We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-20
HIExpress.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-20
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$113
US$96
View deal
SAVE US$17
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$113
Expedia.comUS$113
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
93
120
68
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
93
120
68
26
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 322 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2019 via mobile

We were forced to stop for the night due to bad weather and we had plenty of hotel options available to us in the Scranton Wilkes-Barre area. We chose this because of the fair price, fitness center, hot tub and pool.

We were not disappointed with our choice. The fitness center is great for a hotel. Multiple pieces of equipment all in working order. The only downside was the lack of lighter hand weights. My husband loved that a hot tub was available in the pool area. His back was sore from all the driving.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied. A nice selection of hot and cold foods and beverages. Well stocked and delicious.

I recommend this location.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank redheadmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2019 via mobile

Overall, the hotel seems reasonably good, but there are little warts here and there. Our tub had a few mildew stains and gaps around the bathtub while the HVAC unit was loud enough to wake one from sleep each time it cycled on. Unlike the major trend away from small grooming bottles, no progress was evident towards eliminating their use.
On the positive side, the quality of the breakfast items was better than many, as was the friendliness of the staff

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScouterPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

Hello ScouterPaul,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad that your breakfast experience went well and your interaction with the hotel staff was pleasant. I want all aspects of your stays with us to be up to standards, and I am sorry to learn that the condition of some of the in-room amenities fell short. I have shared your comments with the hotel management, and I know that the steps taken will improve your next stays with us.

See us again!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2019

From other reviews, I was expecting an older slightly run-down place, but all indications were that this location has been updated.
Small single-bed corner room, but for myself it was adequate. Bathroom vent/fan was always running, whistling, I put a piece of paper on it and closed the bathroom door (told management about it in the morning).
Usual HIE breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2019

The room, beds and bathroom were clean. Even though it was fully booked the hotel was quiet. The room was a little small but not to the point of causing any problems. Location is good with easy access to highways and mohegan.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2019

We have stayed at this hotel for many years going to PA to visit family. I must admit, we were extremely disappointed in the state of the hotel. The lobby and breakfast area was great, however the rooms were falling apart. We were there for two separate stays a week apart. The first room, you could not close the nightstand drawer without lifting it up to push it back. The furniture looks beat up and in bad condition. There were spots on the room rugs and the hallway. The second room was worse. We could only use one drawer, after tugging it really hard, and the other two you couldn't open at all. The bottom drawer had the front almost totally off. The cleaning people would put it back together, but both were totally unusable. All the furniture was in terrible shape, needing a lot of TLC. The bed felt like there was plastic under the sheet as it crackled when we moved. We are looking for somewhere else to stay because of the condition of the rooms at this hotel.

Room tip: Should you stay at this run down hotel, ask for a room that faces the city. The other rooms are dark and kind of depressing.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sci-fye-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We appreciate the time that you took out of your busy schedule to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent visit. We will be sure to address the areas of opportunity that you mentioned with our upcoming renovations. If you give us the opportunity again, we will work hard to make sure that your future visits are even more enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Holiday Inn Express of Wilkes Barre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews