We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very simply .... wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Bin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apple Bin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very simply .... wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We just had the distinct pleasure of spending a weekend with Jamie and Steve and we agree with other reviewers that they seem more like friends than innkeepers. We were charmed from the moment we arrived until we sadly had to leave. We found the property immaculate, private and in every respect, lovely. Jamie's breakfasts were just amazing! This was our first B & B experience and one we will not forget. We are very familiar with the area since our daughter attended college nearby, but we still found their advice about local attractions to be spot on and so informative. We stayed in the MacIntosh Room which is a little addition on the back of the house ... we loved it! And don't forget to ask Jamie for recipes .. she graciously shares

Room Tip: MacIntosh Room is accessed by a separate entrance which affords lots of privacy ... you simply go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargaritaMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
188
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at the Apple Bin Inn. I knew right away we had picked a special place when at our arrival Steve came right out of the house to greet us. He immediately showed us the beautiful cottage we were to stay in, and the main gathering area in the main house. The cottage was very warm and cozy with an electric fireplace, and there were Hershey Kisses and Tootsie Rolls for a snack. Breakfast was a true delight and a treat. Steve and Jamie were very hospitable and had wonderful ideas for places to visit. I also fell in love with the two furry members of the Shane family. I am a true cat lover and they were adorable. We will definately recommend the Apple Bin Inn to everyone looking for a quiet, clean, and friendly retreat. We will be visiting again asoon and for many years to come.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTaylors314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We couldn't wait to get back to the Apple Bin Inn! Jamie and Steve may be the innkeepers but we call them friends. The rooms are lovely and spotless. The comfy bed and beautiful quilts make it difficult to leave your room. The breakfasts are to die for and all are favorites. The inn is in a great location with great shopping and sightseeing nearby. We've been to many B&Bs across the states and the Apple Binn Inn is our favorite. We find it very difficult to leave, but know that we will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a likeable B&B. It's just off a main, if low-speed road, but you never notice it in your own little Apple Bin world. The grounds go back quite a ways from the road and are attractive. Seek a back, upstairs room with a view, which can be quite pleasant.
Steve and Jamie are both accommodating, though Steve seems to be the one calling the shots in terms of more socializing, recommendations, and discussing the inn. A touch talkative at times, we found him pleasant and quite helpful--very knowledgeable about the area. And the location is very good, with the outlets nearby and the downtown theater and restaurants not much much further.
The environment and rooms are inviting, if not the prime example for you Victorian lovers. You get modern accommodations with the warmth of a traditional room. The full breakfast was yummy. In all, this is an easy recommendation for its combination of benefits.

Room Tip: Choose and upstairs room to the back for a better view, setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I made a trip down to the Apple Bin for our honeymoon three years ago, thanks to my parents, who gave us the trip as a wedding present. It was such a wonderful place to stay I decided to surprise my wife with a return trip for our 3-year anniversary. The Apple Bin Inn is a beautiful location, nestled in the heart of Lancaster County, the kind of area you can expect to see horse and buggy carriages on any given road. The setting is serene and quiet, but not too far out of the way as to make it inconvenient to enjoy the Lancaster attractions and modern amenities. The niceness of the location, however, is no match for the niceness of our hosts, Steve and Jamie. It is they who truly make the Apple Bin an incredible place to stay. From the moment you arrive to their smiling faces and warm greetings to the sad moment when you have to leave and return to reality, Steve and Jamie are the perfect hosts. The sitting area they have prepared in the main house is full of books of every genre and author, the tables are full of numerous informational booklets about the attractions in Lancaster, and whatever the books don't have information on, Steve and Jamie will! The room that we stayed in was fantastic, the quilt on the bed very appropriate for the area (not to mention beautiful), and the small basket of snacks and treats was very welcome after a long drive. The second half of the title 'Bed and Breakfast' was one of our favorite things about the vacation as a whole. Jamie and Steve are amazing chefs and they put an amazing amount of care into every meal that they prepare for you, starting from the coffee and tea ready before breakfast is served, to the first course of a fruit dish, to the main plate of Lancaster-fresh goodies (sausage, bacon, etc.) alongside beautiful breakfast delights including baked apple pancakes, baked oatmeal and delicious muffins. I would recommend this place to anyone, based solely on the breakfast. Add in everything else and there is no doubt my wife and I will be returning here just as soon as I can come up with a good excuse and time off from work!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Macintosh room for both of our trips, but with the care that Steve and Jamie give t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenKMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

what everyone is saying is true. this is a lovely B & B, with friendly hosts (loved the movie recommendation), and such a warm atmosphere. when you visit Lancaster County - Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KJP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Well let me start out by saying this was only my second stay at any bed and breakfast and boy, what a difference between the two! The owners here at the Apple Bin Inn (Steve & Jamie) go completely out of their way to welcome everyone and exceed all your expectations.

We stayed in the Mcintosh room. So cute! It looks and feels just like a log cabin, but with adorable decor & furnishings. We absolutely loved it. The bed was extremely comfortable, there was a cable tv & dvr player, and a loveseat that was perfect for snuggling during the cold & snowy weather! Everything was immaculately clean & fresh. We loved the added touch of snacks waiting for us in the room too! Such a nice little bonus that we didn't even expect. And it was great to have our own private entrance too.

Breakfast was absolutely fabulous! We had applesauce pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit, lemon poppyseed muffins, orange juice & coffee. So yummy! You definitely won't leave hungry, trust me!

We spent a lot of time talking with Steve & Jamie about all the ins and outs of being inn-keepers.... they are such great people to talk to and gave us a lot to think about for what we'd like to make a reality in the future. Thanks again for all the advice and for being so great at what you do. You made our stay an enjoyable & memorable one. We came to relax and mission accomplished! We wish we could've stayed longer but we had to get back to reality :(

Room Tip: The Mcintosh room & the cottage are good choices if you like the comfort of a bed & breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KristenJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Street
10.6 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.1 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
8.5 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
3.2 km away
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
11.4 km away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Bin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Bin Inn

Property: Apple Bin Inn
Address: 2835 Willow Street Pike N, Willow Street, PA 17584
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Willow Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Willow Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Bin Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Bin Inn, built in 1865, is located in the heart of Lancaster County. We offer 5 delightful guest rooms, including suites and a private cottage. A scrumptious full country breakfast is served each morning. All of our guest rooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, fireplaces, air conditioning, cable TV with DVD Player, Himalayan Sea Salt Lamps, USB charging stations, and free wireless Internet access. Come enjoy our renowned hospitality as you explore the beauty, charm, serenity, and spirit of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apple Bin Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Apple Bin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing