We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Reviewed 19 November 2016

This hotel is a very good place to stay. Personal at the front desk are welcoming. Room was clean, the bed confortable. And they accept the rebate coupon we had a Friday night. We never been désappointés in a Holiday inn express . Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Better to have view on the city than on the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Hello MichelJ,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again!

Merci beaucoup,

Michael Nafus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stayed here for the Patti Labelle Concert and this place was perfect. Check in went smoothly, front desk was nice and helpful, also side note, this place looks like they just remodeled it! Beautiful view above street level so no noise and commotion, just a beautiful view of the city and Valley. Will definitely book here again. Not far from Casino, and breakfast is amazing. Even had potatoes! Step up from the rest. Ciao!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanEagle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Hello AmericanEagle89,

Thank you for staying with us & thank you for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your concert & glad you chose us. Hope to see you again!


Michael Nafus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Our room looked tired and could use a good updating. While the staff interaction was good, the room itself just did not sparkle as most HIE rooms do. The breakfast room was alright, but at 9:00 AM, 3 of 5 coffee urns were empty, and only ones on the upper level had coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScouterPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Hello ScouterPaul,

Thank you for staying with us at our Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes Barre. We are working hard to improve upon the areas you mentioned. We do have our Wi-Fi internet upgrade due to be completed by the end of this month. We also are upgrading all rooms with 43" TV's! The fitness center is set to be upgraded within the next year. We appreciate your feedback. Please feel to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have. Hope to see you again!


Michael Nafus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a concert at the Mohegan Sun. The hotel even had a shuttle that goes thee which can help because parking at the casino is tight. Great pool hot tub and Sauna. Nice breakfast. Convenient to I81

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hello Susan S,

We appreciate you choosing our Holiday Inn Express for your recent visit to Wilkes Barre. We are committed to our guests overall satisfaction. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit. It is our pleasure to serve you.

Thank you!


Michael Nafus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

As the title states, whenever I stay here it's a good stay. The Front End staff has seemed to have changed since the last time I've been here however they still seem friendly.

Rooms are comfortable and typical of a Holiday Inn Express. You know what to expect when staying here.

My biggest gripe was that the Hotel Wi-Fi was down during my stay which caused a little grief since the hotel was in a Cellphone dead spot. This didn't allow me to get some work done when situated in the room. The room didn't offer a Ethernet Port either to get a hard wired connection.

The gym is a little lacking. It's probably the only gripe I have about the establishment.

Breakfast is good however I found on multiple occasions that they were always wrapping up breakfast 30-45mins early. When inquiring about if any additional food was to be put out, it felt as if you got an attitude.

Downsides aside, I'll be staying here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hello Matthew B,

We appreciate your feedback & loyalty to our Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes Barre. We want you to know that your comments & suggestions are taken seriously. We are working hard to improve upon the areas you mentioned. We do have our Wi-Fi internet upgrade due to be completed by the end of this month. We also are upgrading all rooms with 43" TV's! The fitness center is set to be upgraded within the next year. Thank you for telling us what we are doing right and how we can improve. Please feel to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Thank you,


Michael Nafus
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

My wife and I stayed at the property on October 1, 2016.My wife is a Manger at a sister property with IHG in the DC area. It was a very positive stay beginning with the front desk at check in. Thomas Sabetta Jr.was outstanding with his customer service and professionalism! He made our stay comfortable. The entire staff was outstanding, our room was CLEAN and cozy and the breakfast was excellent. We were up visiting family and we will stay at this property each and every time we are in the Wilkes Barre Area. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Michael R,

It was a pleasure accommodating you and your wife. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with our hotel and saw how great our staff truly is. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Best advise when you see a lot of young boys in athletic gear best not to have a room near the elevator.

Clean. Great staff. Nice spacious room. Comfy bed and pillows with choice of soft or firm.

My only small complaint: no bottled water available for guests. They did have iced water and cups at the front desk and vending machines. I bought some at a convenient while out and put it in the fridge.

Toiletries are better than most, also.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

(I didn't have time to visit or eat at the hotel so that was the four star).

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Kimberly M,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
728 reviews
3.1 km away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $116 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing