.

I LOVED the lounge/restaurant area overlooking the creek & woods. `The party was 'down below' and the glass wall afforded us a fabulous view of the great, cold outdoors. The staff was exceptional too. Both for the party and when we had lunch earlier in the day.

We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time in completing your on-line review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Have a wonderful New Year.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-983

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews