We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF RATES”
Review of The Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Surfside Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF RATES”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Clean place, ok for business....BUT.. not worth what we were charged (in the off season)... Beware of rates! I booked after speaking to the owner & being quoted a rate for two rooms as we'd be staying there off and on for the next 6 weeks on business. A week later I was surprised to see that I was charged more than the quoted price. When contacted, I was told that the rates went up 2 weeks ago, but know from my discussion with the owner that the rates don't go up for over 2 weeks -from now, When asked about the cheaper rates on their website, I was told that was for a limited # of rooms. As they were aware, I HAD planned on staying here durng the week for the next 6 WEEKS, at least, booking 2 rooms for 4 nights min., BUT have decided to take my extended business in the area elswhere. I thought it was silly they would lose an extended booking for NOT honoring their qouted price. NOTE: They would have made more if I had stayed the 6 weeks than they did charging me $30 over their qouted room rate for my first night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    47
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
67
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

stayed here while on business in Charlestown. Pros: nice people; convenient location; clean; relatively comfortable; good internet; nicely decorated; quiet (except for the power equipment store next door if you should want to sleep in); microwave and fridge. Cons: very small room (had room with king sized bed); no desk or other useable space for working on a computer; very inconsistent climate control...either too warm or too cold, nothing in between; bathroom floor is tile and like walking on ice barefoot; shower is tiny (phone booth size); water in sink and shower takes a long time to warm up. If in town again on business, I would give it another try as there are not a lot of choices, but would probably try an efficiency unit as they appear to be larger with a small table (as per the website pictures).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SirVayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We found this place on the internet when travelling to RI for Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly suprised at how clean and tastefully decorated the motel was. A very cheerful place. I can't wait to stay there this summer. I would highly recommend The Surfside Motel. For the price we paid, we got above and beyond what we expected. See you in the summer!!

Kathy & Peter Straub
Plattsburgh, NY

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We agree with the other reviewers that the Surfside is clean, cheerfully furnished, & very pleasant. Loretta is a hoot! The rooms have fridge, microwave, & lovely flat-screen TVs, but no coffeemaker or clock. Although no meals are provided, there's a Dunkin Donuts within sight of the motel & a decent, moderately-priced restaurant just around the corner. We would be happy to stay there again. The only minuses we found (& they were not deal-breakers) was that Internet connectivity was quite low & the shower was very small. In spite of those factors, the Surfside is a solid good place to stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on a second floor & some of the first-floor rooms have 2 steps to the entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were looking for a low key place for my mother, and my sister and myself to chill out for a girls overnight, and we booked a night at this motel. Which we found to be extremely clean, and very well kept. We were greeted by a wonderful woman named Loretta who made sure everything was to our liking. We will definitely return to this hidden gem.
Thanks again Loretta,
Laura, Jen, and Dolores from CT.

Room Tip: The efficiency was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Once again Loretta and the Surfside came through with flying colors! Our family stayed there for a wedding and it was great. The establishment has always been gracious and ready to assist and their service, kindness and thoughtfulness has been a blessing. The rooms are super clean. We just had the best time and did not have to worry about anything! Thank you so much! For sure we will see you again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsek46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family and i recently stayed at Surfside for a wedding on the beach The people running this place (Loretta) were VERY accomendating, very friendly. I have been coming here for years and the place is VERY clean,cute, and close to the beach. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone looking for a great place to stay ,to stay there. P.S. GREAT outside shower!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbi643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
11.9 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
15.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
14.9 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 km away
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
#3 of 4 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
12.5 km away
Scarborough Beach Motel
Scarborough Beach Motel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Property: The Surfside Motel
Address: 334 Narrow Ln, Charlestown, RI 02813-4164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing