We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for the price”
Review of Motel 6 York North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 York North
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in York
Greenwich, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent value for the price”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight while attending a college basketball game for our nephew. The location was very convenient to York College and also to nearby restaurants.
The room was super clean and has been recently redecorated.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    56
    32
    22
    14
See reviews for
47
46
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sayre, PA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The room was fine, no problems, comfortable bed but unfortunately I was unable to sleep because of the loud noise, slamming doors, and profanity coming from another guest down the hall. This happened several times during the night and I only got about 3 hours of sleep as a result. Ironically, the only reason I stopped was because I needed a good nights sleep before i could continue on my way! When asked about my stay, I told the desk clerk my bad experience and the room was comped, as it should have been. Thank you, Red Roof, for your satisfaction guaranteed policy in this case- it was appreciated! Just an FYI, ladies- no hairdryer in the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Red Roof Inn is great value for the budget minded small business person. I make periodic business trips to York PA and I usually stay for 10 days at a time so I had opportunities to observe the day to day operations. I found the staff to be very friendly, and my room was cleaned daily to a consistent high standard. The refrigerator and microwave were a decent size as well as a comfortable bed. During one of my stays I had an issue with a slow moving drain and within 10 minutes of bring it to the attention of the front desk a maintenance person was knocking at my door. The issue was resolved quickly. If you sleep lightly you should request a room on the north side of the hotel. You’ll find those rooms are quieter than the rooms facing Arsenal Road. I also notice an Iron and board are not in the room but had no problem receiving one upon request. When asked, the staff was quick to point out their favorite eateries. I’m sure you’ll find something to your liking within a short distance from the hotel. To the housekeeping, the front desk and management I say, great job and thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwilli12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattlelover317
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn York for two nights (Friday and Saturday) in a non-smoking room (no smell of smoke anywhere). The room is small but it was very clean. The room had a microwave and a small refrigerator. The check in process was quick and easy. The hotel is near many different restaurants (Hardee’s, Denny’s, Olive Garden, Taco Bell, McDonald’s, Arby’s and a diner just to name a few) and also some shopping (CVS, Old Navy, Michael’s Crafts, Weis Grocery Store and a liquor store). It is about 10 minutes from Spring Grove, PA – which is where we were meeting some friends. Beautiful area. Also, very close to Gettysburg, Lancaster and Hershey so the RRI was the perfect location. Just in case, if you need a blow dryer for your hair or a iron/ironing board – bring your own. The room doesn’t have it.

Room Tip: I think any room is good -- we didn't hear any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattlelover317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn York for one night (a Tuesday). I was traveling with two small dogs and had reserved a room with two full beds. I was surprised to find it had a frig and a microwave, which are both really helpful when you are traveling with pets. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable for a budget hotel. I had a non-smoking room and there was no smoke odor in the room. Check in was quick and easy. There is a free coffee machine in the lobby and you can make tea, too; there are also some vending machines. The hotel has a large grassy area on two sides (it isn't surrounded by parking lots), so even though it is next to an interstate it has a good place to walk your dogs, and has an outside trash can for disposing of poo (you do need to bring your own bags). Bring a flashlight as it is dark in that area at night. Access is a little tricky - if you are coming south on I-83, get off at the exit before Arsenal Road (George Street) - you will have to make a U turn to enter the hotel using the driveway by the Hardees. If you take the next exit onto Arsenal you can only go east, and can't make a legal U turn as easily, but once you turn and are heading west again, the hotel is on the right just past the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calisto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We needed a place to stay for a last minute weekend trip. We decided to go to Lancaster and Gettysburg, so York was the perfect place. The hotel was great, clean and most importantly cheap. The staff was very nice and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

we spent 2 nights at the red roof in in york, pa and i will say that it really wasnt too bad for a no frills hotel/motel. the room was clean, bed was comfy, had a frig and microwave. the water pressure in the shower was good too. all in all no complaints for this hotel. dont normally stay here but had smokers in our group so we had to find a place with smoking rooms.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the street have more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites York
2.9 km away
Best Western Westgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 25 in York
93 reviews
7.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 York North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 York North

Property: Motel 6 York North
Address: 125 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17404-1802 (Formerly Red Roof Inn York)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 York North 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 York North is located off of I-83 at Arsenal Rd/US 30. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Visit the Harley Davidson Plant Museum 1 mile, or York College and PA State University less than 3 miles. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 York North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn York Hotel York
York Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing