We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
359
174
44
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
174
44
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffethot tubbeautiful hotelwould stay here againyogurtnice poolsitting arearecommend staying herefire pitgreat place to stayexercise roomfitness centerfront desk staffking bedone night stayexcellent staythe mohegan sun casino
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 614 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2015

We were on way to Atlantic City from Toronto area and we made this our overnight stop as we wanted to have a good portion of the drive completed. This was an excellent choice for our overnight stop. Very clean, modern, and comfortable. Definitely reliable as per the Holiday Inn Express brand. Breakfast was good and the kids were happy and comfortable. My husband didn't like the mattress and said his back was sore in the morning, but I thought it was fine for me. Wifi was good. The pool is small, but we didn't end up using it anyhow. The hotel is located a bit up from the main road, and the road winds upwards, so just follow the signs up the hill.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015
Google Translation

So glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015

We stayed at this hotel overnight on a Saturday on labor day weekend. We arrived at the hotel early (around 10am+-) and thought we would see if our room was ready and to our great surprise and delight, we were able to get our room and start our day over at Ricketts Glen. After a day of hiking and we came back to the hotel and took a relaxing swim in the pool. The hot tub was rather nice as well, very large and bubbly.
When we got back to our room, I noticed that I did not have change for vending machine. I went down to guest services and even though they were a little busy, the man behind the counter asked me if it was for the vending machines and picked through the dollar bills for fresh bills that were in good shape. I thought that little attention to detail was great.
- Nice stay
- Great looking hotel, very clean
- View from our room was awesome (7th floor)
- Pleasant Staff
You guys are doing a great job, keep it up. See you next time.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OcickiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

Rickett's Glen has some great hiking trails! We have one close by the hotel you might want to try on your next trip here. Perhaps this fall? Leaves will be going full Technicolor here shortly.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015

This was our second visit to Wilkes Barre, PA and our second stay at the Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain. We loved our stay the first time and enjoyed our stay again this trip. The only downside I can say is that they now make you pay for your breakfast which was included during our first stay. Other than that the hotel staff are very friendly, the hotel is the cleanest your could ask for. Check-in and Check-out were a breeze. We ate at the Bistro twice, had desert once and drinks on several occasions. Food and drinks were great.

The only problem we had was that we couldn't get a room on the top floor and the last night we were there the people above us kept opening and closing the sliding doors to the balcony, which we could hear because we were below them. Other than that I have no complaints at all. There is plenty of parking, hotel is far enough off the main road so the rooms are quiet. There were a couple of weddings while we were there, along with a school reunion but they didn't interfere with parking or disrupt hotel guests. This hotel would be my only choice when I visit Wilkes Barre, PA.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors to avoid noisy people above. Travelers with kids would probably be better on lower floors close to the pool.
Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank bbears4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

Hi--thank you for your great comments. I must apologize though about breakfast--many of our rate programs now include breakfast in them. If we missed you, I apologize. Please reach out to me on your next trip here--we want to make sure we get you started right with a proper breakfast!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Rochester. Easy checkin, breakfast was still being served after 9:30. Room and bathroom spacious. Bed extremely comfortable as usual. This is why we usually stay at Holiday Inns.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

And breakfast will always be served after 9:30 am. Not every bird is an early riser!

Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2015

This hotel was easy to locate, a nice, modern facility, and a comfortable place to stay. We enjoyed the swimming pool- clean and nice temperature, and we thought the breakfast was respectable. Only complaint was nobody immediately available to take our breakfast ticket, so we just seated ourselves and had to ask for drinks, which weren't at the help yourself buffet.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet when we visited.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 83aletab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Hi AleTab,

Thank you for noticing our breakfast buffet. If we put the juice out on the buffet, we'd never get a chance to say "Hi", but we do put everything else out there!

Again, many thanks for the kind words and for resting with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews