We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our way to NY. We arrived late (around 2230hrs), the front desk staff was very nice, helpful & accomodating. The room was a different story. The toilet was filthy with dried pee. The seat was old & cracked. There was one towel! The room was cramped with semi-old, oversized furniture & beds. If it weren't for the late hour, we would have left. Recommend checking room before accepting. We have stayed in multiple Holiday Inns--older & new and have never encountered what we found here. Disappointed. Last stay here!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience when you stayed with us. Please be assured that we truly want you to have an excellent experience each and every time that you stay with us. The issues that you encountered are not acceptable and they do not reflect our expectations of ourselves either. We will share your feedback with the appropriate department heads and staff members to make sure that these issues are not a problem moving forward.

We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you that those problems were the exception.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

I chose this hotel for a 1-night stay with my Husband as we were going to be in the Wilkes-Barre area for a short time and the price was just right. After a 2 1/2 hour drive from NJ, we found our way to the top of the hill and checked in with the very friendly woman at the counter. Our corner room was a bit small, with a queen-sized bed, refrigerator and microwave. Some of the furniture was a bit old, torn or scratched, and the rug could use an overhaul, however, the bed was extremely comfortable and nothing could compare to the view of mountains in the distance. One issue we did have was that the toilet seat popped off, but a quick-click back together fixed the problem instantly.
In the morning, a light, complimentary breakfast is included downstairs off the lobby where TVs hung for guests to enjoy. Check out with the extremely nice gentleman behind the desk was a breeze. All in all a great selection for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be a bit smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take in the great view from our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our dedicated staff who will be working very hard to make sure that your future stays are excellent.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I absolutely love staying here. The hotel is always very clean. The bright atmosphere in the lobby area makes me feel welcome and relaxed. I cannot say enough good things about this particular Holiday Inn. It is MUCH better/cleaner/modern than the one at the airport and if I cannot get in at either Marriott or Hampton Inn up Montage, I stay here. It is one of m favorite hotels in the area. Very modern atmosphere. They renovated over the last couple years at some point and I am not sure I am feeling some of the new colors in the hallways but I always enjoy my stay here. The pool and hot tub are great as well after a long day. Always a clean, comfortable hotel, did I mention this? :)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank js7360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sharing your valuable feedback with our entire staff who will be working diligently to make sure your next stay is even better.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

After driving for 4 hours, just wanted to sleep at 9pm. Found this hotel and was very happy with my choice. Gentlemen at front desk friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but missing hairdryer. With the bad came good. At 1am toilet broken, called front desk, someone came up with key to room next door and helped me move our belongings.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your choice. We apologize for the few issues that you did experience but are glad that they were taken care of for you immediately. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you anytime that you find yourself in the Wilkes-Barre area.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Came back again. Stayed there for another overnight stay and was not disappointed. As for dining..try Leggio's-Italian restaurant. Very wonderful staff and food.

Just wished they had a regular scrambled egg breakfast along with omelettes--veggie and cheese on Thursday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariyng2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for staying with us again at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes-Barre. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. We will be sure to share your suggestions regarding the breakfast selections. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights while visiting family in NE PA. Overall the hotel was fine, conveniently located to where we were going. The breakfast was good but the same every day, my daughter liked the pancake machine. The pool was good too though the temperature was either cold or too warm, and we had it to ourselves since this seemed more like a business traveler hotel. The room was tiny and the furniture was way oversized, which made it very crowded and hard to move about. The bath tub did not have a plug for kids baths so we had to improvise. I would recommend if you are staying one night or using rewards points like we did, but I'd look for something with more space for extended stays.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mcandrewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We appreciate the time that you took out of your busy schedule to share your comments and feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We truly value your opinions and will be sharing your feedback with staff members and department heads so that we can keep working towards making your next stay with us even better. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your lodging needs anytime that you find yourself in our area.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Apparently Holiday Inn is now following airline protocol and overselling their rooms. After calling the hotel directly and booking a King room with sleeper sofa, reserved with a cc, we arrive to be told that we've been reassigned, because they are overbooked! So, my wife and son and I get a double queen room (they did discount the rate.) The room itself is so small that there isn't room to sit at the desk, as the desk chair is blocked by one of the beds. In fact, you can barely walk between the bed and the desk (the chair is wedged under the desk.) Had to try to reposition the desk, and it nearly fell apart in the process. Virtually no room for 3 suit cases and 3 people. Hard to imagine 4 people in this room. Only 2 towel hooks in the bathroom. No towel bars for hand towels. Yeah, I know, 1st World rich peoples problems! Nobody is shooting at me, so what have I got to complain about?!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
We are sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and that you had a frustrating experience by not getting the original room type that you reserved. I understand how frustrating that would be.
Please be assured that the hotel would not intentionally oversell your room type. With the room type that you mentioned, there are a very limited number of those rooms in the hotel. Four to be exact. Unfortunately with the limited number, there is the rare occasion that a long term guest unexpectedly extends their stay or there is a maintenance issue that prevents us from renting one of the rooms that we expected to have available. Nevertheless, this provided a frustrating experience for you and your family. We truly apologize for that and will review the furniture positioning and other things that you brought to our attention in your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Feel free to reach out to the management staff on a future stay and we will do everything within our power to make sure that the incidents that you experienced were an isolated incident.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again.

Lindle Hippenstiel
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#14 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
243 reviews
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $114 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing